Jump to content

ASCS/WESMAR Challenge update


Recommended Posts

ASCS / Wesmar Challenge Leader Board


by Lonnie Wheatley


TULSA, Okla. (April 18, 2007) - With 17 of 238 scheduled events for the 2007 American Sprint Car Series season in the books, it's time for a quick look at the ASCS / Wesmar Challenge Leader Board.


Gary Wright leads the Challenge points in the National ranks, with Regional leaders including Michael Dupuy and Marshall Skinner (Coastal), Jason Johnson (Gulf South), Chuck Swenson (Midwest and Northern Plains), Wade Oliver and Marshall Skinner (Rebel) and Kevin Ramey (Sooner).


The top two drivers in ASCS / Wesmar Challenge points for the National Tour and each of the eleven winged Regions at the September 15 cutoff date will earn invitations to the October 13 ASCS / Wesmar Challenge at the Devil's Bowl Speedway Winter Nationals in Mesquite, TX.


The ASCS / Wesmar Challenge will be run in two 15-lap segments, with an inversion following the first segment. Passing and finishing points will be in effect for both segments, with the top points earner coming away with a new Wesmar Racing Engine.


Drivers earn points towards the Wesmar Racing Engines Challenge by earning three points for a feature win, two points for a runner-up finish and one point for each third-place feature finish. A driver must compete in at least 60% of a respective Region's events and be a registered member of the American Sprint Car Series to represent that Region in the ASCS / Wesmar Racing Engines Challenge.


Current ASCS / Wesmar Racing Engines Challenge Points:


O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National:

1. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 13

2. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 8

3. Terry McCarl (Altoona, IA) 4

4. Jake Peters (Sioux Falls, SD) 4

5. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 3

6. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 2

7. Danny Smith (Danville, IN) 2

8. Natalie Sather (Fargo, ND) 2

9. Aaron Berryhill (Broken Arrow, OK) 2

10. Chuck Swenson (Watertown, SD) 1

11. Foster Landon (Collinsville, OK) 1



ASCS Coastal Region:

1. Marshall Skinner (West Memphis, AR) 3

2. Michael Dupuy (Amite, LA) 3

3. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 2

4. Michael Miller (Ocean Springs, MS) 2

5. Terry Gray (Bartlett, TN) 1

6. Chris Sweeney (Channelview, TX) 1


ASCS Gulf South Region:

1. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 3

2. Terry Gray (Bartlett, TN) 2

3. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 1


ASCS Midwest Region:

1. Chuck Swenson (Watertown, SD) 4

2. Brian Brown (Higginsville, MO) 3

3. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 3

4. Don Droud, Jr. (Lincoln, NE) 2


ASCS Northern Plains Region:

1. Chuck Swenson (Watertown, SD) 4

2. Brian Brown (Higginsville, MO) 3

3. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 3

4. Don Droud, Jr. (Lincoln, NE) 2


ASCS Rebel Region:

1. Marshall Skinner (West Memphis, AR) 3

2. Wade Oliver (Southaven, MS) 3

3. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 2

4. T.J. Winegardner (Pierson, FL) 2

5. Terry Gray (Bartlett, TN) 1

6. Shane Morgan (Biloxi, MS) 1


American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region:

1. Kevin Ramey (Fort Worth, TX) 3

2. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 2

3. Brad Welborn (Allen, TX) 1


Five additional Regions will have season-opening events in the coming weeks, including this Sunday night's inaugural Mid-Atlantic Region event at Susquehanna Speedway Park. Upcoming season openers include:


Mid-Atlantic – Susquehanna Speedway Park, Newberrytown, PA (April 22)


Southern Tour – Virginia Motor Speedway, Saluda, VA (April 28)


Patriot – Fulton Speedway, Fulton, NY (May 5)


Rocky Mountain – Dodge City Raceway Park, Dodge City, KS (May 5)


Sprints on Dirt – Crystal Motor Speedway, Crystal, MI (May 5)


Next up for the balance of the American Sprint Car Series:


ASCoT National – Magnolia Motor Speedway, Columbus, MS (April 21)

Coastal – Southern Speedway, Hattiesburg, MS (April 20)

Gulf South – Motorama Speedway, Beaumont, TX (May 18)

Midwest – Junction Motor Speedway, McCool Junction, NE (May 25)

Northern Plains – Crawford County Speedway vs. ASCoT, Denison, IA (June 16)

Rebel – Southern Raceway, Milton, FL (May 12)

Sooner – Mid-America Speedway, South Coffeyville, OK (April 20-21)


The 2007 season is the 16th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with the series set to sanction approximately 240 nights of racing at more than 100 different race tracks throughout nearly 30 different states and Canada.


Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...