Jump to content

Jack Dishman wins TPS at THR

Recommended Posts

Jack Dishman wins his fifth TPS Race at THR


Thunder Hill Raceway, Kyle, Texas (May 7, 2005)

By: Neil Upchurch, Texas Pro Sedans – Race Director


After a one week rain delay, the Texas Pro Sedans touring series returned to Thunder Hill Raceway on Saturday night, May 7th. It was their first appearance of eight

scheduled races during the 2005 season at the 3/8 mile track in Kyle, Texas. TPS presented their second largest field this season with 21 cars signing in at the Thunder Hill Raceway pit office.


Qualifying Heat Races saw the feature race pole position won by Sergio Hexsel. Hexsel would hold the Feature Race lead until engine problems forced him to the pits on lap #14. The feature race outside front row position was won by Donnie Moore of Hutto, Texas. Moore would end his Feature Race bid for the lead on his roof in a spectacular lap seven crash at the wheel of the George Merrell VW Scirocco. He collided with the VW Sedan driven by Candi Hogan of Cedar Park, Texas. She had just piled into the spun out #22 Ford Mustang driven by Harry Osborne Jr of San Antonio. Both Moore and Hogan were taken to nearby hospitals for further examination. In spite of being involved in the most severe crash in TPS history, Moore retains his TPS points lead over Lalo Leal by five markers with six months of races remaining.


The Texas Pro Sedans Feature Race winner was Jack Dishman of Devine, Texas. It was his fifth race victory in TPS competition. He drove his tube framed, after-market head equipped Ford Mustang. TPS charter member Mike Knotts was runner-up, only ¾ of a second behind Dishman in his VW Scirocco. Third went to Mike O’Connor of Weatherford, Texas in his Ford Taurus. Mustang drivers Bryce Dishman placed 4th followed by Lalo Leal with a finish in 5th. Six time TPS Champion Bill LaBarge of Bryan came back from a poor race #1 at Corpus Christi to bring his BMW to the finish line in 6th place. Nine TPS drivers completed the race on the lead lap. Turning in creditable performances were Tom Johnson in his VW Rabbit with a 7th. 8th went to Eddie Orr from Weatherford in his Ford T Bird. 9th place was claimed by #30 Chip Harmon in his #30 Ford Mustang. Harmon leads in the TPS “Rookie of the Year” points chase.


The 20 lap TPS feature was run with the need for three caution flag periods and a red flag occasioned by the three car crash and flip at turn #2 involving Moore, Hogan and Osburn.


The San Antonio based Texas Pro Sedans touring series is conducting it’s 30th consecutive year of four cylinder stock car racing in Texas and the southwest. The Thunder Hill Raceway event was the second race of the 2005 TPS season. Ten more races remain to be run.


The next Texas Pro Sedans race will be held on Saturday night, May 14 at San Antonio

Speedway. The event will mark the return to SAS for the only scheduled TPS 2005 race at the high banked half mile oval south of the Alamo City.


On May 28, the TPS Series returns to the Thunder Hill Raceway D shaped asphalt oval.


TPS Results showing

Finishing Position - Car # - Driver/Hometown/Type Car/Engine CC & Feature Laps


1 - 2 - Jack Dishman/Devine, TX/Ford Mustang/2338-20 Laps

2 - 48 -Mike Knotts/Universal City, TX/ VW Scirocco/1648-20 Laps

3 - O7 - Mike O'Connor/Weatherford, TX/Ford Taurus/2030-20 Laps

4 - 1 - Bryce Dishman/Devine, TX/Ford Mustang/2349-20 Laps

5 - 26 - Lalo Leal/Corpus Christi, TX/Ford Mustang/2338-20 Laps

6 - 27 - Bill Labarge/Bryan, TX/BMW/2085-20 Laps

7 - 15 - r Tom Johnson/Kingsland, TX/VW Rabbit/1825-20 Laps

8 - O1 -r Eddie Orr/Weatherford, TX/Ford T Bird/2030-20 Laps

9 - 30 - r Chip Harmon/Portland, TX/Ford Pinto/2300-20 Laps

10 - 29 - Rico Guiterrez/Corpus Christi, TX/Ford Mustang/2338-20 Laps

11 - 78 - Harlon Hatcher/Converse, TX/VW Sedan/1641-18 Laps

12 - 38 - Dave Parks/San Antonio, TX/Datsun 510/1800-18 Laps

13 - 52m-Bruce Mabrito/San Antonio, TX/VW Karmen Ghia/1776-18

14 - 7 - Jesse Sandoval/ Corpus Christi, TX/Ford Pinto/2338-17 Laps

15 - 20 - Sergio Hexsel/San Antonio, TX/VW Rabbit/2042-14 Laps

16 - 33 - Jamie Garner/San Antonio, TX/2005 VW Sedan/1780-14 Laps

17 - 70 - Donnie Moore/ Hutto, TX/VW Scirocco/1710- 7 Laps

18 - 22 - r Harry Osburn Jr/San Antonio, TX/Ford Mustang/2338 -7 Laps

19 - 72 - Candi Hogan/Cedar Park, TX/VW Sedan/2160-7 Laps

20 - 19 - r Lloyd Hart/San Antonio/Honda CRX/1834/4Valve-0 Laps

21 -71 L - Randy Larsen/Wimberley, TX/VW Scirocco/1648-0 Laps

22 - 8 - Pete Arce/Corpus Christi, TX/VW Rabbit PU/1780 - dna

23- 66 - Ariel Arredondo/Corpus Christi, TX/Ford Probe/2338 - dna

24 - 28 - r Lisa Avalos/Corpus Christi, TX /Ford Pinto/2030 - dna

25 - 14 - r Joshua Tuttle/San Antonio, TX /Chevrolet Cobalt/2000 - dna

26 - 6 - Tony Johnson/Schertz, TX/Ford Mustang/2338 - dna

27 - 3 - r Jesse Sandoval Jr/Corpus Christi,TX/Ford Pinto/2030 - dna

28 - 18 - Lanny Young/Kingsland, TX/VW Karmen Ghia/2275 - dna

29 - 89 - John Leonard/Universal City, TX/VW Rabbit/1800 - dna

30 - 97 - Kevin Hallman/Cibolo, TX/Ford Mustang/2338 - dna


r - eligible for TPS "Rookie of the Year" Award

dna - filed entry, did not arrive at track

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...