Jump to content

Alvarado Aces night 2 of EQ Wild West Tour

Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information May 6, 2007

From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x225


Alvarado convincing in EQ Wild West Tour win


PRICE, Utah (May 5) – After coming up just short on opening night, Ricky Alvarado made sure the race was for second on night two of the EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Tour twinbill at Desert Thunder Raceway.


Alvarado led the last 25 times around the track in Saturday’s 30- lapper for IMCA Modifieds, taking the check ers handily ahead of Travis Metz. He’d been the runner-up, a scant half car length behind Aaron Spangler, in the Friday feature at Price.


Jeep Berry ran side by side with Alvarado before a lap 11 caution, fell back a couple spots and then raced back to third. Bubba Alvarado was fourth while “B” feature qualifiers Dan Fitzgerald and Spangler charged ahead to finish fifth and sixth, respectively.


Darrell Grebb led the first two circuits from the pole before giving way to Bubba Alvarado. Brother Ricky, the third place starter, took the front spot away on lap six with Berry and the 12th starting Metz in pursuit.


Metz moved into second following a re-start near midway. The last 15 laps ran caution free and Alvarado pulled away to the win, his second of the series. Metz was not challenged while Berry caught Bubba Alvarado for third on the final lap.


Fitzgerald battled back and forth with Spangler and Robert Gallegos before settling into fifth for good.


Fifty-three cars were checked in for the third tour event of the season. The top two in each of six heats and the top four from each of the three “B” features made the big show.


Next up on the EQ Wild West Tour schedule is the Saturday and Sunday, May 26-27 doubleheader at Az tec, N.M., Speedway.


Gates open at 4 p.m., hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing is at 7 p.m. both nights.


Feature Results –

1. Ricky Alvarado, Delta, Colo.;

2. Travis Metz, Blackfoot, Idaho;

3. Jeep Berry, Grand Junction, Colo.;

4. Bubba Alvarado, Kersey, Colo.;

5. Dan Fitzgerald, Las Vegas, Nev.;

6. Aaron Spangler, Dove Creek, Colo.;

7. Robert Gallegos, Cory, Colo.;

8. Derek Kopp, Montrose, Colo.;

9. Chase Hansen, Myton;

10. Troy McElroy, Grand Junction, Colo.;

11. Kelly Shaw, Idaho Falls, Idaho;

12. Darrell Grebb, Idaho Falls, Idaho;

13. J.R Herrera, Price;

14. Kenny Peterson, Rigby, Idaho;

15. Tyrone Yazzie, Farmington, N.M.;

16. Josh Nye, Price;

17. Kasey Baisch, Rigby, Idaho;

18. Jason Donnelly, Rigby, Idaho;

19. Bryan Hughes, Grand Junction, Colo.

20. Mickey Stubbings, Helper;

21. Dustin Safley, Helper;

22. Ryan Dimick, Wellington;

23. Kenny Parish, Price;

24. Rick Spangler, Grand Junction, Colo.

1st heat (top two) – 1. Hansen; 2. Bubba Alvarado. 2nd heat – 1. Ricky Alvarado; 2. Donnelly; 3rd heat – 1. Parish; 2. Rick Spangler. 4th heat – 1. Metz; 2. Gallegos. 5th heat – 1. Berry; 2. Grebb. 6th heat – 1. Shaw; 2. Kopp. 1st “B” feature (top four) – 1. Peterson; 2. Herrera; 3. Baisch; 4. Stubbings. 2nd “B” feature – 1. Safley; 2. Fitzgerald; 3. Dimick; 4. Yazzie. 3rd “B” feature – 1. Aaron Spangler; 2. Nye; 3. McElroy; 4. Hughes.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...