Austin Speed-O-Rama

79Wusterhausen

Austin Speed-Orama was opened in 1960 by my cousins A.B and his son Louis Wusterhausen. My Cousin Louis wis killed at Texas World Speedway on October 8th 1972. I am in search of any info about my cousins accident and pictures of the car he may have been driving. All I know is the car he was killed in was a 1971 Camaro. Also any info at all about their involvement with racing. I have been racing for 8 years and would like to build a 71 camaro replica in memory of Lous. Any help is apreciated. Thanks Stephen Wusterhausen.

Buddy,

Was there a structural integrity issue regarding the side/door bars on Louis Wusterhausen's car? I didn't attend the TWS event when the accident occured, but I seem to recall a question about the bars. I remember seeing Louis Wusterhausen a short time before his crash, most likely at Meyer Spdwy/Houston. But, as I recall, in '72 the NASCAR LMS rules did not allow Camaros/Firebirds or Mustangs, and for that reason I don't think he would have been racing the same car in Houston, although I remember a Camaro bodied Stock Car. Maybe some oldtimer's memory merge, but I definitely remember Louis, and he seemed to be a nice guy.

Hi Steve,

If you have email I could put you in contact with someone who was in the Royal Triton 300 race on Oct 8, 1972. I'll email you his phone number. He raced Speed O Rama starting with first race in 1960. I also have the results of that race that mentions Louis Wusterhausen's death.

Rodney

Buddy,