Jump to content

Sprint Car Bandits Series at LoneStar Speedway June 25

Recommended Posts



Kilgore, TX (6/20/16) - On the heels of a very exciting and successful opening event June 11th, the Milestone Electric Sprint Car Bandits Series (SCB), are now poised to invade the 1/3 mile high-banks of LoneStar Speedway (LSS) on Saturday June 25th during Palm Harbor Homes night. An excellent sprint car purse of right at $13,000 is posted, and a great field of sprint car drivers from throughout the region can be expected...and nearly $23,000 total will be distributed in purse money to all divisions racing that night.


The SCB has added $3,240 in cash to the Series base purse structure - at no added cost to the racers, fans or the track. Here is the complete SCB payback for LoneStar Speedway A-feature, 25 laps: $2,000 - $1,200 - $1,000 - $700 - $600 - $450 - $420 - $415 - $410 - $405 - $400...to start. Any non-qualifier or non-starter will receive $100.


Joining the SCB on Saturday, June 25th at LoneStar Speedway will be a complete program for the high-powered LSS Modifieds ($1,000/win), Factory Stocks ($300/win), Limited Modifieds ($500/win); plus FWD 4-Cylinders will round up the 5-division racing program. Rules and complete payback by division are posted at the LSS website under 'resources.'


Adult tickets (ages 12-64) to this huge event are just $15! Kids ages 6-11 are $5 with Military/Seniors $13. Pit passes for this very special event are remaining at $30 for all ages.


LoneStar Speedway is located at 3131 FM 1252 Kilgore, TX 75662, Track Phone on race day is: (903)-986-9731. Specifically, if you are on I-20 (either direction) take Exit 583 and head north to the 4-way stop light (about 1/2 mile). Go east (right) about 1 mile and you will see the track entrance on the south (right) side of the road. Their web address is www.LoneStarSpeedway.com and search for them on Facebook by entering: "LoneStar Speedway Fan Page."


The pit area on June 25th opens by 4pm with the main grandstand opening at 6pm, draw cutoff at 7pm, hot laps at 7:30pm and racing at 8pm.


Series promoter Steve Lang comments: "We had lost some events to rain this season, so we're taking those sponsor dollars and applying them to our June events, as we did this past Saturday at Superbowl Speedway. Our series really doesn't have much overhead, so we can truly make effective use of the sponsor funds that we've received...and there's no better use of those funds than to pass them along in the form of increased competitor purses."


Lang continues: "Plus, Darin Short is adding to that by unveiling his 'Free Pass to the Feature' award, which is really unique, simple and exciting."


Here's how the DarinShort.com Free Pass to the Feature works:


-Any SCB driver that finishes outside of a transfer spot to the A-feature (after the B-feature) will have their names thrown in a hat, and the drivers name that gets pulled out will forgo their "$100 Non-qualifier status" and become the 21st starter in the feature race - and in this case - it pays $400 to start!


-Eligible drivers must finish the B-feature to be considered for drawing. (In other words, let's say 9 cars finish the B-feature, and the first 4 transfer to the A. That means those 5 drivers are normally done for the night. However, with this award, drivers finishing in 5th through 9th in the B-feature will be eligible drivers for the DarinShort.com Free Pass to the Feature award.)


Race fans can expect a great mix of young and veteran drivers competing with the Sprint Car Bandits. The following 61 drivers have submitted their SCB driver registration confirming their intent to compete in the series in 2016:


Austin Mundie, Blake Mallory, Brad Queen, Brad Welborn, Brandie Jass, Brandon Corn, Brandon Long, Bruce Griffith (car owner) Bryson Oeschger, Chad Wilson, Chance McCrary, Charlie McDonald, Chase Brewer, Chase Parson, Chris Douglas, Chris Kelly, Claud Estes III, Cody Whitworth, Colby Estes, Colby Hudspeth, Colton Goodwin, Dale Wester, Dalton Stevens, Dustin Woods, Ed Keaton, Gary Floyd, Jerry Bell, Jason Howell, Joe Wood Jr, John James (car owner), John Carney II, John Kelly, Johnny Miller, Junior Jenkins, Justin Fifield, Justin Melton, Justin Zimmerman, Kevin Barksdale, Koby Barksdale, Kyle Jones, Larry Howery, Larry Long, Logan Payne, Marcus Thomas, Mark Huddleston, Mark Rogers, Michael Kostic, Michael Lang, Michelle Melton, Payton Williams, Raven Culp, Robert Byrom, Robert Vetter, Rodney Henderson, Russ Fletcher, Ryan Hall, Ryan Padgett, Shawn Mize, Sterling Hoff, Steve Elliott, Tucker Doughty and Tyson Hall.


The SCB series has a unique rules package that allows teams to use their current equipment (especially in the engine compartment), yet curbing nightly tire expense...which helps equalize the competition, with teams of varying budget sizes.


That rules package certainly has the vote of many of the drivers in the DFW area, as 61 have already submitted their registration information to the SCB, indicating their intent to compete with the series in 2016. Series rules are posted at the link below.


Between the lower operating cost of the SCB series and the addition of sponsor funds into nightly purses, it is allowing more area race tracks to book events - which all translates into DFW area fans getting to see quality sprint car race at a lower grandstand ticket price.


When you combine those components with lower nightly competitor operating purses, it all equals one thing: the new Sprint Car Bandits series!


Click www.SprintCarBandits.com for the latest in series news - including the brand new event flyer for LoneStar Speedway on Saturday, June 25th.


You can also reach the SCB on Facebook, at www.Facebook.com/SprintCarBandits and on Twitter by searching 'Sprint Car Bandits'.


As of the time of writing, here's the latest official SCB event schedule - and note that there are some new dates still in negotiation, which will be released when officially booked.


Sprint Car Bandits Confirmed Dates Schedule, as of 6/20/16:


March 12 - Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, TX (rained out)

April 16 - Abilene Speedway, Abilene, TX (rained out, postponed to 4/23)

April 23 - Abilene Speedway, Abilene, TX (rained out)

April 29 - Boyd Raceway, Boyd, TX (rained out)

June 11 - Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, TX $2,000/win and $300/start (Michael Lang)

June 25 - LoneStar Speedway, Kilgore, TX $2,000/win and $400/start

July 2 - 85 Speedway Ennis, TX (plus Fireworks)

July 9 - Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, TX

July 15 - Boyd Raceway, Boyd, TX

July 30 - Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, TX

August 13 - Superbowl Speedway, Greenville, TX

September 17 - East Texas Speedway, Petty, TX


Race teams, reminder: If you are a race team that intends on racing with the SCB this season, take a moment to go to the series website and register your team by June 24th - it's free. It takes just a moment to do, and is mandatory to complete a day prior to competing in order to avoid paying an $300 at-track registration fee, as the SCB is not a 'just show up and race' series.


The Sprint Car Bandits series is dedicated to help bringing back some of the old-time fun of sprint car racing, yet incorporating some much-needed basic adjustments that help the teams stay on track with their budget - and fans not having to pay excessively high ticket prices to enjoy watching them.


Thank you to the drivers, area racetracks and sponsors for their strong support of this new series. We're looking forward to having another great night of racing when the Sprint Car Bandits series takes on the high banks of LoneStar Speedway on Saturday, June 25th!



Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...