Jump to content

Nick Smith Nails ASCS Sooner Win at State Fair Speedway


Recommended Posts

Nick Smith Nails ASCS Sooner Win at State Fair Speedway



Lonnie Wheatley, OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (April 11, 2008) – Nick Smith snared his first feature win of the year by wiring the field in Friday night's 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region main event at State Fair Speedway.




After drawing the pole position, Smith fought off several bids from defending series champion Brian McClelland and then survived a late caution to snare his ninth career ASCS Sooner Region victory aboard Kip Smith's Wesmar-powered Sooner Network Solutions/Smith Trucking No. 15s J&J.




With the top eight point earners from heat race action redrawing to set the front four rows of the feature, Smith bettered himself from seventh to start on the pole while top point earner Travis Rilat drew the eighth position.




Smith outgunned fellow front row starter McClelland for the early lead, with sixth-starter Garry Lee Maier overtaking Chris Lloyd for third after a handful of laps and Rilat cracking the top five by the time the first caution flew after seven laps for Gary Taylor's disabled mount.




Back under way, Smith opened up a lead as McClelland's mount stumbled on the start. But McClelland reeled the leader back in and challenged as lapped traffic came into play at the midway point.




Smith was up to the task, slipping away while Rilat battled forward to take second from McClelland by the 20th lap.




A final caution after 22 laps for a turn four tangle involving Jack Dover and Natalie Sather set up a three-lap dash to the checkered flag, but with a pair of lapped cars separating Smith from his pursuers the outcome was sealed.




Smith sailed to the checkered flag unabated, while Rilat settled for runner-up honors. Maier made a late move to take third, with McClelland crossing the stripe fourth.




Andy Shouse rounded out the top five, with Zach Chappell charging from 20th to snare sixth. Joe Wood, Jr., was seventh, with Larry Neighbors, Dover and Eric Baldaccini completing the top ten.




Rilat, McClelland, Wood and Kolt Walker topped heat race action for the 34-car field, with Natalie Sather and Kerry McAlister winning the "B" Mains.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from State Fair Speedway:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat, 2. 15s-Nick Smith, 3. 15b-Michael Brown, 4. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 33-Kris Miller, 6. 20-Rick Barksdale, 7. 29x-Don Grable, 8. 43-A.J. Selenke, 9. 65au-Matt Sherrell.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 87-Brian McClelland, 2. 28-Chris Lloyd, 3. 27-Andy Shouse, 4. 64J-Johnny Miller, 5. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 6. 72-Sherman Davis, 7. 3r-Michael Beckerman. Disqualified: 41-Koby Barksdale (failed to report directly to scales after finishing first). DNS: 92-Zach Chappell.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 2. 5*-Gary Taylor, 3. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 4. 15k-Kerry McAlister, 5. 11-Justin Melton, 6. 81au-Gavin Punch, 7. 13-Kathryne Minter, 8. 27m-Kyle Merriman.




Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 45k-Kolt Walker, 2. 18-Lorne Wofford, 3. 29n-Larry Neighbors, 4. 53-Jack Dover, 5. 94s-Natalie Sather, 6. 95-Matt Covington, 7. 61J-Danny Jennings, 8. 01-Brandon Jennings.




First "B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 94s-Natalie Sather, 2. 64J-Johnny Miller, 3. 72-Sherman Davis, 4. 95-Matt Covington, 5. 41-Koby Barksdale, 6. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 7. 61J-Danny Jennings, 8. 29x-Don Grable, 9. 3r-Michael Beckerman. DNS: 01-Brandon Jennings.




Second "B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 15k-Kerry McAlister, 2. 81au-Gavin Punch, 3. 92-Zach Chappell, 4. 33-Kris Miller, 5. 11-Justin Melton, 6. 13-Kathryne Minter, 7. 27m-Kyle Merriman, 8. 20-Rick Barksdale, 9. 43-A.J. Selenke, 10. 65au-Matt Sherrell.




"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 4. 87-Brian McClelland, 5. 27-Andy Shouse, 6. 92-Zach Chappell, 7. 03-Joe Wood, Jr., 8. 29n-Larry Neighbors, 9. 53-Jack Dover, 10. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 11. 81au-Gavin Punch, 12. 45k-Kolt Walker, 13. 15b-Michael Brown, 14. 18-Lorne Wofford, 15. 28-Chris Lloyd, 16. 94s-Natalie Sather, 17. 64J-Johnny Miller, 18. 72-Sherman Davis, 19. 5*-Gary Taylor, 20. 15k-Kerry McAlister.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Travis Rilat 296, 2. Brian McClelland 288, 3. Kolt Walker 268, 4. Andy Shouse 266, 5. Michael Brown 236, 6. Garry Lee Maier 219, 7. Matt Covington 211, 8. Don Grable 207, 9. Eric Baldaccini 205, 10. Kathryne Minter 193.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...