Jump to content

Johnson and Thornton at the head of the class at Canyon Speedway Park


Recommended Posts

Johnson and Thornton at the Head of the Class at CSP


by Lonnie Wheatley


PEORIA, Ariz. (July 30, 2016) – R.J. Johnson and Ricky Thornton, Jr., took Saturday night’s headline wins at Canyon Speedway Park by racing to victory lane in the Allscapes Back to School Special atop the 1/3-mile clay oval.


While Johnson bested the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars and Thornton, Jr., topped the IMCA Modifieds, other Allscapes Back to School Special winners included George Fronsman in IMCA Stock Cars and Chuck Thornton in IMCA Hobby Stocks.


Racing from the front row outside, reigning USAC Southwest Sprint Car champion and current points leader R.J. Johnson raced to his third consecutive series win atop the CSP clay aboard the Ford-powered Kodiak Products/Beal’s Auto Body Sherman Chassis No. 77m.


Johnson’s sixth overall series win of the year in the 25-lapper came ahead of Charles Davis, Jr., with Andrew Reinbold racing forward from eighth to fill out the podium in third. Matt Rossi and Mike Martin rounded out the top five.


Ricky Thornton, Jr., made a return to the desert and denied Jason Noll a third consecutive win in Arizona Differential IMCA Modified action by topping the 20-lap feature.


Thornton, Jr., rallied from 11th to capture his first CSP score since topping February’s Desert Classic with Noll setting for runner-up honors from seventh. Joey Moriarty was third with Chaz Baca, Jr., charging from 18th to fourth and current points leader Mike Strobl rounding out the top five.


After enjoying a four race win streak earlier in the season, current Allscapes IMCA Stock Car vs. SCRA Stock Car points leader George Fronsman is getting to work on another streak by picking off his second in a row and ninth overall of 2016 at CSP.


Fronsman raced from sixth to take the win ahead of Nate Warren with Manny Baldviez, Jimmy Davy and Joe Hanies rounding out the top five.


Starting from the pole position, Chuck Thornton snared his third Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive IMCA Hobby Stock vs. Renegade win of the year ahead of Paul O’Connor with Jason Crowe, Dean Zachrison and 15th-starter Craig Ebers rounding out the top five.


Canyon Speedway Park fires back to life with the Stock Car Shootout 100 on September 3-4 that includes Arizona Differential IMCA Modifieds, Allscapes IMCA Stock Cars vs. SCRA Stock Cars, Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive IMCA Hobby Stocks vs. Renegades, Dwarf Cars and Western Mod Lites.


July 30, 2016 – Allscapes Back to School Special Results


USAC Southwest Sprint Cars:

Heat One: 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 5-Tye Mihocko, 3. 02-Matt Rossi, 4. 98-Matt Lundy, 5. 13-Dennis Gile, 6. 27-Nick Aiuto, 7. 54-Landon Cling, 8. 12-Josh Pelkey, 9. 5z-Zack Madrid.

Heat Two: 1. 16-Mike Martin, 2. 11c-Michael Curtis, 3. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 14az-Dustin Burkhart, 6. 78-Chris Bonneau, 7. 0-Jonas Reynolds, 8. 7k-Bruce St. James.

“A” Feature: 1. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 2. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 3. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 4. 02-Matt Rossi, 5. 16-Mike Martin, 6. 12-Josh Pelkey, 7. 27-Nick Aiuto, 8. 5-Tye Mihocko, 9. 13-Dennis Gile, 10. 11c-Michael Curtis, 11. 54-Landon Cling, 12. 78-Chris Bonneau, 13. 7k-Bruce St. James, 14. 98-Matt Lundy, 15. 0-Jonas Reynolds, 16. 14az-Dennis Burkhart, 17. 5z-Zack Madrid.


Arizona Differential IMCA Modifieds:

Heat One: 1. 51-Joey Moriarty, 2. 5z-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 3. 8-Nate Warren, 4. 14J-Jay Foster, 5. 55-Nick Gann, 6. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 7. 4-Jinger Kesler, 8. 53-Justin Thornton, 9. 75jr-Chaz Baca, Jr.

Heat Two: 1. 77b-Terry Belcher, Sr., 2. X04-Mike Strobl, 3. 44k-Kelsie Foley, 4. 19x-Kenny Gill, 5. 45-Ryan Roath, 6. 24-Mike Martin, 7. 14a-Chase Alves, 8. 97-Josh Sneed, 9. 65-Tim Palmer.

Heat Three: 1. 44-Jason Noll, 2. 82-John Parmeley, 3. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 4. 4h-Don Hagan, 5. 78-Steve Stultz, 6. 20-Grey Ferrando, 7. L8-Brian Schultz, 8. 12-Guy Norton, 9. 25-Paul Nelson.

“B” Feature: 1. L8-Brian Schultz, 2. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 3. 75jr-Chaz Baca, Jr., 4. 24-Mike Martin, 5. 20-Grey Ferrando, 6. 25-Paul Nelson, 7. 14a-Chase Alves, 8. 53-Justin Thornton, 9. 4-Jinger Kesler, 10. 97-Josh Sneed, 11. 12-Guy Norton, 12. 65-Tim Palmer.

“A” Feature: 1. 5z-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 2. 44-Jason Noll, 3. 51-Joey Moriarty, 4. 75jr-Chaz Baca, Jr., 5. X04-Mike Strobl, 6. L8-Brian Schultz, 7. 14J-Jay Foster, 8. 77b-Terry Belcher, Sr., 9. 55-Nick Gann, 10. 8-Nate Warren, 11. 44k-Kelsie Foley, 12. 20-Grey Ferrando, 13. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 14. 82-John Parmeley, 15. 24-Mike Martin, 16. 78-Steve Stultz, 17. 45-Ryan Roath, 18. 40jr-Bubba Stafford, 19. 4h-Don Hagan, 20. 19x-Kenny Gill.

Allscapes IMCA Stock Cars vs. SCRA Stock Cars:

Heat One: 1. 15-Speedy Madrid, 2. 41-George Fronsman, 3. 144-Jimmy Davy, 4. 8-Nate Warren, 5. 1-Matt Short, 6. 18-Terry Skorick, 7. 501-Cole Heipel, 8. 505-Brittany Manson, 9. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman.

Heat Two: 1. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 2. 17z-Joe Hanies, 3. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 4. 15LIL-Mark Madrid, 5. 77-Manny Baldviez, 6. 75-Jason Suchta, 7. 21jr-Scott Gunn, Jr., 8. 53-Justin Thornton, 9. $-Cody Center.

“A” Feature: 1. 41-George Fronsman, 2. 8-Nate Warren, 3. 77-Manny Baldviez, 4. 144-Jimmy Davy, 5. 17z-Joe Hanies, 6. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 7. 21jr-Scott Gunn, Jr., 8. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 9. 18-Terry Skorick, 10. $-Cody Center, 11. 15LIL-Mark Madrid, 12. 501-Cole Heipel, 13. 505-Brittany Manson, 14. 75-Jason Suchta, 15. 15-Speedy Madrid, 16. 44s-Steve Shumaker, 17. 1-Matt Short, 18. 53-Justin Thornton.


Scottsdale Muffler & Automotive IMCA Hobby Stocks vs. Renegades:

Heat One: 1. 99-Steve Bitting, 2. 45k-Mark Kilian, 3. 13-Jason Crowe, 4. 4-Dean Zachrison, 5. 16b-Richard Bennett, 6. 7-David Kendall, 7. 420-Vaugn Packer, 8. 22-Craig Ebers, 9. 40b-Bradley Stafford.

Heat Two: 1. XX-Chuck Thornton, 2. 9-Paul O’Connor, 3. 3-Ashley Stafford, 4. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 5. 5J-Jacob Madrid, 6. 55-Merle Zachrison, 7. 3d-David Harrington, 8. 69r-Sara Reblin.

“A” Feature: 1. XX-Chuck Thornton, 2. 9-Paul O’Connor, 3. 13-Jason Crowe, 4. 4-Dean Zachrison, 5. 22-Craig Ebers, 6. 5J-Jacob Madrid, 7. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 8. 45k-Mark Kilian, 9. 16b-Richard Bennett, 10. 55-Merle Zachrison, 11. 7-David Kendall, 12. 40b-Bradley Stafford, 13. 3d-David Harrington, 14. 69r-Sara Reblin, 15. 3-Ashley Stafford, 16. 99-Steve Bitting, 17. 420-Vaughn Packer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...