Nascar On XM Radio

NewRacer

I have been listening to the XM radio New s show for the last 3 months.

They have a segment that the feature short tracks all over the USA, and the owner , or promoter of these tracks talk about their track & what kind of classes they run.

I have noticed that amny of these track owners have mentioned that the increase in the popularity of NASCAR has not helped their short track business, both with their Fan base , or getting componay involvement for Sponsorship.

One of the owners stated that at a Nascar race last year they polled the white collar Nascar RAce fan & asked them If they knew about the local short track in their city & 80% said no.

I was driving , so I am not too sure of all of the exact names & numbers , but this is close enough for everyone to get my point.

I thought before listening to this that it was just in Texas , but it sound like if you are not in and around North CArolina area it is just as tough to get Most Nascar fans to support their local track.

I do not think this is just a TEXAS racing problem.

Just something That I thought I would Throw out to see what your people think.

Victory Lane

Interesting! While covering the races at TMS last year, Chuck introduced me to Clare Lang, who was the NASCAR XM correspondent covering the races. She had me do segments each day on the World of Outlaws that were running on the TMS dirt track because she had "so many" people calling in wanting results/recaps. Maybe that's just because it was a major touring series?