Jump to content

Gilman, Mills rule Thursday Modified qualifiers at Boone


Recommended Posts

Gilman, Mills rule Thursday Modified qualifiers at Boone


BOONE, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Josh Gilman and Chris Mills were Thursday night Modified qualifying feature winners as drivers from five states earned berths in the Saturday main event at the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s.


Gilman led the last 17 times around the Boone Speedway oval in winning the first 25-lap qualifier. Mills was in front the last seven circuits of the nightcap, which wound down with a mishap that took three of the top six running cars out of contention and then a tight four-car battle to the checkers.


Top four finishers from each qualifier advance to the middle row of the big dance.


Gilman passed Kelly Shryock for the front spot and outran the 19th starting Jared Siefert. Ricky Thornton was third and Nick Roberts, the 2012 Super Nationals SportMod champion, drove from 20th starting to fourth.


Mills rocketed from fourth to first on the 19th lap. Second-running Tyler Limoges and former champions Todd Shute and Jeff Taylor tangled to set up a three-lap battle to the finish.


Defending champion Dylan Smith had started 22nd and took over the runner-up spot with two to go; Scott Drake was third and Troy Cordes fourth.


Cordes qualified for his career 12th Super Nationals Modified main event, Drake his seventh and Siefert his fourth.


Gilman, Mills and Smith are each in for the third time, Thornton the second and Roberts the first. Friday games of roshambo will determine who starts where in the middle row on Saturday.


1st qualifying feature – 1. Josh Gilman, Earlham; 2. Jared Siefert, Luxemburg, Wis.; 3. Ricky Thornton, Chandler, Ariz.; 4. Nick Roberts, Des Moines; 5. Tyler Droste, Waterloo; 6. Keith White, Little River Academy, Texas; 7. Tate Cole, Fort Gibson, Okla.; 8. Joel Bushore, Boone; 9. Darin Duffy, Urbana; 10. Cory Wray, Jamesport, Mo.; 11. Kelly Shryock, Fertile; 12. Wayne Johnson, Minot, N.D.; 13. Regan Tafoya, Farmington, N.M; 14. Drew Armstrong, Alexander, Ark.; 15. Russ Dickerson, Boone; 16. J.J. Scott, Iowa City; 17. Johnny Whitman, DePere, Wis.; 18. Dustin Smith, Lake City; 19. Eric Sinness, Williston, N.D.; 20. Jerry Wren, Howard Lake, Minn.; 21. Terrance Prochaska, Mason City; 22. Bill Pittaway, Corpus Christi, Texas; 23. Nicholas Link, Rolla, Kan.; 24. Clint Wendel, Mason City; 25. J.P. Dowell, Killeen, Texas; 26. Jason Schneiders, Sioux City; 27. Josh Truman, Indianola; 28. Tad Reutzel, Burt; 29. Brian Calhoon, Beloit, Kan.; 30. Jason Murray, Hartford.


2nd qualifying feature – 1. Chris Mills, Sioux City; 2. Dylan Smith, Osceola, Neb.; 3. Scott Drake, Joplin, Mo.; 4. Troy Cordes, Dunkerton; 5. J.D. Auringer, Waterloo; 6. Taimon Wehr, Harlan; 7. Chase Allen, Midlothian, Texas; 8. Ryan Ruter, Kanawha; 9. Kyle Brown, State Center; 10. Scott Olson, Blairsburg; 11. Clay Sellard, Ellis, Kan.; 12. Robert Avery, Des Moines; 13. Anthony Roth, Columbus, Neb.; 14. Todd Shute, Des Moines; 15. Jeff Taylor, Cave City, Ark.; 16. Brandon Blochlinger, Concordia, Kan.; 17. Jay Goosmann, Merrill; 18. Jeff Waterman, Quincy, Ill.; 19. Tim Watts, Beloit, Kan.; 20. Greg Gretz, Athelstane, Wis.; 21. John Logue, Boone; 22. Andy Obertello, Hollister, Calif.; 23. Tyler Limoges, Redwood Falls, Minn.; 24. Jacob Murray, Hartford; 25. Curt Lund, Redwood Falls, Minn.; 26. Jason Noll, Peoria, Ariz.; 27. Jason Snyder, Dunkerton; 28. Tim Ward, Gilbert, Ariz.; 29. Jordy Nelson, Marysville, Kan.; 30. Justin Radcliff, China Spring, Texas.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...