Jump to content

Irvine tops Super Nationals last chance Stock Car feature


Recommended Posts

Irvine tops Super Nationals last chance Stock Car feature


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 3) – Showing the same speed that netted him the 2006 title, Brian Irvine ran away with Wednesday’s last-chance IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals Stock Car feature.


As a result, he’ll start at the front of the outside row when the green flag flies for the main event on Saturday at Boone Speedway.


Irvine started on the pole and led all 25 laps, pulling away from the rest of the field and taking the checkers by a straightaway ahead of Mike Nichols, who’d caught Jason Ward for the spot with three circuits left.


Four cautions punctuated the event. The last two yellows came out bang-bang on laps 18 and 19, but Irvine stayed in the fast higher line and was not challenged as the race wound down.


Following Irvine, Nichols and Ward into the main event will be Donavon Smith, Travis Shipman, Jeremy Christians, Jamie Colwell, Jay Schmidt, Bryan Trogdon and Daniel Parker.


Smith raced his way into the top four all the way from the 21st starting position. He’ll join brothers David and Dustin in the big show for the second straight year.


Christians and Schmidt both qualified for the Stock Car feature at Super Nationals for the eighth time, Nichols for the fifth, Irvine for the fourth, Colwell for the third, Smith and Trogdon both for the second and Ward and Shipman both for the first.


Larry Portis won the pole, while Damon Murty will start the main event from the front of the middle row.


Feature results – 1. Brian Irvine, Oelwein; 2. Mike Nichols, Harlan; 3. Jason Ward, Sioux City; 4. Donavon Smith, Lake City; 5. Travis Shipman, Mason City; 6. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 7. Jamie Colwell, Kaukauna, Wis.; 8. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 9. Bryan Trogdon, Bouton; 10. Daniel Parker, Greenville, Texas; 11. Ryan Rose, Boone; 12. Norman Chesmore, Rowley; 13. Ryan Leeman, Roland; 14. Kyle Frederick, Gillett, Wis.; 15. Travis Sherfick, WaKeeney, Kan.; 16. Rodney Richards, Madrid; 17. Jeff Senne, Fairmont, Minn.; 18. Tim Bengard, Exira; 19. Luke Veren, Haverhill; 20. Dustin Vis, LeGrand; 21. Chad Palmer, Renwick; 22. Michael Walter, Killeen, Texas; 23. Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn; 24. Matt Junio, Casco, Wis.





Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...