Jump to content

All eyes on Sunoco North/South 100 weekend at Florence Speedway


Recommended Posts

All Eyes on Sunoco North/South 100 Weekend

BATAVIA, OH (August 3, 2017) - One of the most highly anticipated events of the season is just one week away. The 35th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 - Presented by Lucas Oil will take place August 10th-12th at Florence Speedway in Union, KY.

The action-packed weekend will kick off on Thursday, August 10th with the inaugural Sunoco Race Fuels North/South Shootout - Presented by Lucas Oil. The event will feature a complete program of: Miller Welders Time Trials, Heat Races, and B-Mains - highlighted by the 50-lap, $10,000-to-win main event. The Open Wheel Modifieds will also compete in a full program for $1,000-to-win.

Friday's action will include: Hot Laps, double Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Heat Races, along with Heat Races and B-Mains for the Modified division to kick off the 35th Annual Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 - Presented by Lucas Oil. The annual fan/racer appreciation party will follow Friday night's on-track activities.

The 2017 National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame induction ceremonies will kick off the festivities on Saturday, August 12th, followed by Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series B-Mains. Afterwards, the Modifieds will compete in their $2,000-to-win feature, before the 100-lap, $50,000-to-win Sunoco Race Fuels North/South 100 main event takes center stage. The 30-lap, $2,500-to-win Non-Qualifiers race will cap off the weekend.

The revised North/South 100 format has produced some of the most pulse-pounding, edge of your seat racing action in the history of the crown jewel event. Drivers will battle fiercely in two rounds of heat races on Friday night, earning passing points to determine Saturday night's B-Main and Feature starting grids. Bobby Pierce claimed his first career North/South 100 victory - a year ago - with a late-race pass on Scott Bloomquist. Dale McDowell, Devin Moran, and Don O'Neal completed the top-five finishers.

Sunoco Race Fuels is the "Official Fuel" of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and proud sponsor of the Sunoco North/South 100. Winning on today's racing circuit requires more than being an exceptional driver and having a well-built car. It takes high-performance racing fuels that are willing to go the distance - fuels like those produced by Sunoco. With an expanded product line, Sunoco offers drivers more choices than ever before. For the performance your engine is designed to deliver, consistently choose Sunoco Race Fuels. To learn more, contact Sunoco Race Fuels at 1-800-RACE-GAS (1-800-722-3427), or visit their website at www.racegas.com.

Florence Speedway is located in Northern Kentucky, approximately 25 miles south of Cincinnati, Ohio on US 42. Additional information can be obtained by visiting www.florencespeedway.com, or call the speedway office at (859) 493-0034.

The Official Host Hotel of Florence Speedway is the Hilton Cincinnati Airport, located at Exit 182 (Turfway Road) off I-75/71 in Florence, Kentucky. For reservations, call (859) 371-4400 and request the Florence Speedway rate, or book online at: http://www.hilton.com/en/hi/groups/personalized/C/CVGCHHF-FSN-20170810/index.jhtml?WT.mc_id=POG

Lucas Oil Championship Standings:




Previous North/South 100 Winners:

1983 - Pat Patrick
1984 - Pat Patrick
1985 - John Mason
1986 - Jack Boggs
1987 - Jeff Purvis
1988 - Scott Bloomquist
1989 - Jeff Purvis
1990 - Mike Head
1991 - Rodney Combs
1992 - Jack Boggs
1993 - John Gill
1994 - Jack Boggs
1995 - John Gill
1996 - Donnie Moran
1997 - Rick Aukland
1998 - Donnie Moran
1999 - Bob Pierce
2000 - Scott Bloomquist
2001 - Rained Out
2002 - Chub Frank
2003 - Dan Schlieper
2004 - Steve Shaver
2005 - Bart Hartman
2006 - Steve Shaver
2007 - Jimmy Owens
2008 - Darren Miller
2009 - Jimmy Mars
2010 - Jimmy Owens
2011 - Jimmy Owens
2012 - Don O'Neal
2013 - Don O'Neal
2014 - Eddie Carrier Jr.
2015 - Jonathan Davenport
2016 - Bobby Pierce

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...