Jump to content

Night Two Duel qualifying feature honors go to Martin


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information Nov. 17, 2007

From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x213


Night Two Duel qualifying feature honors go to Martin


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (Nov. 16) – A late charge landed night two honors at

Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s Duel In The Desert special for an IMCA

Modified driver from the Sooner State.


Oklahoma veteran Eddie Martin won Friday’s 20-lap qualifying feature,

pocketing $300 and earning the outside row one starting spot in the

$5,000 to win main event on Saturday.


The top eight finishers in the qualifier advanced to the big show.

Alan Sharpensteen and Richard Papen hausen both ran at the front of

the pack before finishing right behind Martin. Conner Pullen, Jeep

Berry, Ryan McDaniel, Paul Stone and Robby Haines also secured

Saturday night spots.


Berry made the biggest move, all the way from the 24th and final

starting position. Christy Georges crossed the finish line fourth but

was disqualified in post-race tech inspection for stud girdles.


Sharpensteen led the first three circuits before giving way to

Papenhausen. Martin stayed close to the front pair before finding his

way by with four laps left.


One new entry on Friday nudged the record Modified car count for the

10th annual special to 185; the top two finishers from each of six

last-chance races will complete the starting grid for the 40-lap main



Seven states and one Canadian province are now represented, with six

of the 16 drivers already qualified coming from California.


Top 20 finishers in the EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour square off

in a special 15-lap Shootout that sports a $3,000 purse. Winners of

both the Shootout and the Duel In The Desert feature will be added to

the ballot for the 2008 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational.


Fifty-five late models saw their first action Friday, with Brad

Pounds topping the qualifying feature for that class. He’d already

raced his way into the Modified main during Thursday’s opening night




1st heat (top three) – 1. Leland Hibdon, Las Vegas; 2. Keith Brown

Sr., Pittsburg, Calif.; 3. Bill Smith III, Sparks.

2nd heat – 1. Alan Sharpensteen, Amarillo, Texas; 2. Tony Kinkade

Jr., Hesperia, Calif.; 3. Will Brack, Mead, Colo.

3rd heat – 1. Gene Kay, Yerington; 2. Paul Stone, Winton, Calif.; 3.

Chad Dolan, Gibbon, Neb.

4th heat – 1. Conner Pullen, Amarillo, Texas; 2. Ryan McDaniel,

Olivehurst, Calif.; 3. Chase Hansen, Myton, Utah.

5th heat – 1. Christy Georges, El Paso, Texas; 2. Dan Fitzgerald, Las

Vegas; 3. Jimmy Reeves, Laton, Calif.

6th heat – 1. Derek Kopp, Montrose, Colo.; 2, Robby Haines,

Benkelman, Neb.; 3. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.

7th heat – 1. Richard Papenhausen, Chico, Calif.; 2. Gary Dutton,

Bakersfield, Calif.; 3. Ray Laird, Mon trose, Colo.

8th heat – 1. Eddie Martin, Stillwell, Okla.; 2. Bryan Burnes,

LeMoore, Calif.; 3. Jeep Berry, Grand Junction, Colo.

Qualifying feature – 1. Martin; 2. Sharpensteen; 3. Papenhausen; 4.

Pullen; 5. Berry; 6. McDaniel; 7. Stone; 8. Haines; 9. Kay; 10.

Dolan; 11. Hansen; 12. Burnes; 13. Dutton; 14. Fitzgerald; 15.

Alvarado; 16. Laird; 17. Reeves; 18. Hibdon; 19. Kopp; 20. Kinkade;

21. Smith; 22. Brown; 23. Brack.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...