Jump to content

Bloomquist takes third career Hillbilly Hundred at Tyler County


Recommended Posts

Bloomquist Takes Third Career Hillbilly Hundred at Tyler County


MIDDLEBOURNE, WV (September 4, 2016) - Scott Bloomquist picked up his third career Hillbilly Hundred win on Sunday night at Tyler County Speedway. Bloomquist led all 100 laps and scored his 13th LOLMDS win of the season, worth $25,000.



Courtsey of LOLMDS PR


Bloomquist survived the event, despite a broken water pump that nearly derailed his victory. For most of the last half of the race, smoke from Bloomquist's car became more noticeable under each caution flag as he barely made it to the finish. Jonathan Davenport finished in second, followed by Brandon Sheppard. Completing the top five were home state drivers Mike Benedum and Tim Dohm.

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane Bloomquist said he was fortunate to make it to the finish line. "We either lost the water pump or the front of it broke off. The engine was running hot, and under those caution flags, I was hoping they would hurry up because I knew time was running out on us. It's a good thing Andy Durham builds some stout engines because the temperature was way past what we wanted."

Davenport stayed right with Bloomquist for the entire race, but with everyone running the bottom Davenport tried to step up to the outside after a late-race restart and quickly realized that wasn't going to work. "I thought there might be enough grip to get by Scott, but I had to quickly get down low to save the spot. We have had a good weekend with two wins and a second."

Sheppard tried the outside several times during the mid-part of the race. "I don't think anyone had any tires left after it was over. I could tell Earl's [Pearson] and McCreadie's tires were in bad shape and they may not last. Then they both got flats."

Completing the top ten were Dennis Erb Jr., Don O'Neal, Devin Moran, Michael Lake and Jason Covert.

In preliminary action, Earl Pearson Jr. set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 44 entrants, with a lap of 12.653 seconds. Zack Dohm set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 12.722 seconds. Earl Pearson Jr., Michael Lake, Scott Bloomquist, and Brandon Sheppard won their respective heat races. Darrell Lanigan and Mason Zeigler won their respective B-Mains.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Race Summary
Sunday, September 4th, 2016 - 48th Annual Hillbilly Hundred - Tyler County Speedway - Middlebourne, WV


Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Earl Pearson Jr. / 12.653 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Zack Dohm / 12.722 seconds


Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (15 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Earl Pearson, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jackie Boggs, Jason Covert, Kyle Thomas, Kyle Hardy, Jeremy Berwanger, Robbie Scott, Ronnie Whitt, Jeffrey Lilly-DNS


FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (15 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Michael Lake, Derek Doll, Jimmy Owens, Mike Benedum, Darrell Lanigan, Steve Weigle, Daniel Hill, Kenney Newhouse, Freddie Carpenter, Byron Meeks, Jared Hawkins


Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (15 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Jacob Hawkins, Don O'Neal, Devin Moran, Shane Hitt, John Wyer, C.A. Wentz, Brandon Francis, Cody Rogers, Zack Dohm, Dylan Bledsoe


QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (15 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brandon Sheppard, Tim McCreadie, Tim Dohm , Tyler Carpenter, Mason Zeigler, Corey Conley, Steve Francis, Colton Flinner, Joe Cox, Jeff Maxwell, Rick Williams


Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Darrell Lanigan, Jason Covert, Kyle Thomas, Jeremy Berwanger, Kenney Newhouse, Ronnie Whitt, Steve Weigle, Freddie Carpenter, Jeffrey Lilly, Byron Meeks, Daniel Hill, Kyle Hardy, Robbie Scott-DNS, Jared Hawkins-DNS


Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Finish (15 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Mason Zeigler, Shane Hitt, Corey Conley , Steve Francis, Colton Flinner, Brandon Francis, Zack Dohm, John Wyer, Dylan Bledsoe, Cody Rogers, Jeff Maxwell, C.A. Wentz, Joe Cox, Rick Williams-DNS


Feature Finish (100 Laps):



Race Statistics
Entrants: 44
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 100)
Cautions: Jackie Boggs (Lap 13); Tyler Carpenter, Derek Doll (Lap 13); Tyler Carpenter (Lap 59); Jared Hawkins (Lap 82); Jason Covert, Steve Francis, Kyle Thomas, Jared Hawkins (Lap 87); Tim McCreadie (Lap 92); Steve Francis (Lap 96); Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 97)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Steve Francis, Colton Flinner
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Hillbilly 50 Provisional: Daniel Hill
Hillbilly Qualifier Provisional: Jared Hawkins
Wrisco Feature Winner: Scott Bloomquist
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Mike Benedum (Started: 15th; Finished: 4th; Advanced 11 Positions)
Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Scott Bloomquist
Allstar Performance Power Move of the Race: Mike Benedum
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jonathan Davenport
Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: Colton Flinner
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Andy Durham Racing Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Sweet-Bloomquist Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Randall Edwards
Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap #4 -13.3375 seconds)
Most Laps Led: Scott Bloomquist (100 Laps)
PFC Brakes Tough Brake Award: Jimmy Owens
Time of Race: 52 minutes 41 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...