Jump to content

ASCS Canyon Region @ Manzy


Recommended Posts

Sherman Charges to ASCS Canyon Region Win at Manzanita


Lonnie Wheatley, PHOENIX, Ariz. (March 31, 2007) – Jeremy Sherman notched his second American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region triumph in as many tries by taking victory honors in Saturday night's 25-lap feature atop Manzanita Speedway's ½-mile clay oval.




But after wiring the field in the series opener on the 1/3-mile three weeks ago, "The Shermanator" had to work for this one by racing from the sixth row to deny Mike Leslie's bid for the win.




After winning the pole dash, Leslie led the feature field to the green flag with Jeff Henry alongside as Sherman gridded the field outside the sixth row. Leslie gunned into the early lead, only to have action interrupted after four rounds when Henry and Chad Boat tangled in turn three while dicing for second, with both flipping wildly. There were no injuries.




Back under way, Leslie continued to set the pace. But Sherman was on the move and as lapped traffic came into play, Sherman entered the mix for the lead. Sherman sliced through the field and reeled in the leader, putting Fred Bryan's F&E Development/Impact Racing No. 77 Maxim in front with ten laps remaining.




Sherman led the rest of the way, with Leslie settling for runner-up honors. Shon Deskins took the show position, with Michael Colegrove racing from 11th to claim fourth.




Bernie Smith rounded out the top five, while "B" Feature winner R.J. Johnson raced from 17th to sixth. Also transferring from the "B" Main, Mike Martin rallied from 18th to seventh, with rookie shoe Jeremy Reagles, Chris Bonneau and Josh Pelkey completing the top ten.




Brandon Lane, Seainn Hendricsen, Boat and Pelkey topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Johnson acing the "B" Main. Daniel Williams went for a wild ride in the "B" Main, emerging unscathed.




ASCS Canyon Region Results from Manzanita Speedway:




Heat Winners: 97-Brandon Lane, 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 30-Chad Boat, 52-Josh Pelkey.




Pole Dash: 1. 76-Mike Leslie, 2. 12-Jeff Henry, 3. 62-Shon Deskins, 4. 78-Chris Bonneau, 5. 30-Chad Boat, 6. 52-Josh Pelkey, 7. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 8. 97-Brandon Lane.




"B" Feature: 1. 15-R.J. Johnson, 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 6x-J.T. Imperial, 4. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 5. 72-Michael Bonneau, 6. 97x-Don Earven, 7. 6-Scott Oliver, 8. 26az-Bobby Taylor, 9. 74-Derek Williams, 10. 41-Joshua Williams, 11. 45-Kevin Wolfe, 12. 61-Darrin Bolton, 13. 34-Daniel Williams, 14. 7a-Jessica Zemken.




“A†Feature (25 Laps): 1. 77-Jeremy Sherman, 2. 76-Mike Leslie, 3. 62-Shon Deskins, 4. 2-Michael Colegrove, 5. 14-Bernie Smith, 6. 15-R.J. Johnson, 7. 16-Mike Martin, 8. 44-Jeremy Reagles, 9. 78-Chris Bonneau, 10. 52-Josh Pelkey, 11. 7k-Bruce St. James, 12. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 13. 48-Thomas Ogle, 14. 6x-J.T. Imperial, 15. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 16. 72-Michael Bonneau, 17. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 18. 97x-Don Earven, 19. 6-Scott Oliver, 20. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 21. 12-Jeff Henry, 22. 30-Chad Boat, 23. 26az-Bobby Taylor, 24. 97-Brandon Lane.




ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jeremy Sherman 300, 2. Mike Leslie 280, 3. Michael Colegrove 278, 4. (tie) Josh Pelkey, Shon Deskins and Jeremy Reagles 274, 7. R.J. Johnson 270, 8. Mike Martin 264, 9. Bob Ream, Jr. 252, 10. Seainn Hendricsen 250.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...