Jump to content

Smith Scores ASCS Sooner Win at Cowtown


Recommended Posts

Smith Scores ASCS Sooner Win at Cowtown



Lonnie Wheatley, KENNEDALE, Texas (September 15, 2007) – Broken Arrow, Oklahoma's Nick Smith captured his first feature win of the 2007 season by racing to victory lane in Saturday night's 25-lap American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region feature at Cowtown Speedway.




Smith took command at the midway point and went on to capture his first feature win since October 7 of last year.




Last year's O'Reilly ASCoT National rookie of the Year, Smith spent the opening half of the race chasing 19-year-old Eric Baldaccini, who had his sights set on a first career feature win. But Baldaccini's drive was cut short when he flipped on the 12th round while leading, bringing out the red flag in the process.




Smith assumed the point on the restart and held off Kolt Walker the rest of the way to secure his eighth career ASCS Sooner Region victory aboard the Ostrich-powered Sooner Network Solutions No. 15s J&J.




Walker was a close second, with Brian McClelland, Cody Branchcomb and 17th-starter George White rounding out the top five.




Kevin Ramey maintained a slim points lead by finishing sixth, with Brad Welborn, Ryan Hall, Michael Brown and Travis Rilat completing the top ten.




Walker, Hall, Welborn and Baldaccini topped heat race action with White winning the "B" Main.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Results from Cowtown Speedway:




Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 45x-Kolt Walker, 2. 15s-Nick Smith, 3. 87-Brian McClelland, 4. 15b-Michael Brown, 5. 1s-George White, 6. 81au-Gavin Punch, 7. 3-Cy Conditt, 8. 6-Sean Jones.




Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 79-Ryan Hall, 2. 14b-Robert Byrom, 3. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 4. 69-Larry Howery, 5. 74e-Claud Estes, 6. 64J-Johnny Miller, 7. 29au-Matt Eagle.




Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 17w-Brad Welborn, 2. 45-J.P. Bailey, 3. 25-Derek Cottrell, 4. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 5. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 6. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 7. 4-Marvin Lough.




Heat Four (8 laps): 1. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 31-Matt Clevenger, 3. 5-John Ricketts, 4. 29-Travis Rilat, 5. 35-Brad Best, 6. 68-Andy Rea. DNS: 20-Rick Barksdale.




Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 79-Ryan Hall, 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 45x-Kolt Walker, 5. 87-Brian McClelland, 6. 17w-Brad Welborn.




"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 1s-George White, 2. 35-Brad Best, 3. 81au-Gavin Punch, 4. 74e-Claud Estes, 5. 20s-Sheldon Barksdale, 6. 64J-Johnny Miller, 7. 4am-Travis Jenkins, 8. 29au-Matt Eagle, 9. 4-Marvin Lough, 10. 6-Sean Jones, 11. 3-Cy Conditt, 12. 68-Andy Rea. DNS: 20-Rick Barksdale.




"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 45x-Kolt Walker, 3. 87-Brian McClelland, 4. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 5. 1s-George White, 6. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 7. 17w-Brad Welborn, 8. 79-Ryan Hall, 9. 15b-Michael Brown, 10. 29-Travis Rilat, 11. 74e-Claud Estes, 12. 81au-Gavin Punch, 13. 69-Larry Howery, 14. 5-John Ricketts, 15. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 16. 35-Brad Best, 17. 31-Matt Clevenger, 18. 25-Derek Cottrell, 19. 45-J.P. Bailey, 20. 14b-Robert Byrom.




American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Kevin Ramey 1,523, 2. Cody Banchcomb 1,516, 3. Brian McClelland 1,510, 4. Gavin Punch 1,380, 5. Michael Brown 1,268, 6. J.P. Bailey 1,217, 7. Derek Cottrell 1,130, 8. Nick Smith 1,038, 9. Eric Baldaccini 971, 10. Sherman Davis 906.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...