Jump to content

San Antonio Speedway


Recommended Posts

There may have been a little something going on called Fiesta, but the best "party place" in town could be found at San Antonio Speedway this past Saturday night.


In the Late Model Division, Robert Barker blistered the track in qualifying with a lap clocked at 19.89 seconds. However, the roll of the dice used to determine how many cars would be inverted for the feature event, didn't exactly fall in Barker's favor. He would be starting in the sixth position. Also, there were some anxious moments for birthday boy, Joe Aramendia. As the rest of the field were lined up and ready to go, he was still in the pits with his crew scrambling. Fortunately, he fired it up and started scratch (last) on the field. Brian Moczygemba and Mark Ackerman were paired together on the front row followed by Justin Oates and Donny Horelka. As the green flag waved, Moczygemba jumped into the lead and brought Oates with him. It became very apparent on Lap 5 that whatever ailed the #79 of Aramendia was remedied, as he blasted past Moczygemba for the lead. The yellow flag waved when Michael Lampton and Ackerman spun out between Turns 3 and 4 on Lap 18. Barker, Oates, Moczygemba and Horelka were all lined up behind Aramendia for the restart. Oates' night went sour three laps later when he spun out and later retired for the evening. As the laps wound down, Barker tried his best to get by Aramendia to no avail. Aramendia made coming from the back of the pack to winner's circle look like a piece of (birthday?) cake. Finishing in positions 3-5 were Horelka, Moczygemba and Lampton.


The 25 lap Sportsman feature event got off to a rocky start when outside pole sitter David Schooman went high and was tapped into the Turn 1 wall, which ended his night. This put Robert Mayberry and Keith Garrett on Row 1 followed by Tom Casey, Tater Mason, Greg Rohmer and Eric Knudtson. This time the start was clean and Garrett leaped into the lead. On Lap 8, the yellow flag flew when Charles Earnhardt and Mayberry made contact. The restart saw Mason, Knudtson and Jason Oates put the hammer down, sending Garrett from first to fourth. While trying to get under Mason for the lead, Knudtson spun out bringing out another caution flag. The smoking fast Oates now loomed largely in Mason's rearview mirror...or should I say smoking (from the rear of the car) and fast. Either way, Oates was the recipient of the dreaded black flag. With six laps remaining, Casey went for a spin when he and Rohmer bunched up coming off Turn 2. When the checkered flag flew, it was Mason putting one in the win column. Garrett, Knudtson, Rohmer and Casey filled out the top five finishing positions.


There were nine drivers on tap for the 15 lap Road Runner feature event. On the pole was J D Votion followed by J R Eichelberger, Tony Bernal Jr. and Brandon McCall. The action started right away when Votion spun out and collected Bernal on the very first lap. Eichelberger took off on the restart and left Randy Frautschi and McCall side-by-side battling it out for the second spot. McCall scooted into second for now, however, mechanical woes midway through the race would end his night. Mark Mathias, the winner of the season opener, was the man on the move. With three laps remaining, he used a lap car to his advantage to take the lead away from Eichelberger. He then sped to the checkered flag followed by Frautschi, Eichelberger, Jamie Evans and Votion.


In other racing action, Mona Turner prevailed in the Women on Wheels feature event.


Congratulations to all of the winners!

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...