Jump to content

Thursday Modified qualifiers to Texan Taylor, former champ Lewerke


Recommended Posts

Thursday Modified qualifiers to Texan Taylor, former champ Lewerke


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Troy Taylor made the long tow from Texas pay off with the win in Thursday’s first IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals Modified qualifying feature, while 2006 champion Rich Lewerke took the checkers in the nightcap.


The top four from each race advance to Saturday’s main event at Boone Speedway.


Taylor was chased across the line by Brad Williams, 2005 champion Benji LaCrosse and Ronnie Wallace. Jay Schmidt, already in the big show for Stock Cars, Shawn Kilgore and Johnny Saathoff advanced behind Lewerke.


Taylor started on the pole and led the distance in the opener, which ran caution-free after the fifth circuit.


Williams took second from LaCrosse at midway. Wallace survived last-turn bumping and banging with Jay Goosmann and defending champion Todd Shute for the final transfer spot. Shute was then penalized for rough driving and scored 14th.


Lewerke also led start to finish in the second show, marred by a lap 10 pileup on the front straightaway that involved a dozen cars.


Schmidt took over second following the re-start. Kilgore, who’d lined up 18th for the initial green, caught Rob Rose for third with six laps left. Saathoff would be promoted to the top four after Rose was disqualified for an illegal frame.


The top four from each race get back on the track Friday in a five-lap dash to settle the starting order for the middle row in the main event.


Schmidt and Kilgore are first-time qualifiers for the Modified main, while Taylor and Williams have each made it in twice.


Wallace qualified for the third time, LaCrosse for the fifth straight year, Lewerke for the seventh time and Saathoff for the ninth.


First qualifier – 1. Troy Taylor, Fort Worth, Texas; 2. Brad Williams, Lytton; 3. Benji LaCrosse, Luxemburg, Wis.; 4. Ronnie Wallace, North Platte, Neb.; 5. Jay Goosmann, Hinton; 6. Scott Mullen, Seymour, Wis.; 7. Troy Cordes, Raymond; 8. Al Hejna, Clear Lake; 9. Mike Mashl, DePere, Wis.; 10. Danny Deau, Little Luamico, Wis.; 11. Jared Siefert, Green Bay, Wis.; 12. Steven Glenn, Hamilton, Mo.; 13. Curt Lund, Redwood Falls, Minn.; 14. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 15. Chris Alcorn, Lincoln, Neb.; 16. Rod Scheuermann, Scranton; 17. Jeff Stephens, Arion; 18. Darin Duffy, Hazleton; 19. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 20. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown.


Second qualifier – 1. Rich Lewerke, Garner; 2. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 3. Shawn Kilgore, New Franken, Wis.; 4. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice, Neb.; 5. Jeffrey Anderson, Atlantic; 6. J.J. Scott, Dallas Center; 7. Tim Czarneski, Denmark, Wis.; 8. Paul Snyder, Wellsville, Kan.; 9. Charley Brown, Maxwell, Neb.; 10. Drew Christianson, Minot, N.D.; 11. Lance Borgman, Beatrice, Neb.; 12. Matthew Kiner, Aurora, Neb.; 13. Gary Pesicka, Burt; 14. Tim Murty, Tama; 15. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 16. Jeff Turner, Kaufman, Texas; 17. Mike Molle, Glidden; 18. Pat Graham, Ames; 19. Tim Stevens, Cedar Rapids.






Embrey, Sather pace Northern SportMod qualifiers


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Checkered flag runs in their qualifying features landed front row starting spots for Jeremy Embrey and Kevin Sather in Saturday’s IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals main event for Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods.


Embrey caught Brett Meyer for the lead midway through the first 20-lapper, which was interrupted right off the bat by a four car pileup. Sather took the lead from Nick Lakes on the 12th lap of the nightcap, which ran green to checkered.


With a record 139 entries in the class, the top nine finishers in each qualifier advanced to the big show at Boone Speedway.


Lining up behind Embrey on the inside row will be Meyer, Luke Wanninger, Joel Bushore, 1998 Stock Car champion Scott Davis, Austin Lucas, Josh Sherbon, defending champion Tracy Wassenberg and Shay Woods.


After Sather in the middle row his cousin Austin Kaplan, Harvey Vande Weerd, Brian Miller, Matthew Meinecke, Joe Docekal, Troy Jerovetz, Nathan Chodur and Jeremiah Asher.


Gary Saathoff was disqualified from a ninth place finish in the first qualifier for an illegal carburetor; Lakes was DQ’d from a runner-up showing in the second race for a stroker motor and altered heads.


The outside row will be determined Friday night.


First qualifier – 1. Jeremy Embrey, Granger; 2. Brett Meyer, Lytton; 3. Luke Wanninger, Jefferson; 4. Joel Bushore, Boone; 5. Scott Davis, Boone; 6. Austin Lucas, Story City; 7. Josh Sherbon, Cedar Falls; 8. Tracy Wassenberg, Shawano, Wis.; 9. Shay Woods, Humeston; 10. Max Harder, Blue Springs, Neb.; 11. Dave Stoffer, Shawano, Wis.; 12. Jon Boller, Jr., St. Joseph, Mo.; 13. Ty Merrill, Salix; 14. Kirk Beatty, Sioux City; 15. Mark Rose, Elcho, Wis.; 16. Ricky Rohr, Pickrell, Neb.; 17. Aaron Holiday, Green Bay, Wis.; 18. Michael King, Odebolt; 19. Curtis Veber, Polk City; 20. Kaleb Bentley, Eldora; 21. Keith Williamson, Maxwell; 22. Jesse Olson, Mayer, Minn.; 23. Dalton Dingman, Grimes.


Second qualifier – 1. Kevin Sather, Ankeny; 2. Austin Kaplan, Ankeny; 3. Harvey Vande Weerd, Alton; 4. Brian Miller, Grand Junction; 5. Matthew Meinecke, Perry; 6. Joe Docekal, Dysart; 7. Troy Jerovetz, Green Bay, Wis.; 8. Nathan Chodur, Lake Mills; 9. Jeremiah Asher, St. Joseph, Mo.; 10. Geoff Olson, Sioux City; 11. Rick Ringgenberg, Kelley; 12. Fred Leytham, Garwin; 13. Kent Croskey, Polk City; 14. Mike Pruitt, Redfield; 15. Jeremie Gibbs, Sioux City; 16. Shawn Bearce, Sioux City; 17. Mike Munson, Boxholm; 18. Rod Bronson, Hooper, Neb.; 19. Rodger Caquelin, Dows; 20. Dennis Miesler, Luxemburg, Wis.; 21. Chad Guyette, Black Creek, Wis.; 22. Tim Love, Kelley; 23. Johnny Whitman, DePere, Wis.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...