Jump to content

Taylor Trims ASCS Sooners at Creek County


Recommended Posts

Taylor Trims ASCS Sooners at Creek County



Lonnie Wheatley, SAPULPA, Okla. (September 20, 2008) – Gary Taylor rallied from eight rows deep to post his fourth American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature win of the year in Saturday night's 25-lap main event at Creek County Speedway.




Taylor raced from the 16th starting position to take the lead away from Matt Covington on the 16th round en route to victory lane aboard Mike and Megan Eubanks' Wesmar-powered Tel-Star Communications No. 5* Triple-X.




"Once the track got a little slick it became racier, you could hit the top or bottom," the Washington-state native now residing in Sapulpa explained afterward. "We avoided a couple of wrecks and made it through to the front."




While Taylor worked from deep in the field, Michael Brown paced the early circuits before Covington and past ASCS Sooner Region champion Sean McClelland began battling for the point.




Taylor soon entered the mix for the lead and took command for keeps with less than ten laps to go. And, after Covington grazed the backstretch wall with five laps to go and collected Brown, who flipped entering turn three, it was McClelland who took over the runner-up position.




Also racing from the back of the pack, Zach Chappell charged from 18th to finish third behind Taylor and McClelland, with Sherman Davis and Nick Smith rounding out the top five.




Robert Sellers, Joe Wood, Jr., Frank Sudduth, Forrest Sutherland and Kolt Walker completed the top ten. Walker closed to within eleven points of Brian McClelland in the series championship race. Brian McClelland was collected in an opening lap incident and credited with a 19th-place finish.




Wood, Koby Barksdale and Sean McClelland each earned heat race wins.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Creek County Speedway:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 2. 27m-Kyle Merriman, 3. 15b-Michael Brown, 4. 45k-Kolt Walker, 5. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 6. 5*-Gary Taylor, 7. 1c-Chris Partin.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 22-Koby Barksdale, 2. 95-Matt Covington, 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 87-Brian McClelland, 5. 72-Sherman Davis, 6. 52-Frank Sudduth, 7. 010-Brian Roberts.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 1-Sean McClelland, 2. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 3. 25-Robert Sellers, 4. 11-Justin Melton, 5. 51a-Ronnie Murphy, 6. 92-Zach Chappell.




"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 5*-Gary Taylor, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 92-Zach Chappell, 4. 72-Sherman Davis, 5. 15s-Nick Smith, 6. 25-Robert Sellers, 7. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 8. 52-Frank Sudduth, 9. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 10. 45k-Kolt Walker, 11. 010-Brian Roberts, 12. 1c-Chris Partin, 13. 51a-Ronnie Murphy, 14. 15b-Michael Brown, 15. 95-Matt Covington, 16. 27m-Kyle Merriman, 17. 11-Justin Melton, 18. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 19. 87-Brian McClelland, 20. 22-Koby Barksdale.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Brian McClelland 2,113, 2. Kolt Walker 2,102, 3. Joe Wood, Jr. 2,038, 4. Matt Covington 1,972, 5. Michael Brown 1,818, 6. Gary Taylor 1,782, 7. Justin Melton 1,745, 8. Sherman Davis 1,543, 9. Eric Baldaccini 1,259, 10. Sheldon Barksdale 1,162.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...