Jump to content

Bloomquist takes fourth-career Ralph Latham Memorial LOLMDS victory


Recommended Posts

Bloomquist Takes Fourth-Career Ralph Latham Memorial Victory


UNION, KY (May 6, 2017) - Defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Scott Bloomquist picked up his fourth-career Ralph Latham Memorial victory on Saturday Night at Florence Speedway. Bloomquist led all 60 laps, but traffic at the end of the race allowed both Tim McCreadie and Josh Richards to make it a close finish.

Bloomquist won the event one-year ago on its 30th Anniversary - and maintains his Championship Points lead with the victory. McCreadie got around Richards on the final lap to finish in second. In his first Florence appearance in five years, Richards was third at the finish line. Clint Bowyer Racing teammates, Don O'Neal and Darrell Lanigan, finished fourth and fifth respectively.

"With all of the rain they had this week, we all thought the track would be rough or different than it is most of the time. With the no cutting or siping rule on the right-rear tire, you would hit a slick spot and you didn't know where the car would go. I got to those last few cars towards the end and I went to the outside of them. I was just hoping I didn't leave the door open for someone else."

Bloomquist saw Earl Pearson Jr. mount a challenge early in the race. McCreadie started sixth, and then climbed through the field to pressure Bloomquist for the lead. Several times McCreadie would have an opportunity to get close to Bloomquist, but each time a caution thwarted his run. With less than five laps to go, Richards closed to within a car length as Bloomquist was attempting to lapped traffic in front of him.

Bloomquist veered to the outside and cleared them enough to gain the victory. McCreadie went to the top side of the track with two laps to go in turns one and two and that enabled him to squeeze by Richards on the final lap for second.

"We had a good car all race long. We need to keep tweaking on it during the night to get it better. We are almost there. We are challenging for the wins now and in this type of solid field of cars it's tough to do night in and night out," said McCreadie who maintains second place in the championship points.

After tonight's solid performance, Richards seemed ready to come back to Florence again soon, "I thought I had a shot there when he [bloomquist] went to the outside of those cars. We didn't do bad considering we hadn't raced here in five years. When we come back for the North-South 100 we should be better."

Completing the top ten were Earl Pearson Jr., Steve Casebolt, Devin Gilpin, Hudson O'Neal, and Shanon Buckingham.

Race Summary

Saturday, May 6th, 2017 - 31st Annual Ralph Latham Memorial - Florence Speedway - Union, KY


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Kody Evans / 17.427 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Scott Bloomquist / 17.494 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Shanon Buckingham, Kody Evans, Steve Casebolt , Jimmy Owens, Boom Briggs, Colin Green, Zak Blackwood, Roger Williams, Jesse Lay, Trevor Landrum


FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Michael Chilton, Josh Richards, Nick Latham, Gregg Satterlee, Colton Flinner, Adam Bowman, Robby Moses, Steve Landrum, Michael Hensley


Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Tim McCreadie, Jackie Boggs, Hudson O'Neal, Jared Bailey, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Jameson, Ethan Burgess, Cody Mahoney


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (10 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Don O'Neal, Darrell Lanigan, Devin Gilpin, Robby Hensley, Steve Francis, Dustin Nobbe, John Gill, Austyn Mills


Penske Racing Shocks B-Main #1 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Colton Flinner, Adam Bowman, Boom Briggs, Steve Landrum, Robby Moses, Trevor Landrum, Colin Green, Zak Blackwood, Michael Hensley, Roger Williams, Jesse Lay-DNS


Fast Shafts B-Main #2 Finish (12 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Robby Hensley, Steve Francis, Jason Jameson, Dennis Erb, Jr., Austyn Mills, Dustin Nobbe, John Gill, Jared Bailey, Ethan Burgess, Cody Mahoney-DNS


Feature Finish (60 Laps):



Race Statistics
Entrants: 37
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 60)
Cautions: Dennis Erb Jr. (Lap 19); Robby Hensley (Lap 35); Michael Chilton (Lap 38); Boom Briggs (Lap 40)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisional: Dennis Erb Jr.
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisional: Cody Mahoney
Florence Speedway Track Provisional: John Gill
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Devin Gilpin (Started: 16th; Finished: 8th; Advanced 8 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Tim McCreadie
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Josh Richards
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Hudson O'Neal
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Phillip Snellen (Tim McCreadie)
Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #4 - 17.4305 seconds)
Safecraft Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (60 Laps)
PFC Brakes Pole Award: Shanon Buckingham
Time of Race: 33 minutes 03 seconds

Lucas Oil Championship Point Standings:




*Points are unofficial until Close of Business on the Tuesday following Race Day*

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...