Jump to content

IMCA Super Nationals Tuesday results


Recommended Posts

Estes, Murty top Night Two Stock Car qualifiers


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 2) – Drivers from down South and from east on Highway 30 won Stock Car qualifying features, on night two of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals.


Texan Chad Estes led all 25 circuits in Tuesday’s first qualifier after starting outside row one. Damon Murty of Chelsea worked his way up from ninth to win the caution-marred second qualifier at Boone Speedway.


Following Estes across the finish line and into Saturday’s main event were defending champion Kevin Opheim, Justin Temeyer, Charley Brown and Ryan Lundy.


Murty led John Heinz, Mike Scharn, Shane Manson and Mitch Dowhower into the top five. Manson moved up 17 spots from his initial starting position.


Tuesday’s qualifiers make up the middle row of the main event. Estes and Murty will go head to head in a five lap dash during the Wednesday program to determine who starts at the front; drivers will draw for corresponding spots three through 10.


Brown, Lundy, Scharn, Manson and Dowhower are all first-time qualifiers; Heinz is in for the second time, Opheim for the third, Estes, Murty and Temeyer each for the fourth.


The Super Nationals Stock Car runner-up in 2002, Murty also has four Hobby Stock feature appearances to his credit and made the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod field last year.


First qualifier – 1. Chad Estes, Temple, Texas; 2. Kevin Opheim, Mason City; 3. Justin Temeyer, Independence; 4. Charley Brown, Maxwell, Neb.; 5. Ryan Lundy, Knoxville; 6. Abe Huls, Carthage, Ill.; 7. Luke Veren, Haverhill; 8. Kelly Henderson, Minot, N.D.; 9. Matt Junio, Casco, Wis.; 10. Don Vis, Marshalltown; 11. Jamie Colwell, Kaukauna, Wis.; 12. Jason Ward, Sioux City; 13. Shaun Bruns, Danube, Minn.; 14. Brian Irvine, Oelwein; 15. Kyle Wanner, Suamico, Wis.; 16. Jared Dirks, Belmond; 17. Chad Palmer, Renwick; 18. Tim Bengard, Exira; 19. Steve Jackson, Polk City; 20. Rodney Richards, Madrid; 21. Ryan Rose, Boone; 22. Jay Schmidt, Tama; 23. Ronnie Wallace, North Platte, Neb.; 24. Larry Crocheck, Boone.


Second qualifier – 1. Damon Murty, Chelsea; 2. John Heinz, Green Bay, Wis.; 3. Mike Scharn, Sac City; 4. Shane Manson, Manchester; 5. Mitch Dowhower, Sioux City; 6. Russ Byriel, Ankeny; 7. Mike Nichols, Harlan; 8. Lonnie Hodges, Boone; 9. Daniel Parker, Greenville, Texas; 10. Stefan Sybesma, Sanborn; 11. Travis Sherfick, WaKeeney, Kan.; 12. Shawn Havel, Algoma, Wis.; 13. Jeremy Christians, Horicon, Wis.; 14. Dave Moriarty, Jordan, Minn.; 15. Travis Shipman, Mason City; 16. Michael Walter, Killeen, Texas; 17. Ryan Leeman, Roland; 18. Shane Nielsen, Panora; 19. Jeremy Olson, Mapleton, Minn.; 20. Jeff Mueller, New London; 21. Michael Dancer, North Platte, Neb.; 22. Jeff Senne, Fairmont, Minn.; 23. Zach Keppler, Sioux City; 24. Randy Lawrey, Cherokee.










Late pass gets last-chance Hobby win for Smith


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 2) – After watching brothers David and Dustin draw for starting spots in the Stock Car main event, Doug Smith raced his way to a front row start in Saturday’s Hobby Stock show at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals.


Smith passed long-time leader Chris Jensen with two laps left in winning the Tuesday night last-chance qualifier at Boone Speedway. He’ll start at the front of the outside row come Saturday night, ahead of fellow top nine finishers Jensen, Shannon Anderson, Rusty Montagne, Randy Hadacek, Justin Maschke, Randall Macku, Doug McCollough and Kenny Loftus.


Anderson had given up an eighth place finish in his Monday night qualifier in hopes of a better finish in last-chance action, got shuffled all the way from fifth to 22nd in a lap one melee, then worked his way all the way up to third.


Hadacek made the Saturday show for the ninth time, Jensen for the seventh and Maschke for the second. Smith, Anderson, Montagne, Macku, McCollough and Loftus are all first-time qualifiers.


Twenty-eight cars will start the main event, with the reinstatement of Chris Luloff to the field.


He’d initially been disqualified from the third spot in the middle row as a result of malfunctioning tech equipment. After Luloff protested the decision, his engine was torn down and found to be legal, and he got his place back.


Justin Hopkins, who’d been promoted from 10th with Luloff’s apparent DQ, will now start shotgun on the rest of the field.


Feature results – 1. Doug Smith, Lake City; 2. Chris Jensen, Des Moines; 3. Shannon Anderson, Atlantic; 4. Rusty Montagne, North Sioux City, S.D.; 5. Randy Hadacek, Britt; 6. Justin Maschke, Des Moines; 7. Randall Macku, Lincoln, Neb.; 8. Doug McCollough, Webster City; 9. Kenny Loftus, Des Moines; 10. Bryan Sewell, Seagoville, Texas; 11. Nathan Ballard, Marengo; 12. Matt Mahoney, Pierson; 13. Allen Montgomery, Rhome, Texas; 14. John Jackson, Nevada; 15. Richard Munson, Omaha, Neb.; 16. John Watson, Des Moines; 17. Jim Buss, Blue Hill, Neb.; 18. Josh Ruschmann, Sioux City; 19. Scott Pippert, Elberon; 20. Kurt Hansen, Walnut; 21. Matt Brown, Dysart; 22. Jeremiah Wilson, Waterloo; 23. Adam Bonnett, Norwalk; 24. John Yaw Sr., Des Moines.





Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...