Jump to content

Inaugural ASCS Lone Star Events This Weekend!

Recommended Posts

Inaugural ASCS Lone Star Events This Weekend!



Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (March 30, 2009) – The much-anticipated initial pair of events for the all-new American Sprint Car Series Lone Star Region is just days away now as the series is set for its inaugural weekend of competition this Friday and Saturday.




The ASCS Lone Star Region lifts off with Friday night's card atop Waco's 1/3-mile Heart O' Texas Speedway clay oval. Then, on Saturday night, it's up the road to complete the series' opening weekend of action atop Cowtown Speedway's high-banked ¼-mile near Fort Worth.




Both tracks have been regular Regional stops in recent years, with Heart O' Texas often hosting the ASCS Gulf South Region and Cowtown Speedway a standard ASCS Sooner Region stop.




But, with the emergence of the new Lone Star Region, a more fitting pair of ovals couldn't have been selected for the opening weekend.




Heart O' Texas Speedway will also host the Gulf South Region on June 5, with a Lone Star vs. Gulf South Shootout to follow on July 31 after both Regional Tours have had a look at the speedway.




The inaugural Lone Star Region championship will virtually run through Cowtown Speedway, as the Kennedale, TX, track will host the Lone Star Region on several more occasions including stops on May 16, June 27 and August 29 before the Cowtown Sprint Nationals on October 9-10 that will feature a triumvirate of Regions including Lone Star, Gulf South and Sooner.




In total, the ASCS Lone Star Region will contest 16 events at eight different tracks throughout North Texas in addition to one venture north of the Red River to Oklahoma City's State Fair Speedway in May versus the Sooner Region.




Two-time ASCS Sooner Region champion Kevin Ramey of Fort Worth and 2008 ASCS Sooner Region runner-up Kolt Walker are among the nearly two-dozen drivers that have already indicated intentions of pursuing the Lone Star crown, setting up a stout opening weekend of action.




Several invaders from north of the Red River are expected for the weekend's action, along with several Lucas Oil ASCS National contenders including reigning champion Jason Johnson, Travis Rilat, Eric Baldaccini, Kathryne Minter and Trey Robb. Both features offer up $1,500 to win and $250 to start.




Ramey ranks as the only driver to capture ASCS victories at both the Heart O' Texas and Cowtown Speedways. Ramey has collected four Waco wins (three Gulf South and one Sooner) along with two Sooner wins at Cowtown.




While Ramey has collected 32 overall career ASCS feature wins, he'll be trying to snap a series victory drought of 40 race nights dating back to a September 14, 2007, ASCS Sooner score at Heart O' Texas.




Friday's racing action at Heart O' Texas goes green at 8:00 p.m., with Saturday's NASCAR weekend event at Cowtown Speedway firing off at 7:00 p.m.




The semi-banked, 1/3-mile Heart O' Texas Speedway clay oval is located in Waco, TX, off I-35 Exit 343, then 0.6 miles north on east frontage road. For more information, contact the track at 254-829-2294.




Cowtown Speedway is located in Kennedale, TX, just east of Fort Worth off I-20 Exit 442-A, then 1.7 miles southeast on Mansfield Highway, then 1.4 miles southwest on New Hope Road. For more information, contact the track at 817-478-9952.




The American Sprint Car Series, in its 18th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing events, brings the best of Sprint Car racing to nearly 100 different tracks throughout 25 states and Canada in 2009. Anchored by the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Dirt Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of a dozen different Regions throughout the nation.




Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Heart O' Texas Speedway:


8/22/08 – Greg Rilat (Gulf South)


5/25/08 – Ryan Hall (Gulf South)


9/14/07 – Kevin Ramey (Sooner)


8/31/07 – Brandon Berryman (Gulf South vs. Sooner)


9/15/06 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)


7/21/06 – Jason Johnson (Gulf South vs. Sooner Region)


10/15/04 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)


9/17/04 – Kevin Ramey (Gulf South)


6/18/04 – Claud Estes (Gulf South)




Past ASCS Regional Feature Winners at Cowtown Speedway:


10/11/08 – Brian Brown (National vs. Sooner)


10/10/08 – Gavin Punch (National vs. Sooner)


8/23/08 – Kolt Walker (Gulf South)


7/26/08 – Brad Welborn (Sooner)


5/17/08 – Gary Taylor (Sooner)


4/5/08 – Travis Rilat (Sooner)


9/15/07 - Nick Smith (Sooner)


7/7/07 - Brian McClelland (Sooner)


4/14/07 - Kevin Ramey (Sooner)


9/23/06 - Travis Rilat (Sooner)


6/10/06 - Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)


4/8/06 - Sam Hafertepe, Jr. (Sooner)


9/24/05 - Travis Rilat (Sooner)


6/25/05 - Jason Martin (National vs. Sooner)


4/9/05 - Sean McClelland (Sooner)


9/25/04 - Andy Shouse (Sooner)


5/29/04 - Kevin Ramey (Sooner)




Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...