Jump to content

Texana Raceway Park Report

Recommended Posts

Race Results – Texana Raceway Park – Saturday April 29th




The Number of Cars Racing at Texana Raceway Park Continues to Grow. By Bill Morris








For the third race in a row the number of cars traveling to the South Texas dirt track continued to grow, with the number of competitors approaching the 100 mark. Track officials treated race fans to two dozen race events including the preliminary heat events and the exciting feature events.




The popular Dwarf Cars started the largest field with 17 drivers taking the green flag for their 20 lap feature event. San Antonio’s Dave Tedford held off all challengers to take top honors ahead of Markham’s Steve Gilbert and El Campo’s Jason Conrad. Conrad returned to competition after taking a year off, but returned to run with the leaders.




In the Mini-Stock feature event Victoria’s Nick Moore parked his Mustang in the winners circle ahead of Port Lavaca’s Buddy Mosley and Victoria’s Emily Hayes. In other Stock Car action, Monty Charberlain, of Louise, lead the bomber division from the “green to the checkered” to take his third feature win in a row. Following Chamberlain to the finish line was Angleton’s Bobby Coe, with Bastrops’ Danny Bennett rounding out the top three finishers.




The results of the Retro Racing action in the Super Coupes competition put Troy Baugh, of San Antonio in the winners circle, ahead of San Antonio neighbor Tom Yudizky and Spring Branch’s Duane Dixon. Race fans enjoyed a peek into the past as the Super Coupes showed them how it used to be.




A record number of Hot Stock Trucks took the green flag for the 12 lap feature event, but early mechanical problems eliminated Victoria’s Bob Ort from an opportunity to add to his string of feature wins. With Ort in the pits, Victoria’s Jimmie Rogers captured top honors ahead of 2005 Track Champion Darryl Davis of Victoria. Rounding out the top three finishers was Glenn Repka, also of Victoria.




The exciting Super Stock feature event was won by El Campo’s Adam Perks, followed by defending Track Champion Ken Densman of Victoria, and Edna’s Eric Floyd. In Late Model action Victoria’s Kevin Migura continued to give the other competitors dirt track racing lessons. Leading from start to finish, he was the class of the field. Following Migura to a distant second place was Inez’s Buck McFarlin ahead of Victoria’s Rory Jordan.




In the always competitive Street Stock feature, Austin’s AJ Dancer made a late race pass of Edna’s GW Hessong to take the checkered flag. Finishing third was Rosharon’s Johnny Gay.




In IMCA Sport Modified action Cuero’s Aaron Hudgeons retained his points lead with a feature win. Hudgeons was followed to the finish line by team mate Shane Hoefling from Meyersville and Lake Jackson’s Cody Hildebrant. In the IMCA Sunoco Modifieds, defending 2005 Track champion, Micky Helms took top honors in the 20 lap feature ahead of Art Rodriguez and Manville’s Earl Whatley.




The next racing event for the Texana Raceway Park is scheduled for Saturday, May 13th. It will be ladies night at the track with the first 100 ladies receiving a beautiful carnation, courtesy of “All About Flowers” of Edna. Texana Raceway Park is located on State Highway 111, three miles southeast of Highway 59. Races start at 8:00 pm.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...