Jump to content

Hockett Hauls in Last Manzanita Sprint Car Win with ASCS Canyon Score&


Recommended Posts

Hockett Hauls in Last Manzanita Sprint Car Win with ASCS Canyon Score!


Lonnie Wheatley, PHOENIX, Ariz. (April 12, 2009) – The final curtains came down upon 58 years of history at the famed Manzanita Speedway with Missouri's Jesse "The Rocket" Hockett charging to victory lane in the Discount Tire Co. ASCS Canyon Region's 25-lap Donnie Davis Memorial atop the ½-mile on Sunday night.




Hockett outdueled Tennessee shoe Kevin Swindell in a classic dogfight for bragging rights in the famed speedplant's final event after weather pushed the finale back one day from its scheduled Saturday slot.




The postponement proved beneficial to Hockett, who caught an early a.m. flight from Indiana after racing from deep in the field to post a podium finish at Eldora Speedway on Saturday night.




Jumping aboard the No. 8 mount typically driven by Bob Ream, Jr., Hockett raced his way into the redraw following a last-corner pass of Nathan High in the night's fourth and final heat race for the 37-car field. And, in that redraw, Hockett pulled the number one pill to start on the pole position.




Hockett paced the early rounds, but third-starter Swindell surged into the lead by the tenth round and the battle was on. The pair diced for the lead the rest of the way, with Hockett finally taking command in heavy traffic with just a handful of laps remaining.



Hockett took the win in front of Swindell, who limped to a halt afterwards minus a left front torsion stop, with R.J. Johnson, 13th-starter Mike Martin and Charles Davis, Jr., rounding out the top five.




Nathan High was sixth, with Stevie Sussex, 16th-starter Casey Shuman, Andrew Reinbold and Jeremy Sherman completing the top ten.




Swindell, Davis, Sussex and Hockett topped heat race action, with Ken Caskey winning the "B" Main.




Johnathon Henry emerged uninjured after flipping five laps into the feature event.




After running among the top five in the early stages of the feature event, Bobby Marcum gunned into the lead and paced the field all the way in the fully inverted "Last Dance" at Manzanita.




Terry Goodwin topped the final Midget feature atop the 1/3-mile clay oval.




Discount Tire Co. ASCS Canyon Region Results from Manzanita Speedway:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 32az-Kevin Swindell, 2. 85-Bobby Marcum, 3. 12x-Casey Shuman, 4. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 5. 2-Michael Colegrove, 6. 71-Bernie Smith, 7. 48-Thomas Ogle, 8. 5*-Robert King, Jr., 9. 61x-Chuck Buckman.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 16-Mike Martin, 4. xxx-Zach Sawyers, 5. 9-Brandon Lane, 6. 00-Ken Caskey, 7. 9x-Ryan Linder, 8. 67-Travis Cooley, 9. 27h-Jeremy Hueber, 10. 78-Larry Clark.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 62-Stevie Sussex, 2. 78x-Chris Bonneau, 3. 21-Johnathon Henry, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 6x-Bryan Swinehart, 6. 97j-Jesse Dunham, 7. 6-Ronnie Clark, 8. 97az-Mike Spencer, 9. 8sk-Tim Beal.




Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 8-Jesse Hockett, 2. 12-Nathan High, 3. 77-Jeremy Sherman, 4. 21x-Jay Ervine, 5. 5x-Jody Wirth, 6. 7k-Bruce St. James, 7. 7-Josh Pelkey, 8. 7a-Brian Hosford, 9. 42-Steve Sandrolini.




"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 00-Ken Caskey, 2. 5x-Jody Wirth, 3. 9-Brandon Lane, 4. 7-Josh Pelkey, 5. 7k-Bruce St. James, 6. 6x-Bryan Swinehart, 7. 8sk-Tim Beal, 8. 97j-Jesse Dunham, 9. 6-Ronnie Clark, 10. 61x-Chuck Buckman, 11. 67-Travis Cooley, 12. 7a-Brian Hosford, 13. 42-Steve Sandrolini, 14. 71-Bernie Smith, 15. 48-Thomas Ogle, 16. 97az-Mike Spencer, 17. 9x-Ryan Linder, 18. 21x-Jay Ervine, 19. 5*-Robert King, Jr., 20. 27h-Jeremy Hueber. DNS: 78-Larry Clark.




“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 8-Jesse Hockett, 2. 32az-Kevin Swindell, 3. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 6. 12-Nathan High, 7. 62-Stevie Sussex, 8. 12x-Casey Shuman, 9. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 10. 77-Jeremy Sherman, 11. xxx-Zach Sawyers, 12. 7k-Bruce St. James, 13. 9-Brandon Lane, 14. 8sk-Tim Beal, 15. 78x-Chris Bonneau, 16. 97j-Jesse Dunham, 17. 00-Ken Caskey, 18. 6x-Bryan Swinehart, 19. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 20. 85-Bobby Marcum, 21. 2-Michael Colegrove, 22. 7-Josh Pelkey, 23. 21-Johnathon Henry, 24. 5x-Jody Wirth.




Discount Tire Co. ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 434, 2. Nathan High 416, 3. R.J. Johnson 406, 4. Andrew Reinbold 396, 5. Johnathon Henry 386, 6. Bryan Swinehart 374, 7. Jeremy Sherman 362, 8. (tie) Josh Pelkey and Tim Beal 358, 10. Zach Sawyers 350.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...