Jump to content

ASCS Gulf South Season Finale Saturday Night at HRP!

Recommended Posts

ASCS Gulf South Season Finale Saturday Night at HRP!



Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 22, 2008) – The American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region puts the wraps on its seventh season of competition with Saturday night's season finale at Houston Raceway Park in Baytown, TX.




Saturday's season ender offers up a $3,000 winner's share, with at least $300 for all main event starters.




While Houston Raceway Park escaped serious damage from Hurricane Ike, Golden Triangle Raceway Park in nearby Beaumont wasn't as fortunate. With cleanup still under way at GTRP, the event originally slated for Friday night has been cancelled.




The Beaumont cancellation leaves Brandon Berryman of Missouri City, TX, just one night away from his a second consecutive ASCS Gulf South Regional championship. Berryman carries a 40-point lead into Saturday night's action and can secure the crown by finishing 19th or better in the main event.




Beaumont's Gary Watson, the 2006 series champion, enters the season finale second in points, just five markers ahead of three-time series runner-up Greg Rilat of Texas City.




Tommy Bryant enters Saturday's action ranked fourth, with rookie contender Travis Elliott rounding out the current top five.




The balance of the current top ten includes Channin Tankersley, Chris Sweeney, Brandon Corn, Travis Knighton and Michael McNeil.




Saturday's ASCS Gulf South Region season finale at Houston Raceway Park is set to go green at 7:00 p.m.




Houston Raceway Park is located east of Houston on I-10 to Exit 798, then three miles south on State Road 146, then 0.8 miles southeast on FM 1405, then 1.5 miles northeast on FM 565. For more information, contact the track at 281-383-7223.




The 2008 slate for the ASCS Gulf South Region consisted of 24 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Texas and Louisiana.




The nation's most prominent Sprint Car sanctioning body with a dozen different Regions throughout the United States in addition to the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series, the American Sprint Car Series' (ASCS) 17th year of activity will include approximately 250 nights of racing at more than 100 different race tracks throughout 28 different states and Canada.




Past ASCS Gulf South Region Feature Winners at Houston Raceway Park:


6/21/08 Michael Dupuy


5/10/08 Brandon Berryman


3/1/08 Jack Dover


9/29/07 Brandon Berryman


8/18/07 Travis Rilat


5/19/07 Johnny Miller


9/30/06 Ray Allen Kulhanek


8/19/06 Brad Best


6/24/06 Ray Allen Kulhanek


4/8/06 Travis Rilat


8/20/05 Lane Whittington


6/18/05 Ray Allen Kulhanek


7/10/04 Kevin Ramey




Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...