Jump to content

Burt Myers takes 1st career PASS SMRS Modified win at Caraway

Recommended Posts

Burt Myers Takes 1st Career SMRS Modified Win At Caraway

SOPHIA, NC (September 5) – Southern Modified veteran Burt Myers took the lead from Brandon Ward late in the race and led the rest of the way to claim his first career Southern Modified Racing Series (SMRS) Presented By PASS win Saturday night at Caraway Speedway.

“Our win tonight was definitely a long time coming,” said Myers, driver of the Citrusafe BBQ Grill Cleaner #1 afterwards. “I guess it was only fitting that we would return to Caraway to finally get our first SMRS/PASS win. I hope we can finish the season out strong and get at least one more victory.”

In qualifying, Myers paced the field for the second time this season with a lap of 15.965 seconds (102.550 MPH).

As an enthusiastic crowd of fans and racers celebrated Caraway Speedway’s 51st anniversary, several drivers took turns up front, including Ward, John Smith, Andy Jankoiak, and second fastest qualifier, Gary Putnam. As the 125 lap race wound down to the finish Jankoiak and the all-time winningest driver at Bowman Gray Stadium, Tim Brown, waged war for the lead. With less than 25 laps to go, Jankoiak and Brown got together and spun, collecting last week’s winner at Dillon, Jason Myers, in the process.

Ward would again move back up front, but would now be challenged by B. Myers. With 10 laps to go, B. Myers got the advantage over Ward to move into the lead. B. Myers would lead the rest of the way to take his first series win over Ward, Jankoiak, Daniel Speeny, and Chris Fleming. Rounding out the top 10 were Smith, Zach Brewer, Brown, Brian Loftin, and Mike Norman. With his win, B. Myers moves into the points lead over John Smith by just four points with two races remaining on the inaugural SMRS Modified schedule.


The Southern Modified Racing Series Presented By PASS will be in action again on Saturday night, October 22 at Caraway Speedway with the Kenny Minter Memorial 125. Entry forms will be available at SouthernModifiedRacingSeries,com. Be sure to “Like” the Pro All Stars Series and Southern Modified Racing Series on Facebook or follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14.


SMRS Modifieds – Caraway Speedway – Unofficial Results
1. 1 – Jason Myers
2. 19 – Brandon Ward
3. 37 – Andy Jankoiak
4. 87 – Daniel Speeny
5. 13 – Chris Fleming
6. 25 – John Smith
7. 31 – Zach Brewer
8. 83 – Tim Brown
9. 23 – Brian Loftin
10. 12 – Mike Norman
11. 18 – Daniel Yates
12. 99 – AJ Winstead
13. 4 – Jason Myers
14. 5 – Tom Buzze, Jr.
15. 77 – Gary Putnam
16. 54 – Scott Hall
17. 88 – Jerry Scott

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...