Jump to content

TSRS @ SAS Results 8-16-03

Recommended Posts

Texas Super Racing Series @ San Antonio Speedway 8-16-03

By J M Hallas

New Face in TSRS Winners Circle

San Antonio, Texas. Thirty-two cars timed in on the high-banked ½ mile oval with SAS regular Robert Barker setting fast time in his Chapperal Electric/Cambridge Auto Center/Mike Plumbing Service/Oval Components/Monte Carlo. Barker ran a quick 20.28, just shy of the TSRS record of Todd McLemore’s 20.204. Beau Bukowski had a top five qualifying spot until tech found him to have an illegal carb. For the invert, an 11 was rolled on the dice putting him back and placing Robert Stewart and Ian Webster on the front row.

It didn’t take long for action to get started, when the green flew Casey Smith missed a shift and the pack stacked up. Brian Schild got turned in front of the field, David Sevilla launched across the front of B. Schild, while Teresa Gural, Leland Waddell, Allen Alexander, Jeremy Hernandez and Michael Jones all got part of the action and suffering damage. Steve Sims and Bukowski both spun to avoid the pile. All drivers were OK, but B. Schild, A. Alexander and Sevilla were done early.

On the second try, Stewart got into turn one first, with Tommy Gural following to grab second. It wasn’t long till the front runners started into lap traffic, with some of the crippled cars running slow. Points leader, Jeff Pollard got by Webster for third on lap 5, with Mike Yale trying to fill the hole too but Webster was able to hold off Yale. Pollard then started to hound To. Gural for second and got his chance when To. Gural got hung up behind a slower car. Webster and Yale also took advantage getting by To. Gural who fell back to fifth.

Pollard was tarting to reel in Stewart for the point and caught another break when Tommy Temple spun to bring out a quick caution on lap 13. On the restart Stewart got a good jump and got a fairly big lead back until lapped traffic slowed him. Pollard closed quickly and coming out of turn four as the two battled for lead Pollard made contact with Stewart. Stewart spun and got drilled by David Edwards, while Pollard slammed the wall, putting all three out for the night.

Webster inherited the lead as the race went back to green at halfway, with Yale, To. Gural, Barker and Ronnie New rounding out the top five. Yale quickly got by Webster while Barker and New were able to get around To. Gural for third and fourth. Yale then started to inch away while Webster, New and Barker battled nose to tail for second. The yellow flew again on lap 40 when Steve Riggs spun on the front stretch and rebunched the field.

Yale got out to big lead back under green as Webster slid high and fell back with a deflating tire. Barker put the pressure on New for second, with a good battle going on for 7th-10th between Waddell, Lloyd Alexander, Don Fowler and Bukowski. With 10 to go Barker got by New and went in search of Yale who had built a good lead.

Yale got slowed up by a lap car allowing Barker to cut the lead from 3 ½ seconds down to 2 seconds. Barker was closing fast and got a big break when Shawn Lehman stopped on the front straight, causing Riggs to spin with four laps to go. Barker hung on to Yale’s bumper when the green flew as both pulled away from New. Barker could never mount a serious challenge as Yale took his first TSRS victory piloting the Lone Star/ DC Eagle Paint & Body/ Monte Carlo.

1 Mike Yale

2 Robert Barker---Fast Qualifier, started 11th with invert

3 Ronnie New

4 Tommy Gural

5 Jamie Fuller

6 Brad Hudek

7 Lloyd Alexander

8 Beau Bukowski

9 Leland Waddell

10 Don Fowler

11 Teresa Gural

12 Jeff Wills

13 Gary Harvey

14 Jeremy Hernandez

15 Steve Riggs

16 Tommy Temple

17 Steve Sims

18 Ian Webster

19 Chris Schild

20 Michael Jones

21 Shawn Lehman

22 Kyle Carter

23 Casey Smith

24 David Edwards

25 Robert Stewart

26 Jeff Pollard

27 Richard Hearn

28 David Sevilla

29 Allen Alexander

30 Brian Schild


*****Results unofficial until Chuckie okays them*****

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Here are the official results from TSRS:





Contact: Chuck Licata, 512-736-8230


Texas Super Racing Series-Race #7 Official Results

Saturday, Aug. 16 at San Antonio Speedway (60 lap feature race)

Next race: Sat. Sept. 6th at Houston Motor Speedway


1. Mike Yale, Houston, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

2. Robert Barker, Boerne, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

3. Ronnie New, Austin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

4. Tommy Gural, Elgin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

5. Jamie Fuller, Converse, Pontiac Grand Prix, 60 laps

6. Brad Hudak, Kingwood, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

7. Lloyd Alexander, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

8. Beau Bukowski, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

9. Leland Waddell, Austin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

10. Don Fowler, Rockwall, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

11. Teresa Gural, Elgin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

12. Jeff Wills, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

13. Gary Harvey, Seguin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 60 laps

14. Jeremy Hernandez, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 59 laps

15. Steve Riggs, San Antonio, Oldsmobile, 59 laps

16. Tommy Temple, Corpus Christi, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 58 laps

17. Steve Sims, Austin, Chevrolet Camaro, 58 laps

18. Ian Webster, Spring, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 57 laps

19. Chris Schild, Austin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 52 laps

20. Michael Jones, Austin, Pontiac Grand Prix, 48 laps

21. Shawn Paul Lehman, Manchaca, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 45 laps

22. Kyle Carter, Sinton, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 44 laps

23. Casey Smith, Austin, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 22 laps

24. David Edwards, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 18 laps

25. Robert Stewart, Austin, Chevrolet Camaro, 10 laps

26. Jeff Pollard, Houston, Pontiac Grand Prix, 10 laps

27. Richard Hearn, Elmendorf, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 5 laps

28. David Sevilla, Jr., San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 1 lap

29. Allen Alexander, San Antonio, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 0 laps

30. Brian Schild, Waller, Chevrolet Monte Carlo, 0 laps


Media notes: This was Mike Yale's first win of the season...Two cars--David

Snookhouse and Ronald DeLeon--broke in practice and did not start the

race...Robert Barker won the pole in qualifying (fast time of 20.28

seconds). He missed setting the TSRS qualifying mark at SAS, which is 20.204

(Todd McLemore, Austin)....

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...