Jump to content

Kirchoff Cruises to Six Shooter Showdown Preliminary Win

Recommended Posts

Kirchoff Cruises to Six Shooter Showdown Preliminary Win; More Racing Tonight

by Dusty Wiegert



DODGE CITY, Kan. -- Eddie Kirchoff made the long tow from Wyoming pay off with a big win on opening night of the Six Shooter Showdown. The Midwest DIRTcar Late Model Series and the Colorado Late Model Association DIRTcar Series squared off for the first time at the Dodge City Raceway Park



Wichita's Delbert Smith drew the pole for the main event and would set the pace early with Dave Garmann, Kirchoff, and a host of others dicing for position. Kirchoff methodically worked his way to 2nd and set his sights on Smith despite a caution for JT Botts and Brad Fortney and later for Brad Wagoner.



At the halfway mark the leaders encountered heavy lapped traffic. Smith got bottled up allowing Kirchoff and Brad Looney to close in. At lap 16 Kirchoff made his move for the lead and it stuck, using the lapped cars as picks. Looney also was able to get by Smith despite not having power steering for the 30 lap feature.



A late race caution set up a dash for the finish but Kirchoff was too much, carding his first MDLMS win with Looney in second, Smith in third, and Garmann fourth.



Kirchoff also picked up the win in the Alternative Pest Management Cash Dash.



Looney, Mike Wiarda, and Darin Busch picked up the wins in the heat races.






A Feature

1. 00 Eddie Kirchoff

2. 14 Brad Looney

3. 92 Delbert Smith

4. 4 David Garmann

5. 99 Scott Lewis

6. 1W Mike Wiarda

7. 12S Justin Schierkolk

8. 701 David Brack

9. 2 Grant Junghans

10. T1T Earl Kinderknecht

11. 30 Don Cloyd

12. 56 Darin Busch

13. 16 Rick Leatherman

14. 7C Gary Gorby

15. 28C Cale Gottschalk

16. 59 Brad Fortney

17. 25T Tyler Gottschalk

18. 39 Steve Lewis

19. 15B Brad Wagoner

20. C23 JT Botts



Forsberg Nabs Mod Lite Scramble Win



Dustin Forsberg's first trip to the Dodge City Raceway Park ended in a victory as the "Fresh Prince of Bel Aire" took home the win in the A Scramble, which puts him on the pole of tonight's main event.



Forsberg was able to hold off Iowa driver Johnny Mordock despite numerous cautions in the 15 lap scramble. Also clinching the inside row starting positions in their finishing order were Mordock, Justin Kinderknecht, Brandon Gray, Tyler Bradshaw, Brad Bayne, Duane Houlton, and Warren Harkness.



Racing continues tonight at 7PM at the Dodge City Raceway Park for the Championship events in the MDLMS/CLMA Late Models, Mod Lites, Thunders, and Hornets along with a full show for the IMCA Stock Cars.



For more information visit www.mdlms.net and www.dodgecityraceway.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...