Jump to content

ASCS Sooner REgion set for Mid-America Spwy. double


Recommended Posts

ASCS Sooner Region Set for Mid-America Double



Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (April 16, 2007) – There will be some high-stakes action for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region this weekend, as the series is set for a two-night stand at Mid-America Speedway in South Coffeyville, OK, this Friday and Saturday.




Saturday night's feature offers up a $3,000 winner's share.




And after establishing a record Cowtown Speedway car count of 43 for the ASCS Sooner Region this past Saturday night in Kennedale, TX, another strong field of cars is expected for this weekend's double as the series makes the trek northward to the Oklahoma-Kansas state line.




Fort Worth's Kevin Ramey, a two-time Sooner Region champion, kicked off the season in strong fashion by collecting his 15th career ASCS Sooner Region feature win at Cowtown. Now, Ramey will try to reel in the big money at a track that has denied him victory thus far.




Travis Rilat won the first ASCS Sooner Region event at Mid-America Speedway in October 2005. Last year, Sam Hafertepe, Jr., topped the first of three events at Mid-America on the way to the Sooner Region crown, with Broken Arrow's Nick Smith victorious in the final two Mid-America stops of '06.




Along with Ramey, past ASCS Sooner Region champions expected to be on hand include Sean McClelland and J.P. Bailey. A number of championship hopefuls will be gunning for the big money as well, including Brian McClelland, Cody Branchcomb, Johnny Miller, Kenneth Walker, Sherman Davis, Eric Baldaccini, Derek Cottrell and Michael Brown.




Both nights of racing action are slated to get under way at 7:00 p.m.




The semi-banked, 3/10-mile Mid-America Speedway clay oval is located one mile south of the Oklahoma-Kansas state line on US 169, then 0.7 miles west. For more information, contact the track at 918-255-6698.




The 2007 schedule for the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region consists of 18 events at eight different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Texas and Arkansas.




The 2007 season marks the 16th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series. With a dozen different Regions in addition to the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series, ASCS will sanction approximately 240 nights of racing at more than 100 different race tracks throughout at least 30 different states and Canada.




Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...