Jump to content

Neal gets lead back late to win Marshalltown Deery


Recommended Posts

Neal gets lead back late to win Marshalltown Deery


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa (June 10) – After running in front most of the

way, Terry Neal found himself in the right place at the right time in

the waning laps of the Deery Brothers Summer Series feature at

Marshalltown Speedway.


Neal got the lead back after Ray Guss Jr. broke with just three

circuits left in Tuesday’s IMCA J & J Steel Late Model main event,

then pulled away from hometown favorite Darrel DeFrance to earn the

$2,000 check ers.


The tour victory was Neal’s career 16th and also made him the seventh

different driver to win a Deery fea ture in as many events this

season. Justin Reed was third, Todd Cooney regained the series point

lead with his fourth place finish and Andy Nezworski rounded out the

top five.


Outside row one starter Cooney led the first five times around the

track before Neal slipped by underneath.


Neal was still at the point on lap 14 when a brief rain shower

resulted in a short delay. After the track was worked back in, the

race was re-started and Neal stayed at the front of the field before

Guss made his way past on the higher line on lap 40.


Guss saw his luck change on lap 48, however, and Neal made the most

of his good fortune after inheriting the front spot. He’d get the win

half a dozen car lengths ahead of DeFrance, who moved up 14 positions

from his place in the original starting grid.


In upping his perfect series attendance record to 322 events,

DeFrance matched his career-best finishes at his hometown track. He’d

also finished second at Marshalltown in 1987 and 1991.


Forty cars were on hand for the mid-week event, right at the series

average for the season. Tom Darbyshire brought the point lead to town

and started on the pole, but was sidelined with mechanical problems

early in the 50-lapper and ended his night in 23rd.


Next up on the Deery schedule is the Thursday, July 3 show at

Independence Motor Speedway. Pit gates and the grandstand both open

at 4 p.m., hot laps are at 6 p.m. and racing starts at 6:30 p.m.


Feature Results –1. Terry Neal, Ely;

2. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown;

3. Justin Reed, Quincy, Ill.;

4. Todd Cooney, Des Moines;

5. Andy Nezworski, Buffalo;

6. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis;

7. Cory Zeitner, Omaha, Neb.;

8. Josh Most, Red Oak;

9. Mike Garland, DeWitt;

10. Matt Strassheim, West Burlington;

11. Mitch Current, Maquoketa;

12. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.;

13. Joe Zrostlik, Long Grove;

14. Mike Klinkkammer, West Liberty;

15. Rob Toland, Davenport;

16. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake;

17. LaVern Carey, Ionia;

18. Greg Kastli, Waterloo;

19. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa;

20. Luke Merfeld, Peosta;

21. Jason Frankel, Quincy, Ill.;

22. Dale Hackwell Jr., Washburn;

23. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun;

24. Sam Halstead, New London.

1st heat (top three) – 1. Cooney; 2. Reed; 3. Kastli. 2nd heat – 1.

Neal; 2. Darbyshire; 3. Current; 3rd heat – 1. Halstead; 2. Merfeld;

3. Nezworski. 4th heat – 1. Guss; 2. Toland; 3. DeFrance. 5th heat –

1. McLaughlin; 2. Strassheim; 3. Zrostlik.

1st “B” feature (top three) – 1. Zeitner; 2. Most; 3. Criss. 2nd “B”

feature – 1. Hackwell; 2. Garland; 3. Carey.


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...