Jump to content

Austin Wayne Self hopes for ARCA win at Southern Illinois 100

Recommended Posts

Southern Illinois 100 winners list impressive...includes Foyt, Bowsher, Stewart, Kimmel, Schrader, Wallace, Keselowski and more; Self hopes to add his name

(DuQUOIN, Ill. – August 31, 2014) – Austin Wayne Self hopes to add his name to the incredible list of winners in the annual Southern Illinois 100 at the DuQuoin State Fairgrounds, ongoing since 1950 when Jay Frank won the inaugural championship stock car race at DuQuoin in a Rocket Oldsmobile.


Self, who drives the No. 22 AM Technical Solutions Dodge for Cunningham Motorsports, has been on a role lately with five straight top10-finishes including two runner-up runs at Lucas Oil Raceway and Berlin Raceway.

In his first ever dirt track appearance at the Illinois State Fairgrounds in Springfield two weeks ago, the 18-year-old Austin, Texas rookie finished 10th.


“I learned a lot at Springfield in my first race on dirt,” Self said. “It was really cool. Based on the runs we’ve had lately and what we were able to get from Springfield, I think we’re ready to win one of these dirt races.”


If Self is able to add his name to the list of Southern Illinois 100 winners he would join one of the most credible lists of winners in American motorsports…a list that includes Marshall Teague, Indy 500 winners Jimmy Bryan and AJ Foyt, Fred Lorenzen, Don White, Norm Nelson, Jack Bowsher, NASCAR champions Rusty Wallace and Tony Stewart, Bob Keselowski, Billy Thomas, Ken Schrader, Parker Kligerman, and current NASCAR Nationwide Series driver/winner Chris Buescher.


Self is dominating the SCOTT Rookie of the Year standings in 2014 and is currently sixth overall in ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards national championship point standings.


Outside of a 20th place finish at Chicagoland Speedway, Self has finished in the top-10 in eight of the last nine races.

Currently, there are 32 entries on the entry list for this year's 61st annual Southern Illinois 100 presented by Federated Car Care.


Practice for the September 1 Southern Illinois 100 presented by Federated Car Care is scheduled from 9:00-10:00 a.m. with Menards Pole Award Qualifying presented by Ansell following at 11:15. The 61st annual Southern Illinois 100 starts at 1:30 p.m. All times are local.


The event will feature live timing and scoring for all on-track activity at ARCAracing.com, as well as live flag-to-flag audio coverage for the race.




1950 Jay Frank Oldsmobile Rocket
1954 Don O'Dell Packard
1955 Frank Mundy Chrysler 300
1956 Marshall Teague Chevrolet Bel Air
*1957 Jerry Unser Ford
1957 Jimmy Bryan Mercury M335
1958 Fred Lorenzen Ford
1959 Fred Lorenzen Ford
1960 Norm Nelson Ford Galaxie
1961 Paul Goldsmith Pontiac Catalina
1962 Paul Goldsmith Pontiac Catalina
1963 Norm Nelson Plymouth Belvedere
1964 Joe Leonard Dodge Polara
1965 Paul Goldsmith Pontiac Catalina
1966 Don White Dodge Coronet
1967 Norm Nelson Plymouth GTX
1968 Don White Dodge Charger
1969 AJ Foyt Ford Torino
1970 Norm Nelson Plymouth Roadrunner
1971 Verlin Eaker Plymouth Roadrunner
1972 Jack Bowsher Ford Torino
1973 Butch Hartman Dodge Charger
1974 Butch Hartman Dodge Charger
1975 Butch Hartman Dodge Charger
1976 Bay Darnell Dodge Charger
1977 Paul Feldner Dodge Charger
1978 Don White Dodge Aspen
1979 Rusty Wallace Pontiac Firebird
1980 Sal Tovela Plymouth Volare
1981 Dean Roper Pontiac Firebird
1982 Rick O'Brien Pontiac Grand Prix
*1983 Dean Roper Pontiac Grand Prix
* Denotes non-Southern Illinois 100 race



1983 Dean Roper Butch Garner Tom Meinberg
1984 David Goldsberry Dean Roper Ken Rowley
1985 Lee Raymond Dean Roper John Prior
1986 Dean Roper Bob Keselowski Randy Huffman
1987 Dean Roper Bob Keselowski Dave Weltmeyer
1988 Bob Keselowski Bob Brevak Bob Strait
1989 Bob Keselowski Bob Strait Billy Thomas
1990 Bob Brevak Billy Thomas Bobby Bowsher
1991 Bob Strait Bobby Bowsher Dean Roper
1992 Bob Schacht Glenn Brewer Jim Elliott
1993 Billy Thomas Bob Strait Tim Steele
1994 Dean Roper Bobby Bowsher Ed Dixon
1995 Bob Hill Marvin Smith Tim Steele
1996 Bob Hill Tim Steele Bobby Bowsher
1997 Billy Thomas Mark Gibson Bob Strait
1998 Billy Thomas Bill Baird Frank Kimmel
1999 Jeff Finley Bill Baird Tracy Leslie
2000 Billy Thomas Frank Kimmel Bill Baird
2001 Frank Kimmel Tony Stewart Bill Baird
2002 Frank Kimmel Tony Stewart Ken Schrader
2003 Tony Stewart Ken Schrader Joe Cooksey
2004 Frank Kimmel Bill Baird TJ Bell
2005 Frank Kimmel Bob Strait Josh Allison
2006 Ken Schrader Brian Rowe Joe Cooksey
2007 Ken Schrader Josh Wise Josh Richards
2008 Frank Kimmel Patrick Sheltra Ken Schrader
2009 Parker Kligerman Frank Kimmel Joey Coulter
2010 Steve Arpin Tom Hessert Mikey Kile
2011 Chris Buescher Ty Dillon Will Vaught
2012 Rained Out
2013 Ken Schrader Tom Hessert Justin Boston

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...