Jump to content

Jordan repeats, Louden scores sportmod win @ Shady Oaks 1/30/10

Recommended Posts

Shady Oaks Winter Series race #2, 1/30/10

By J M Hallas


Goliad, Tx.,(Jan. 30, 2010) Cool temperatures, but sunny skies greeted racers, teams and fans for round two of Shady Oaks Speedway's winter series. A few new teams made their first appearance on the 3/8 mile, semi-banked clay oval just north of Goliad and made an immediate impact.


A couple drivers who experienced troubles the previous week failed to return, most notably Limited Modified feature winner, Mickey Helms who was sidelined with a “rattle” in the engine. In the Modified division, Greg Dinsmore missed the show with spun bearings in his engine with Jeff Nix also not in attendance.



Victoria's Rory Jordan became a two-time winter series winner once again dominating the feature. Joe Spillman and Tommy Warner swapped second midway through the event while Jordan had it on cruise control. Jordan, in his new 2010 Hughes Chassis, easily put the Jordan Aire Heating & Air Conditioning sponsored car back in the winners circle by half a lap over Spillman and Warner.



Modified Feature:

7X Rory Jordan

44 Joe Spillman

69 Tommy Warner


Modified heat winner: 7x Rory Jordan




With opening race winner Helms shelved due to motor woes, a new face was guaranteed to find his way to victory. Heat winner, Vince Louden staked his claim for the trophy as he beat the field into turn 1. Teammates James Lee and Steve Grantz fell into line second until Grantz looped it in turn 4. On the restart Garrett Jonse and Aaron Ivory made contact sending Ivory around. Jonse got the worst of it, forced to pull off with a broken right front suspension.


Once back green, Grantz wasted little time moving up to battle with Lee for second. Grantz took the spot while Ken Hobbs, Shannon Cockrill and Ivory tried three wide for fourth. Up front Louden was pulling away as Lee and Grantz continued to scrap it out for second. As the white flag waved Louden held a full straightaway lead over Lee running uncontested to the checkers in the Parks Machine Shop, Rush Chassis.


Limited Modified Feature:

6 Vince Louden

3C James Lee

2C Steve Grantz

8X Ken Hobbs

81 Aaron Ivory

1C Shannon Cockrill

27J Garrett Jonse


Limited Modified heat winner: 6 Vince Louden



As green waved on the 20-lap Street Stock feature the front row of Tony Blankenship and Shawn Kline stayed side by side with Kline edging ahead on lap 1. Alan Kunkel brought out the yellow when he spun with a flat left front. With Kline leading the field back to green, Blankenship and King battled for second until Blankenship slipped high giving the spot to King.


Patrica Lucas, a Jr. Mini Stock graduate in her first Street Stock ride, slowed to bring out the caution on lap 3. The top three of Kline, King and Blankenship put some distance on the rest of the field as the race resumed. Kline and King, who staged an epic battle last week, took up where they left off running door to door, and dicing three wide in lapped traffic.


As the lead duo slugged it out, Blankenship sat waiting for a mistake by either or both. With five to go the top three were now nose to tail when Blankenship snuck by King for second on lap 16. That pass was short lived after Blankenship slid too high trying to get by Kline for lead. As Kline and King again came up on traffic King tangled with Lucas in turn 4 ending both of their nights. Kline held off Blankenship the final two circuits to take his second consecutive win.


Street Stock feature:

11 Shawn Kline

35 Tony Blankenship

4E Brandon Eure

2-2 Patricia Lucas

31 Brian King

53 Ryan Beyer

76 Gary Wright

68 Alan Kunkel

26 Josh Fromme---DNS


Street Stock heat winner: 35 Tony Blankenship



The Dwarf Car feature saw Buck McFarlin beat Brad Wright out of turn 2 for the lead. Brice Baros brought out the yellow on lap 2 when he spun in turn 4. As McFarlin and B. Wright took off, Baros quickly worked back up to pass Brandon Dorsey for third. McFarlin gave up the lead on lap 6 when he went around in turn 3 giving the top spot to D. Wright as McFarlin continued without caution.


McFarlin caught a break on lap 12 when Baros had his second spin to bring out yellow and erase D. Wright's big lead. D. Wright and McFarlin motored away once the green waved for the final few laps. As the white flag was shown McFarlin got along side D. Wright on the front stretch. The two stayed wheel to wheel until McFarlin inched by in turn 4 coming to the checkers and stealing the win.


Dwarf Car Feature:

65 Buck McFarlin

1 Brad Wright

3C Brian Scheible

82 Brandon Dorsey

99 Brice Baros...DQ

28 John Drexler....DNS

66 Douglas Wright...DNS


Dwarf Car heat winner, 1 Brad Wright



In the popular and entertaining Farm Truck class, Ricky Brandl jumped out front at the start of the 12-lap feature. Kyle Frnka and last weeks winner, John Valenta ran side by side for second, with Frnka getting the spot. Layton Carroll, the only car in the field, moved in to battle with Jn. Valenta for third.


Frnka got sideways on lap 5 with Jn. Valenta sneaking past cleanly for second. TJ Ross used the restart to charge up along side Jn. Valenta taking second as Brandl inched away. Bell got loose in turn 4 and after a couple tank-slappers lost positions to Jn. Valenta, Carroll and Josh Valenta. Out front it was Brandl running unchallenged to the victory.


Farm Trucks Feature:

126 Ricky Brandl

26 John Valenta

58 Layton Carroll

64 TJ Ross

81 Josh Valenta

23K Kyle Frnka

26x John Bonneau

31 Colton Rains

33 Jason Mares---DNS


Farm Truck heat winner: 126 Ricky Brandl





Go Kart features

8 and up:

33J Jacob Franke

22 Cameron Migura

777 Nathen Corpus

8 Chase Louden

1Jr Hannah Wright


5 to 8:

14 Stephen Migura


Adult Alcohol Karts:

50 Kevin Donegan

88 Wesley Varn

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...