Jump to content

Texas Thunder Spwy. results/recap 8-23-03

Recommended Posts

Texas Thunder Speedway 8-23-03

By J M Hallas

Rookie Contender Scores Second Weekend Win

Killeen, Texas. Hardy Henderson and Tim Carmen jr led the 15 car field to green, with Henderson quickly grabbing the lead. But Carmen stalled and rolled to a stop in turn 2 for a complete restart. Henderson and Ken Old the tried for a second start with Danny Gribble from row two pulling a slide job to grab the top spot. But again Carmen had trouble as he went over the back stretch hill. The third try was more successful as Henderson got the lead on lap 1. It was a short-lived lead as Gribble used the low side to get by on lap 2.


PJ Egbert, Glen Allen and Greg Atwood battled three wide for fifth spot with Egbert getting the position. Old got by Henderson for second on lap 6, pulling PJ Egbert along to third. Gribble was beginning to pull away when Henderson slipped and fell back to 11th. Just before halfway Old and PJ egbert were side by side for second as the caution flew for a spin by Allen Waltermire in turn three.


As the race restarted the crossed flags were shown with Gribble, PJ Egbert, Atwood, Old and George Egbert in the top five, with Old and Atwood door to door for third. They stayed together for lap 11 as PJ Egbert tried to get by low on Gribble. Once Atwood secured third, the top three then started to ease away.


With five to go Gribble was on the low groove, PJ Egbert on the high side and Atwood looking for a way around both. PJ Egbert grabbed the lead on lap 16 as he shot by Gribble on the high side and nearly got squeezed into the wall. From there PJ Egbert went on to take his second win of the weekend in his Phils Paint & Body/Cooper & Bright Plumbing/E & E Racing/Zip Car Wash/Big Tex Autoplex/Signs by Nate/Graphics by Summer/Excaliber Chassis.


After the checkers fell it looked like they were giving away free hot dogs and beer at the claim barrel with six drivers pulling to the area. In the end it was Keith White claiming the motor of Old and Carmen claiming Egbert's winning motor.


1 PJ Egbert

2 Danny Gribble

3 Greg Atwood

4 Ken Old

5 Keith White

6 Ben Ketteman

7 Glen Allen

8 Allen Essenberg

9 Mitch Hardman

10 Allen Waltermire

11 Tim Carmen

12 Glen Derks

13 George Egbert

14 Mike McCarthy

15 Hardy Henderson



The 15 lap, 15 car IMCA Stock feature started with Joe Brockett and Chris Simmerman on the front row. Brockett grabbed the early lead, while Trevor Egbert, Donald Lewis and C. Simmerman battled three wide for second. The caution was quickly out on lap 1, as Jason Batt added a new page to the “Just when you thought you’d seen it all” annuls, when he exploded a transmission, dropping nearly the entire transmission and bell housing out on the track, scattering a million pieces and fluid along the front stretch. Batt was uninjured despite having a big hole torn in the floorpan in the foot area.

T. Egbert tried Brockett below the oil on the restart, with Andrew Simmerman joining the fight for the top spot. It was three wide for the lead on lap 3, with T. Egbert getting the advantage on lap 4. A. Simmerman, who had moved into second, slipped up allowing Jason Bogard and Brockett to get by for second and third. At halfway it was T. Egbert, Bogard, Brockett, A. Simmerman and Gary Simmerman in the top five positions.

Richard Riley brought out the yellow at the mid point, when he went over the bank on the back stretch. T. Egbert held the lead on the restart, until he had a flat right front, handing the top spot over to Bogard. Bogard then began to edge away as Brockett, G. Simmerman and Phil Egbert scrapped it out for third.

C. Simmerman brought out the final caution on lap 12 when he spun in front of the field. Everyone was able to get by cleanly, a credit to all the drivers. On the three lap shootout to the checkers, Brockett tried to get by Bogard on the low side, but got hung low and fell back. Bogard went to grab the victory, but lose the motor to Riley via the claim.


IMCA Stock

1 Jason Bogard

2 Gary Simmerman

3 Phil Egbert

4 Trace Crawford

5 Cham Savage jr

6 Eric Jones

7 Andrew Simmerman

8 Joe Brockett

9 Chris Simmerman

10 Richard Riley

11 Donald Lewis

12 Trevor Egbert

13 Derrick Sears

14 Jason Batt


The Street Stock main seemed like the race none wanted to win, with four drivers leading in final laps. Joe Fuller got the lead at the start while points leader, Floyd Pruitt and Robert Simmerman worked their way up from mid pack starts. With five to go, Fuller slid high in turns 1-2, with Pruitt getting by. Pruitt lead lasted about 500' when he broke handing the lead over to R. Simmerman. Simmerman’s lead lasted till the final lap when Justin Redman was able to get by. Despite breaking something in the front suspension, Redman went on to grab the checkers.


Street Stock

1 Justin Redman

2 Joe Fuller

3 Jeff Currier

4 Rick Michael

5 Robert Simmerman

6 Chris Moore

7 Scott Cooper

8 Bart Dixon

9 Brian Fuller

10 David Gricks

11 Michael Walter

12 Floyd Pruitt

13 Tim Carmen jr

14 Wayne Neff

15 Nathan Billingsley

16 Brad Dewald--DNS

17 Ty Hawkey--DNS


Texas Thunder Speedway’s, 2003 Thunder Stock Queen of the Hill, Robin Rasmussen, scored her third win of the season. Rasmussen battled side by side with early leader Tony Hamil until securing the spot on lap 4. Trevor Sparkman closed in challenging Rasmussen for the lead throughout the race. But Rasmussen used the high groove and ran a smooth line to hold off Sparkman and all the other guys to take the win.


Thunder Stock #1

1 Robin Rasmussen

2 Trevor Sparkman

3 Jeff Medlock

4 Justin Wierenga

5 Danny Colburn

6 Tony Hamil

7 Tracey Cole

8 Jeremy Adkins

9 Jason Bernal

10 Andy Blaisdell


In the Thunder Stock main #2 Corey Stephan got by early leader David Cowen on lap 3. Stephan then had to hold off the charges off Danny Dunn till the finish. Dunn tried to get by Stephan low, unsuccessfully in the final laps as Stephan went on to grab top honors.


Thunder Stock #2

1 Corey Stephan

2 Danny Dunn

3 Jesse James Cox Jr

4 Jeff Craig

5 Terri Dillard

6 Patti Hamlin

7 Terri Garvin

8 David Cowen

9 Bobby Norton

10 Ronnie Ellis

11 Robert Garcia


Jeremy O’Brien took the lead in Mini Stock main, then held off Billy White as the two battled side by side with 2 to go, with O’Brien’s getting his first ever win.


Mini Stock

1 Jeremy O'Brien

2 Billy White

3 Larry Ware

4 Daniel Shipler

5 Michael Crandell

6 Bill Sigman

7 Steve Moore

8 Joseph Gregoire

9 Marilyn Holden

10 Jason Hoffman

11 Jesus Dones

12 Guy Frederick

13 Chris Nutting

14 Kenny Ware

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...