Jump to content

Cooney wins second Super Nationals Late Model crown


Recommended Posts

Cooney wins second Super Nationals Late Model crown


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 1) – Advice from a five-time champion helped Todd Cooney win his second IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals title.


Cooney led all 50 laps of Monday’s opening night Deery Brothers Summer Series feature for IMCA J & J Steel Late Models at Boone Speedway, taking the checkers nearly half a lap ahead of Josh Most.


“I just ran the top,” said Cooney, also the Late Model king at Boone two years ago. “Steve Jackson told me to get on top here and don’t turn ‘til I had to. I’ve lived and breathed by that.”


Jackson owns five Super Nationals Stock Car crowns, and Cooney did his best to emulate Jackson’s dominating runs with a flag-to-flag showing after drawing the pole start.


Terry Neal, runner-up in the last two Super Nationals, was third, well behind Most. Rob Toland and Joe Zrostlik rounded out the top five.


The only caution of the night came on the second lap; Cooney’s lead was a straightaway by the 10th circuit and he caught up with the back of the field by lap 15.


Cooney had plenty of track and five lapped cars between his back bumper and Most by midway. He continued to pad his advantage in the second half of the race, running unchallenged to the $2,000 checkers and his second series victory of the season.


“It’s all sweet,” he said, when asked to compare his first and second Super Nationals championships. “I couldn’t tell how much I was ahead by. The car was just great.”


Point leader Boone McLaughlin took a provisional start and moved up 11 spots to finish 13th.

The series ends Friday and Saturday, Sept. 12-13, with the $10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.


Feature results – 1. Todd Cooney, Des Moines; 2. Josh Most, Red Oak; 3. Terry Neal, Ely; 4. Rob Toland, Bettendorf; 5. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove; 6. Jason Hahne, Webster City; 7, Dale Hackwell, Waterloo; 8. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 9. Adam Larson, Ames; 10. Craig Jacobs, Des Moines; 11. Chad Cooney, Des Moines; 12. Luke Goedert, Holy Cross; 13. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis; 14. Jason VanSickel, Webster City; 15. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo; 16. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 17. Jeff Segebart, Westside; 18. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa; 19. Stephan Kammerer, Blue Grass; 20. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun; 21. Luke Pestka, Robins; 22. Riley Larson, Roland; 23. Ben Nading, Ankeny; 24. Kyle Wahlert, Des Moines.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Todd Cooney; 2. Hackwell; 3. Wahlert. 2nd heat – 1. Toland; 2. Zrostlik; 3. Adam Larson. 3rd heat – 1. Kammerer; 2. Nading; 3. Criss. 4th heat – 1. Griffith; 2. Most; 3. VanSickel. 5th heat – 1. Neal; 2. Jacobs; 3. Hahne.


1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. Pestka; 2. Segebart; 3. Goedert. 2nd “B” – 1. DeFrance; 2. Riley Larson; 3. Chad Cooney.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...