Jump to content

Alvarado Earns Spring Nationals pole @ Beatrice Spwy.


Recommended Posts

For Immediate Release/Your Information March 17, 2007

From Bill Martin, IMCA Public Relations 319 472-2201, x225


Alvarado earns pole start for Spring Nationals Modified main


BEATRICE, Neb. (March 16) – Ricky Alvarado will start from the pole in his bid for the first place trophy and $5,000 top prize in the IMCA Modified main event at Beatrice Speedway’s Spring Nationals special.


The Denton, Colo., pilot took the checkers ahead of four time race winner Johnny Saathoff in the Friday dash to earn the coveted spot. The top nine finishers qualified for the feature, with Kyle Berck, Dan Nelson, Dave Hardesty, Jordan Grabouski, Randy Brands, Robert Hellebust and Marlyn Seidler also making Sunday’s big show.


More than 80 Modifieds were on hand for opening night action at the 14th annual event. The top two from each of 10 heat races and the winners of the four “B†features advanced to the dash; this evening’s program will set the front nine on the outside row, with the back five rows in the starting field of 28 cars determined in last chance races on Sunday.


After winning the fifth heat, Alvarado drew the pole for the dash and led the 25 lapper from start to finish. Berck challenged early, with Nelson and Steven Pfeifer joining the chase. Saathoff was into fifth place on lap six as the front runners were nose to tail on the bottom of the track.


Saathoff took the fourth spot just before midway, then passed Nelson and Berck for second following a lap 21 restart. Alvarado stayed strong at the front, however, scoring the win by a comfortable three- plus car lengths.


Dave Trauernicht, second behind Alvarado after starting deep in their heat, finished behind fellow Abilene Speedway Ice Breaker feature winner Grabouski in the feature, then relinquished the guaranteed place in Sunday’s field for a shot at a better starting spot through tonight’s qualifying.


Austin Kurtzer of Nebraska City took the lead back on the last lap to top Friday’s $200 to win feature for IMCA Sport Compacts.


Kurtzer ran in front most of the way before Willy Moore snuck by with three laps left.


Moore slowed with a flat tire just before the white flag. Both drivers then had to avoid the rolled car of Seth Ambrose in the middle of turns one and two that brought the contest to a complete stop.


Kurtzer kept the point following the restart, followed by Corey Burch and Will McConnell across the finish line.


Saturday’s card also sports qualifying for the inaugural $600 to win IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stock Challenge. Pit gates open at 2:30 p.m., hot laps are at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 5:30 p.m.


On Sunday, gates open at 11 a.m. and racing begins at 1 p.m. for the Modifieds and Hobby Stocks.


Winner of the Modified feature at Spring Nationals qualifies for the 2007 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot.


IMCA Modified Pole Dash –

1. Ricky Alvarado, Denton, Colo.;

2. Johnny Saathoff, Beatrice;

3. Kyle Berck, Marquette;

4. Dan Nelson, Beatrice;

5. Dave Hardesty, Minneapolis, Kan.;

6. Jordan Grabouski, Beatrice;

7. Randy Brands, Boyden, Iowa;

8. Robert Hellebust, Kenmare, N.D.;

9. Marlyn Seidler, Minot, N.D.;

10. Chris Mills, Sioux City, Iowa;

11. Jeremy Mills, Garner, Iowa;

12. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.;

13. Stacey Wilhelm, Martell;

14. Jeff Jones, Council Bluffs, Iowa;

15. Dan Ratajczak, Luxemburg, Wis.;

16. Jay Goosmann, Hinton, Iowa;

17. Mike Heideman, Seneca, Kan.;

18. John Fabrizius, Colby, Kan.;

19. Joren Boyce, Minot, N.D.;

20. Bob Zoubek, Dorchester;

21. Robert Brinkman, LaVista;

22. Ronnie Wallace, North Platte;

23. Dave Trauernicht, Beatrice;

24. Steven Pfeifer, West Fargo, N.D.


Heat Race Results (top 2)

1st heat – 1. Wilhelm; 2. Jones.

2nd heat – 1. Hardesty; 2. Boyce.

3rd heat – 1. Berck; 2. Jordy Nelson.

4th heat – 1. Brands; 2. Ratajczak.

5th heat – 1. Alvarado; 2. Trauernicht.

6th heat – 1. Grabouski; 2. Seidler.

7th heat – 1. Saathoff; 2. Wallace.

8th heat – 1. Dan Nelson; 2. Hellebust.

9th heat – 1. Chris Mills; 2. Jeremy Mills.

10th heat – 1. Pfeifer; 2. Zoubek.


“B†feature winners

1st “B†– Fabrizius.

2nd “B†– Brinkman.

3rd “B†– Goosmann.

4th “B†– Heideman.


IMCA Sport Compact Feature –

1. Austin Kurtzer, Nebraska City;

2. Corey Burch, Junction City, Kan.;

3. Will McConnell, Omaha;

4. Scott Parde, Beatrice;

5. Josh Wiens, Beatrice;

6. Alex Loveless, Lincoln, Kan.;

7. Janie Fralin, Beatrice;

8. Jason Sand, Beatrice;


9. Willy Moore, Exira, Iowa;

10. Seth Ambrose, Jansen;

11. Peter Kruse, Deshler;

12. Jacob Harms, Beatrice;

13. Steve Swarthout, Fairbury;

14. Joshua Schlotfeld, Omaha;

15. Rusty Hodges, Beatrice.



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...