Jump to content

Frankel collects first Deery win at Quincy


Recommended Posts

Frankel collects first Deery win at Quincy


QUINCY, Ill. (Aug. 31) – A season of firsts continued Sunday night

for Jason Frankel.


A week after putting the final touches on the national IMCA J & J

Steel Late Model championship and two local track titles, Frankel led

all 50 laps in winning the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature event

at his hometown Quincy Raceway.


Starting outside eventual runner-up Denny Woodworth on the front row,

Frankel was quickly in front of the 24-car field and ran away from

the pack throughout the caution-slowed contest. The last yellow came

with five laps left, but Frankel held Terry Neal and then Woodworth

at bay for the $2,000 victory.


Woodworth, a first-time Deery winner in the April show at Quincy, ran

second most of the way. Neal snuck past with eight laps to go, but

Woodworth got the spot back on the final circuit.


Justin Reed and Todd Cooney rounded out the top five.


Neal and series point leader Boone McLaughlin both advanced 11

positions. McLaughlin was eighth on the night; Darrel DeFrance was

second in the standings going into the night but rolled just before

midway, ended in 22nd and now trails McLaughlin by 39 points in the

race for the tour title.


The second half of a Deery doubleheader takes the tour to Boone Speed

way on Labor Day, for opening night action at the 26th annual IMCA

Speedway Motors Super Nation als. Pit gates open at 1 p.m., the

grandstand opens at 3 p.m., hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing begins

at 5 p.m.


The series ends with the $10,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals at 34

Raceway in West Burlington on Friday and Saturday, Sept. 12-13.


Feature results –

1. Jason Frankel, Quincy;

2. Denny Woodworth, Mendon;

3. Terry Neal, Ely, Iowa;

4. Justin Reed, Quincy;

5. Todd Cooney, Des Moines, Iowa;

6. Tom Goble, Burlington, Iowa;

7. Dale Stolte, Springville, Iowa;8. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis, Iowa;

9. Matt Bailey, Quincy;

10. Matt Strassheim, West Burlington, Iowa;

11. Sam Halstead, New London, Iowa;

12. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa, Iowa;

13. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo, Iowa;

14. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove, Iowa;

15. Keith Pratt, Mendon;

16. Jerry Weisenberger, Quincy;

17. Fred Remley, Blue Grass, Iowa;

18. Mitch Current, Maquoketa, Iowa;

19. Billy Genenbacher, Camp Point;

20. Jay Chenoweth, Wapello, Iowa;

21. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun, Iowa;

22. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa;

23. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy;

24. Gary Russell, Biggsville.

1st heat (top four) – 1. Goble; 2. DeFrance; 3. Reed; 4. Strassheim.

2nd heat – 1. Chenoweth; 2. Woodworth; 3. Frankel; 4. Neal. 3rd heat

– 1. Burgtorf; 2. Cooney; 3. Genenbacher; 4. Nezworski. 4th heat – 1.

Remley; 2, Criss; 3. Pratt; 4. Stolte.

1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. Halstead; 2. McLaughlin; 3.

Weisenberger. 2nd “B” – 1. Bailey; 2. Russell; 3. Current.



Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...