Jump to content

Short Track Nationals entry forms available


Recommended Posts

Short Track Nationals Entry Forms Available!

Lonnie Wheatley, LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (August 28, 2013) – It may still be almost two months away, but many of the nation’s top Sprint Car teams are already prepping for I-30 Speedway’s 27th Annual Short Track Nationals.

The $15,000-to-win 27th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires is set for October 23-25 at Little Rock’s I-30 Speedway with the Second Annual Short Track Nationals Open to precede the prestigious event on Wednesday, October 22.

Entry forms for the The Short Track Nationals are now available at http://www.i-30speedway.com/flyers/stn2014.pdf or by calling 501-455-4567. Entries submitted by October 14 are just $150 with entries after that date at $250.

The world’s premier event for 360-ci Sprint Cars will once again offer up a $15,000 winner’s share with a minimum of $2,500 to make the cut for the STN championship finale. More than $100,000 will be doled out over the course of the weekend.

Once again, approximately half of the 100 or so entries will battle through a full card of heat races, qualifying races, “B” Mains and “A” Main event on Thursday with the other half battling through an identical card on Friday.

The top three finishers from the Thursday and Friday main events will lock into the STN finale with the balance of the field aligned in twin “B” Mains, twin “C” Mains, etc., based upon qualifying night points, to set the remained of the STN championship finale.

The Wednesday night STN Open will offer $2,000 to win and $200 to start with the top four finishers eligible in order of finish for an STN provisional if necessary. If the Wednesday night STN winner also wins Saturday’s STN finale, Dixon Road U-Pull-It will award a $2,500 bonus on top of the winnings.

Last October, Sammy Swindell bested a field of 105 competitors for his third STN crown, racing to the checkered flag ahead of up-and-coming Christopher Bell, Anthony Nicholson, Johnny Herrera and Shane Stewart.

Adding last year’s STN victory to previous triumphs in 2011 and 1990, Swindell is one of five drivers to post multiple STN triumphs with others including four-time winner Gary Wright (1995, 1999, 2003, 2004), three-time champ Steve Kinser (1988, 1989, 1991) and two-time winners Tony Bruce, Jr. (2008, 2009) and Paul McMahan (2002, 2012).

Other past Short Track Nationals winners include Brad Sweet (2010), Jason Meyers (2007), Jason Johnson (2006), Tim Montgomery (2005), Jason Sides (2001), Mike Ward (2000), Tim Crawley (1998), Wayne Johnson (1997), Pete Butler (1996), Terry Gray (1994) and John Gerloff (1993). The 1992 edition fell victim to rain.

For more information regarding the 27th Annual COMP Cams Short Track Nationals presented by Hoosier Tires, check online at www.i-30speedway.com or contact I-30 Speedway at 501-455-4567.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...