Jump to content

Pro Cuts Tx. World Dirt Track Championship Fri. results/recaps

Recommended Posts

Pro Cuts, Texas World Dirt Track Championships @ Texas Motor Speedway Dirt Track, 2/29/08



Brown Bags Second Pro Cuts Qualifier

After putting Jim Thorne's Limited Modified in the Championship feature Thursday night, Chris Brown followed that up with a Modified A-qualifier win on Friday night. Brown outdeuled Troy Taylor and Tate Cole at the start of the 15-lapper, then ran away to take the checkers.



Brown, Taylor and Cole dove three wide into turn 1 as green waved on the 24-car modified field. Brown came out on top, with Cole second, Taylor third and Morgan Bagley grabbing fourth. Logan Cabbell spun on lap 1 to bring out a caution that saw Cole retire with a broken front suspension after contact with Taylor. On the restat, Brown got ahead by four car lengths and quickly began to stretch out his lead, while Taylor, Sean Jones, Bagley, Dee Gossett and Justin Boney battled it out for second.



Gossett got fourth from Bagley on lap 3 as Brown increased his margin. By lap 5 Brown had a full straightaway lead, while Jones' night came to an end when he broke and pulled to the infield. Just before halfway Brown hit the tail end of traffic with Taylor, Gossett, Bagley and Boney rounding out the top five at the mid-point.



Lyle Sheppard brought out the yellow on lap 7 when he found the wall between turns 1-2. Once back under green, Brown again jumped out to a good lead as Johnny Dunn and Richard Griffin ran wheel to wheel for sixth, with Greg Skaggs joining that battle. Bagley then started looking to take a spot back from Gossett on lap 8, and getting third on lap 9 as Boney moved in on Gossett.


Skaggs got around Griffin for sixth on lap 10, as Brown was sailing into the night. Bagley closed in on Taylor running side by side on lap 11, with Gossett and Boney battling for fourth as Skaggs ran them down. As the white flag waved, Brown again had a full straight lead, with Boney getting by Gossett for the final transfer spot. At the checkers it was Brown in the JD's Body Works, Hwy. 105 Machine, Simpson Racing Products, Performance Graphix, Signature Motorsports, Skyrocket Chassis getting the victory



Modified A-qualifier

1. 21 Chris Brown, Baytown

2. 56 Troy Taylor, Ft. Worth

3. 17x Morgan Bagley, Longview

4. 18 Justin Boney, Leavenworth, Kan.

5. 27 Greg Skaggs, Bixby, OK.

6. 10x Dee Gossett, Amarillo

7. 99 Johnny Dunn, Sunnyvale

8. 5R Bobby Malchus, Sasinaw

9. 703 David Smith jr., Copperas Cove

10. T8 Brandon Maggard, Clever, Mo

11. 4g Gary Clark, Walker, Mo.

12. 54 Dena Wilson, Coweta, OK.

13. 561 David Horner, Houston

14. 6L Steve Machin, Rockwall

15. 981 Justin Bateman, Lindale

16. 2 Grant Junghans, Manhatten, Kan.

17. 94 Dustin Huehl, Smolen, Kan.

18. 135 Richard Griffin, Melissa

19. 17p Travis Penrod, Davis, OK.

20. 2x Lyle Sheppard, Manhatten, Kan.

21. 45 Logan Cabbell, Quail

22. 68 Brandon Watson, Denison

23. 181 Sean Jones, Forest Hill

24. 89c Tate Cole, Muskogee, OK.



Modified heat races, Top 16 in passing points to A-main(Top three finishers)

1. 17x Morgan Bagley, 127 Glen Hibbard, 2x Lyle Sheppard

2. 10x Dee Gossett, 110 George White, 94 Dustin Huehl

3. 6L Steve Machin, 2 Grant Junghans, T98 Brandon Maggard

4. 17P Travis Penrod, 45 Logan Cabbell, 17 Travis Pace

5. 181 Sean Jones, 27 Greg Skaggs, 15A Larry Campbell

6. 18 Justin Boney, 99 Johnny Dunn, 1x Wesley Veal

7. 135 Richard Griffin, 98 John Allen, 7x Chris Dawson

8. 54 Dena Wilson, 11 Alan Oliva, 50 Tyler Propps

9. 56 Troy Taylor, 6 Varion Sisson, 28 Kevin Maddox

10. 89c Tate Cole, 21 Chris Brown, 703 David Smith jr.



Modified B-mains, Top 4 transfer to tail of A-main

1. 561 David Horner, 703 David Smith jr., 4g Gary Clark, 981 Justin Bateman

2. 5r Bobby Malchus, 2x Lyle Sheppard, T98 Brandon Maggard, 68 Brandon Watson



Modified C-mains, Top 4 transfer to tail of B-mains(top 4 finishers)

1. 76 Nicholas Littlejohn, 156 Steve Pugh, 7 Brendan Poole, 316 Cary Bartoo

2. 27j Jimmy Littlejohn, 89 Glen Leushner, 18x Cody Smith, 82 Brandon Houk



Taylor Tops in Limited Modified Qualifier

Local hero and hotshoe, Troy Taylor put his TMS Dirt Track experience to work as he led flag to flag for the Limited Modified A-qualifier victory. Taylor twice held off Jimmy Day on starts, then fought off Waco veteran, Keith Green at the finish for the win.



On the first attempt, Taylor got a huge jump on the field with the pack three wide from third on back causing contact that left debris on the track surface, bringing out the yellow. On the second start, Taylor only got a slight jump on Day, who tried to cross back under Taylor coming out of turn 2. Taylor held the point on lap 1 as the field ran four wide in mid-pack. Kt. Green got past Day for second lap 2, just before son Kevin spun and got drilled by Tim Clonch, who had nowhere to go.



Once back to green, Taylor jumped out on Kt. Green while Sid Kiphen looked under Day for third. Kiphen and Day made contact on lap 5 getting him sideways, but holding on, as Richard Strain got by Jimmy Criswell III for fifth. Robert Vetter then got past Criswell for sixth despite trailing some smoke. Kiphen, still looking for a way around Day, then began to try the high side. At halfway it was Taylor, Kt. Green, Day, Kiphen and Strain in the top five.



Strain got loose out of turn 2 and got sideways in front of Vetter who drove over Strain's front end before spinning into the back stretch wall. Strain was able to get straightened out and keep rolling without losing a spot as yellow waved for Vetter. Criswell got by Strain for fifth once back to racing, followed by Chris Cogburn, then Triston Dycus for seventh.



With five to go, Taylor and Kt. Green were running away from Day and Kiphen who had a big gap back to Criswell, Dycus and Cogburn. Kt. Green caught Taylor on lap 13 and gave it his best shot coming out of turn 4. Taylor held the point and Kt. Green fell back in line, appearantly content now with second, and a transfer spot. At the checkers it was Taylor by a couple car lengths getting the win,



Limited Modified A-qualifier, Top 4 locked in for Saturday's championship

1. 56T Troy Taylor, Ft. Worth

2. 55 Keith Green, Waco

3. 23m Jimmy Day, Greenville

4. 58 Sid Kiphen, Gatesville

5. 94 Triston Dycus, Dalas

6. 56 Jimmy Criswell III, Cedar Hill

7. 5c Chris Cogburn, Robinson

8. 37 Richard Strain, Ennis

9. 10 Trandel White Balch Springs

10.81 Levy Galmor, Elk City

11. 72p Jason Howell, Azle

12. 201 Tommy Gantley,

13. 95 Dan Meyer, Whitehouse

14. 46 Jason Bolden, Quinlan

15. 75 Anthony Boatman, Bullard

16. 1x Brent York, Bullard

17. 74 Ted Thomas, Post

18. 22n Nick Shenberger, Sharon, OK.

19. 96 Eddie Prator, Italy

20. V8 Robert Vetter, Wolfe City

21. 18 Tim Clonch, Quinlan

22. 35 David Hood, Jacksonville

23. 5D Kevin Green, Waco

24. 3 Logan Macy, Hennessey, OK.




Limited Modified heat races, Top 16 in passing points to A-main(Top three finishers)

1. 23M Jimmy Day, 5D Kevin Green, 56 Jimmy Criswell III

2. 58 Sid Kiphen, 22 N Nick Shenberger, 37 Richard Strain

3. 56 Troy Taylor, 5c Chris Cogburn, 18 Tim Clonch

4. 55 Keith Green, V8 Robert Vetter, 72P Jason Howell



Limited Modified B-mains, Top 4 transfer to A-main

1. 35 David Hood, 3 Logan Macy, 10 Trandel White, 74 Ted Thomas

2. 1x Brent York, 201 Tommy Gantley, 46 Jason Bolden, 95 Dan Meyer

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...