Jump to content

Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Gulf South Opener at Golden Triangle


Recommended Posts

Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Gulf South Opener at Golden Triangle



Lonnie Wheatley, BEAUMONT, Texas (February 29, 2008) – The American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region kicked off the 2008 season with Louisiana's Jason Johnson wiring the field in Friday night's 25-lap Prelude to the Gulf Coast Nationals feature event at Golden Triangle Raceway Park.




The winner of East Bay Raceway Park's "King of the 360's" Nationals at the outset of the month pocketed another $2,000 on Friday night by winning the 100th feature event in ASCS Gulf South Region history.




Piloting Marvin Pearson's Wesmar-powered Custom Equipment Design No. 11 Eagle, "The Ragin' Cajun" escaped a wild opening lap skirmish that eliminated a handful of cars and then led all the way to record his 14th career ASCS Gulf South win.




Greg Rilat, starting his 92nd career ASCS Gulf South Region feature event (most in series history), held down the runner-up position throughout with ninth-starter Chris Sweeney taking show honors. Garry Lee Maier charged from 16th to snare fourth, with defending series champion Brandon Berryman rounding out the top five.




Travis Rilat recovered from an early spin to finish sixth, with 2006 series champion Gary Watson, Brandon Corn, Tommy Bryant and Eric Baldaccini completing the top ten.




Johnny Miller, Corn, Berryman and Johnson topped heat race action for the 30-car field with Baldaccini and Maier winning the twin "B" Mains.




American Sprint Car Series Gulf South Region Results:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 64J-Johnny Miller, 2. 3-Gary Watson, 3. 93-Chris Sweeney, 4. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 5. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 6. 80-Michael McNeil, 7. 19-Klint Angelette, 8. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 74-Brandon Corn, 2. 35-Greg Rilat, 3. 94-Wayne Johnson, 4. 20-Terry Monroe, 5. 5-Avant Schnitz, 6. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 7. 65-Skip Wilson. DNS: 53-Jack Dover.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman, 2. 29x-Travis Rilat, 3. 71-Channin Tankersley, 4. 22-Koby Barksdale, 5. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 6. 87x-Billy Melton, 7. 15T-Travis Elliott.




Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 3. 61-Travis Knighton, 4. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 5. 29-Don Grable, 6. 85-Jerry Bell, 7. 71s-Tim Simmons.




First "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. B4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 3. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 4. 51-Jimmy Brooks, 5. 80-Michael McNeil, 6. 15T-Travis Elliott, 7. 5-Avant Schnitz, 8. 19-Klint Angelette.




Second "B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 2. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 3. 29-Don Grable, 4. 87x-Billy Melton, 5. 71s-Tim Simmons, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 85-Jerry Bell, 8. 53-Jack Dover.




"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 11-Jason Johnson, 2. 35-Greg Rilat, 3. 93-Chris Sweeney, 4. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 5. 31-Brandon Berryman, 6. 29x-Travis Rilat, 7. 3-Gary Watson, 8. 74-Brandon Corn, 9. 21T-Tommy Bryant, 10. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 11. 13m-Kathryne Minter, 12. 61-Travis Knighton, 13. 41-Ray Allen Kulhanek, 14. 29-Don Grable, 15. 71-Channin Tankersley, 16. 64J-Johnny Miller, 17. 87-Aaron Reutzel, 18. 94-Wayne Johnson, 19. 22-Koby Barksdale, 20. 20-Terry Monroe.




ASCS Gulf South Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jason Johnson 150, 2. Greg Rilat 146, 3. Chris Sweeney 144, 4. Garry Lee Maier 142, 5. Brandon Berryman 140, 6. Travis Rilat 138, 7. Gary Watson 136, 8. Brandon Corn 134, 9. Tommy Bryant 132, 10. Eric Baldaccini 130.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...