Jump to content

ASCoT ready for Boll Weevil Rumble @ Magnolia Motor Spwy.


Recommended Posts

O'Reilly ASCoT Ready for Boll Weevil Rumble at Magnolia Motor Speedway



Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (April 16, 2007) – The O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series brings the best in Sprint Car racing action to Columbus, Mississippi this Saturday night, taking to the 3/8-mile, semi-banked Magnolia Motor Speedway clay oval for the first time in the track's annual Boll Weevil Rumble.




While Gary Wright, Wayne Johnson and Jason Johnson lead a stellar contingent of ASCS National Tour traveling stars, former National Tour runner-up Michael Dupuy leads the ASCS Coastal Region contingent into the event.




With seven of 46 scheduled nights of racing for the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour already in the books, Gary Wright of Hooks, TX, has broken out to a 43-point lead as he chases another $50,000 championship.




But a number of top drivers will try deny Wright a third consecutive ASCS National title, including 2000 series champion Wayne Johnson of Oklahoma City. Johnson is currently ranked second and topped the series most recent event, State Fair Speedway's Second Annual Spring Nationals in Oklahoma City on March 24.




South Dakota's Chuck Swenson is third right now, with Bixby, Oklahoma shoe Darren Stewart currently riding fourth. Stewart snared an ASCS Regional win at Magnolia Motor Speedway last September in just the second Sprint Car event ever held at the facility.




Just six points off Stewart's pace in fifth is 2003 ASCS National champion Travis Rilat from Forney, TX. Last year's series runner-up, Louisiana's Jason Johnson, is currently sixth, with the balance of the top ten including Foster Landon (Collinsville, OK), Garry Lee Maier (Cimarron, KS), Andy Shouse (Oklahoma City, OK) and Danny Jennings (Norman, OK).




Landon currently holds the edge in the Brodix Rookie of the Year battle over fellow rookie contenders Shouse and Canada's Chris Schmelzle. Last year's Rookie of the Year, Oklahoma's Nick Smith, enters Saturday's card ranked twelfth.




With a win in the most recent ASCS Coastal Region event, Michael Dupuy of Amite, LA, leads the Coastal contingent with other top contenders including Michael Herrington, Robert Casada, Shane Morgan and Todd Fayard.




Several Memphis-area racers will vie for O'Reilly ASCoT victory honors as well, including Byhalia, Mississippi's Dale Howard, who won the first Sprint Car race ever held at Magnolia Motor Speedway during last year's Boll Weevil Rumble.




The Series:




O’Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour (ASCoT)




When & Where:




Saturday night, April 21 at 7:00 p.m. – Magnolia Motor Speedway




Track Information:




Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, MS) – 3/8-mile semi-banked clay oval located five miles west of Columbus, MS, on US 82, then 0.4 miles south on US 45, then east on SR 182. Track phone: 662-328-0376.




O’Reilly ASCoT Magnolia Motor Speedway History:




After kicking off the 2007 season atop familiar territory (East Bay, Devil's Bowl and State Fair Speedway), it's time to take on some new venues. Magnolia Motor Speedway's Boll Weevil Rumble will be the first of eleven tracks that the ASCS National Tour will visit for the first time over the course of the 2007 season.




While it is the National Tour's first stop at Magnolia Motor Speedway, the track hosted a pair of ASCS Regional events in 2006. Last April, Byhalia, Mississippi's Dale Howard won the first Sprint Car feature in track history by beating younger brother Jan Howard to the line in the annual Boll Weevil Rumble. Dale Howard tried to double up during the Labor Day weekend event, only to have Darren Stewart snare the win with a late pass for the lead after starting deep in the grid.




Magnolia Motor Speedway O'Reilly ASCoT Race-by-Race Winners: None – first event.




Current O’Reilly ASCoT Points (After 7 of 46 Nights):




Top Fifteen: 1. Gary Wright (Hooks, TX) 727, 2. Wayne Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) 684, 3. Chuck Swenson (Watertown, SD) 654, 4. Darren Stewart (Bixby, OK) 641, 5. Travis Rilat (Forney, TX) 635, 6. Jason Johnson (Eunice, LA) 613, 7. Foster Landon (Collinsville, OK) 559, 8. Garry Lee Maier (Cimarron, KS) 520, 9. Andy Shouse (Oklahoma City, OK) 496, 10. Danny Jennings (Norman, OK) 492, 11. Johnny Miller (Burleson, TX) 480, 12. Nick Smith (Broken Arrow, OK) 466, 13. Kevin Ramey (Fort Worth, TX) 453, 14. Natalie Sather (Fargo, ND) 451, 15. Chris Schmelzle (Victoria, BC) 424.




Top Ten Owners Points: 1. Wright #9 727, 2. H&H Enterprises #94 684, 3. Swenson #X 654, 4. Sparks #91 641, 5. Rilat #29 635, 6. Row #41 613, 7. Landon Racing #11F 559, 8. Lubbock Wrecker Service #11x 520, 9. Shouse #27 496, 10. Jennings #61J 492.




2007 O’Reilly ASCoT Feature Winners:




Gary Wright 3, Wayne Johnson 2, Terry McCarl 1, Jake Peters 1.




ASCoT Coming Up:




April 27 67 Texarkana Speedway (Texarkana, AR)


April 28 I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)


May 11 State Fair Speedway (Oklahoma City, OK)


May 12 Devil's Bowl Speedway (Mesquite, TX)


May 18 Black Rock Speedway (Dundee, NY)

May 19 Black Rock Speedway (Dundee, NY)


May 24 Susquehanna Speedway Park (Newberrytown, PA)


May 25 Virginia Motor Speedway (Saluda, VA)


May 26 Virginia Motor Speedway (Saluda, VA)






The O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series is currently slated for 46 nights of racing action at 24 different tracks throughout 16 different states, with more than $1,000,000 in purse money and point fund to be distributed during the 2007 season.


The 2007 season marks the 16th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series. With 13 different Regions in addition to the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series, ASCS will sanction approximately 240 nights of racing at more than 100 different race tracks throughout at least 30 different states and Canada.




Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...