Jump to content

Chris Moore bests Shrader, Justin Radcliff in Ice Bowl


Recommended Posts

Moore too much for IMCA Modified foes in frosty Ice Bowl contest


Talladega, AL (January 10, 2010) – Chris Moore had the hot hand late in the chilly season opening special at Tal­ladega Short Track.


The Mississippi hotshoe passed long time leader Justin Radcliff with two laps to go in Sunday’s Ice Bowl, then held off Ken Schrader for the $1,500 IMCA Modified victory.


Radcliff, Todd Gray and Todd Watson rounded out the top five.


Moore had showed up to watch the 2001 Ice Bowl, then wound up borrowing a car and finished ninth in the main event.


Piloting the Anniston-based car owned by Jerry Lindsey Sr. and son Jerry Jr. in his return to Talladega, Moore chased Radcliff for much of the 20-lapper, turning up the pressure on the leader after the final restart with four circuits left.


With two laps remaining, Radcliff got out of that speedy lower line before exiting the first turn and saw both Moore and Schrader drive by.


Schrader pared Moore’s lead to as little as half a car length but could not make up the margin before the checkers came out.


Seven states were represented in the feature at the 19th annual special. With the win, Moore becomes the 59th candidate for this September’s Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.


Feature Results – 1. Chris Moore, Coldwater, Miss.; 2. Ken Schrader, Concord, N.C.; 3. Justin Radcliff, China Spring, Texas; 4. Todd Gray, Coker; 5. Todd Watson, Childersburg; 6. Tony Gray, Coker; 7. Eric Van Iten, Green Bay, Wis.; 8. Jerry Muenster, Green Bay, Wis.; 9. Steve Dietrich, Mooresville, N.C.; 10. Dave Schoenberger, Beaver Dam, Wis.; 11. Eddie Brannon, Anniston; 12. David Griffin Jr., Brookwood; 13. Russ Reinwald, Juneau, Wis.; 14. Luke Wanninger, Jefferson, Iowa; 15. Nick Stroupe, Iron Station, Wis.; 16. Lavoy Rich, Chelsea; 17. Buck Stevens, Statesville, N.C.; 18. Tim Czarneski, Denmark, Wis.; 19. Shane Ferguson, Munford; 20. Henry Hanger, Winchester, Tenn.; 21. Clark Gary, Sterrett; 22. Courtney Parker, Buhl; 23. Chris Abelson, Sioux City, Iowa; 24. Luke Riddle, Falkville.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...