Jump to content

ASCS Sooner Region at Cowtown Saturday Night!

Recommended Posts

ASCS Sooner Region at Cowtown Saturday Night!



Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (September 8, 2008) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region kicks off its 2008 championship stretch drive on Saturday night with its final stop of the year atop the high-banked, ¼-mile Cowtown Speedway dirt oval in Kennedale, TX.




Saturday's card at "The Fastest Lil' Dirt Track in Texas" marks the first of four consecutive weekends of action to wind down the 2008 season for the ASCS Sooner Region.




Following this weekend's Cowtown card, ensuing Sooner events include a stop at Creek County Speedway near Tulsa on September 20, an event at Devil's Bowl Speedway near Dallas on September 27 and then the season finale at South Coffeyville's Mid-America Speedway on Friday night, October 3.




Leading the way into Saturday night's card is Tulsa's Brian McClelland, who holds the series lead as he vies for a second consecutive series crown. He doesn't lead by much though, as Graham, TX, racer Kolt Walker has closed to within 29 markers.




And, Walker carries some momentum into Saturday's action after besting the Gulf South Region atop the same Cowtown clay for his first career ASCS feature win on August 23.




Oklahoma City's Joe Wood, Jr., a winner of three Sooner features this season, enters the card ranked third with 18-year-old Glenpool, OK, shoe Matt Covington and Lawton's Michael Brown rounding out the current top five.




The balance of the current top ten in Sooner points entering Saturday's action includes Washington native Gary Taylor, Justin Melton (Flower Mound, TX), Sherman Davis (Sand Springs, OK), Eric Baldaccini (Keller, TX) and Sheldon Barksdale (Norman, OK).




Saturday's action fires off at 7:00 p.m.




Cowtown Speedway is located in Kennedale, TX, just east of Fort Worth off I-20 Exit 442-A, then 1.7 miles southeast on Mansfield Highway, then 1.4 miles southwest on New Hope Road. For more information, contact the track at 817-478-9952.




The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region is slated for 19 nights of racing action at ten different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Arkansas in 2008.




The nation's most prominent Sprint Car sanctioning body with a dozen different Regions throughout the United States in addition to the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series, the American Sprint Car Series' (ASCS) 17th year of activity will include approximately 250 nights of racing at more than 100 different race tracks throughout 28 different states and Canada.




Past ASCS Sooner Region Feature Winners at Cowtown Speedway:


7/25/08 – Brad Welborn


5/17/08 – Gary Taylor


4/5/08 – Travis Rilat


9/15/07 - Nick Smith


7/7/07 - Brian McClelland


4/14/07 - Kevin Ramey


9/23/06 - Travis Rilat


6/10/06 - Sam Hafertepe, Jr.


4/8/06 - Sam Hafertepe, Jr.


9/24/05 - Travis Rilat


* 6/25/05 - Jason Martin


4/9/05 - Sean McClelland


9/25/04 - Andy Shouse


5/29/04 - Kevin Ramey




Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...