Jump to content

ASCS Gulf South Region @ 105 Spwy. esults 4/5/08

Recommended Posts

Johnson Conquers Cleveland for Another ASCS Win



Lonnie Wheatley, CLEVELAND, Texas (April 5, 2008) – Jason Johnson racked up his third American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region win in four tries by racing to victory lane in Saturday night's 25-lap feature at 105 Speedway.




Johnson took over the lead when early leader Channin Tankersley crashed out of the lead and then nursed home the Marvin Pearson-owned No. 11 mount on seven cylinders to secure the win.




With Johnson starting sixth in the Wesmar-powered Custom Equipment Design Eagle, front row starters Tankersley and Gary Watson swapped the lead in the opening rounds before Tankersley took command on the fifth lap.




The 17-year-old's bid for a first series win came to a premature end several laps later when he climbed the right rear tire of a lapped car and flipped out of contention. Tankersley was uninjured although his car was destroyed.




Johnson took over on the restart and fought off past series champion Ray Allen Kulhanek to capture his fifth overall ASCS win of the year, with 2006 champ Watson, rookie contender Travis Elliott and defending series champion Brandon Berryman rounding out the top five.




Scottie McDonald was sixth, while Michael McNeil picked up Hard Charger honors by finishing seventh. Greg Rilat, Tommy Bryant and Chris Sweeney completed the top ten.




Tankersley, Johnson and Jimmy Brooks topped heat race action, with Terry Monroe winning the "B" Main.




American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region Results from 105 Speedway:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley, 2. 88-Scottie McDonald, 3. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. 3-Gary Watson, 5. 85-Jerry Bell, 6. 61-Travis Knighton, 7. 21-Blake Roberts, 8. d20-David Noker.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 93-Chris Sweeney, 3. 15T-Travis Elliott, 4. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 5. 74-Brandon Corn, 6. 5-Jack Spencer, 7. 22L-Kent Lewis, Sr., 8. 8b-Bruce Crockett.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 2. 8tw-Kent Lewis, Jr., 3. 31-Brandon Berryman, 4. 35-Greg Rilat, 5. 80-Michael McNeil, 6. 20-Terry Monroe, 7. 71T-Tim Simmons, 8. 9c-Troy Padgett, 9. 04-Michael Hendrickson.




"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 20-Terry Monroe, 2. 61-Travis Knighton, 3. 5-Jack Spencer, 4. 8b-Bruce Crockett, 5. 71T-Tim Simmons, 6. d20-David Noker, 7. 04-Michael Hendrickson, 8. 85-Jerry Bell, 9. 22L-Kent Lewis, Sr., 10. 9c-Troy Padgett. DNS: 21-Blake Roberts.




"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 3. 3-Gary Watson, 4. 15T-Travis Elliott, 5. 31-Brandon Berryman, 6. 88-Scottie McDonald, 7. 80-Michael McNeil, 8. 35-Greg Rilat, 9. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 10. 93-Chris Sweeney, 11. 74-Brandon Corn, 12. 20-Terry Monroe, 13. 61-Travis Knighton, 14. 5-Jack Spencer, 15. 71T-Tim Simmons, 16. 8b-Bruce Crockett, 17. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 18. 71-Channin Tankersley, 19. d20-David Noker, 20. 8tw-Kent Lewis, Jr.




ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jason Johnson 568, 2. Gary Watson 546, 3. Chris Sweeney 542, 4. Greg Rilat 536, 5. Channin Tankersley 500, 6. Ray Allen Kulhanek 490, 7. Brandon Corn 484, 8. Brandon Berryman 478, 9. (tie) Jimmy Brooks and Tommy Bryant 473.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...