Jump to content

Dominant Dilbeck takes 1st career PASS South win at Hickory

Recommended Posts

Dominant Dilbeck Takes 1st Career PASS South Win At Hickory

HICKORY, NC (June 18) – Chris Dilbeck led over 120 laps in a dominating performance to win Saturday night’s Over The Mountain 150 for the Pro All Stars Series (PASS) South Super Late Models at Hickory Motor Speedway. The victory marks the first career PASS South Super Late Model win for the Georgia native.


“This is just unbelievable to win at a place like Hickory,” said an emotional Dilbeck afterwards. “We’re just a part-time team and this is just amazing to do this against this type of competition. Me and two other guys work on this car and it was just perfect all night long. I just really can’t believe this.”


Defending PASS South champion, Tate Fogleman, set the standard in qualifying, bettering the competition with a lap of 87.447 miles per hour. After the top 10 qualifiers redraw, Fogleman would slot in to the sixth starting position, while Dilbeck and Jared Irvan would move up to the front row to lead the field to green.


On a very pleasant night for the fans to enjoy some short track racing, Irvan would take the lead into turn one, before Dilbeck would power by on lap nine. The first caution of the night would fall just one lap later when Jimmy Doyle would go for a spin in turn four.


Back under green, Dilbeck continued to lead, while Matt Craig was making his way up from the ninth starting position and into the top five by lap 14. The caution would fly again for a solo spin by Tanner Berryhill in turn four on lap 19.


Dilbeck led on the restart, but would be overtaken for the top spot by Florida veteran, Jeff Scofield, two laps later. Scofield’s turn up front would be short lived, though, as Dilbeck would go back to the front on lap 28.


Closing in on the one-third mark of the race, Trey Jarrell would be the man on the move, hooking his Kaytech, Inc. Ford up on the outside as he passed Dalton Sargeant for third on lap 41. Jarrell continued to work the high side moving past Scofield for second just ten laps later. On lap 62, Kayley Stukas would spin on the backstretch to bring out the third caution of the night. The caution would wave again just past halfway when Wes Burton spun exiting turn two on lap 85. Several drivers would take this opportunity to pit to work on the handling of their cars including Jody Measamer, Irvan, Sarah Cornett-Ching, Berryhill, and Roger Lee Newton.


On the restart, Jarrell would challenge Dilbeck, inching out ahead at times, only to have Dilbeck move back by and reassume command of the race. After starting 11th, Brandon Setzer made his way into the top five, passing Scofield on lap 87. Dilbeck would stretch his advantage until the caution waved with 31 laps to go when second place runner Jarrell made contact with the lapped machine of Berryhill, foiling Jarrell’s strategy of saving tires.


Dilbeck continued to lead, but with Jarrell’s misstep, Craig and Sargeant moved by to try and apply pressure to the leader. However, Dilbeck’s PFC Brakes/Central Georgia ENT Chevrolet would prove to be too strong as he would take the win over Craig, Sargeant, Jarrell, and Setzer. Rounding out the top 10 were Scofield, Newton, Tanner Gray, Tyler Ankrum, and Will Martin. Craig’s runner-up finish, paired with a 16th place finish by Kodie Conner, have Craig unofficially taking the points lead by four points.


For more information, please go to ProAllStarsSeries.com, follow us on Twitter at @PASSSLM14, or “Like” the Pro All Stars Series on Facebook.

PASS Super Late Model – Over The Mountain 150 – Unofficial Results

1. 9 – Chris Dilbeck 150 11. 8f – Tate Fogleman 150

2. 54 – Matt Craig 150 12. 98 – Jody Measamer 150

3. 55 – Dalton Sargeant 150 13. 28 – Jared Irvan 150

4. 12 – Trey Jarrell 150 14. 07 – Tyler Scofield 150

5. 6 – Brandon Setzer 150 15. 2c – Sarah Cornett-Ching 149

6. 57 – Jeff Scofield 150 16. 45 – Kodie Conner 149

7. 33 – Roger Lee Newton 150 17. 5 – Wes Burton 148

8. 40 – Tanner Gray 150 18. 17 – Tanner Berryhill 118

9. 58 – Tyler Ankrum 150 19. 7 – Kaley Stukas 105

10. 11 – Will Martin 150 20. 71 – Jimmy Doyle 50

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...