Jump to content

Deery Series headlines opening night at Super Nationals


Recommended Posts

Deery Series headlines opening night at Super Nationals

BOONE, Iowa (Aug. 26) – The first champion of the 2014 IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Casey’s will be crowned on opening night of America’s Racin’ Vacation at Boone Speedway.


The Monday, Sept. 1 main event for IMCA Late Models following the Deery Brothers Summer Series will be 50 laps, with a potential top prize of $4,500 and a minimum of $300 paid to start.


Point leader Justin Kay of Wheatland has won four of the first 10 series events this season, including three out of the last four. He has a 26-point advantage over Oxford’s Andy Eckrich going into the Labor Day show.

Three-time and defending Super Nationals champion Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls is third, another 27 points off the pace.


Qualifying for Hobby Stocks and Northern SportMods also gets underway Monday. Pit gates open at 9 a.m. and racing starts at 2 p.m. The Late Model main will start at approximately 9 p.m.


Grandstand admission is $20. Pit passes are $30.

Twenty-four of the 41 previous Deery events held at Boone have been in conjunction with Super Nationals. Gary Webb of Blue Grass can boast of being the divi­sion’s only four-time champion (1990, 1993, 1994 and 1996) while Aikey also owns hardware from 1995 and 2004.


Two-time champions are series ironman Darrel DeFrance of Marshalltown (1992 and 2005), Todd Cooney of Des Moines (2006 and 2008) and Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill. (2009 and 2010).


Deery Brothers Top 20 point standings:


1. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 479; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, 453; 3. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, 426; 4. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 423; 5. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 406; 6. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 374; 7. Scott Fitzpatrick, Wheatland, 372; 8. Jason Rauen, Farley, 368; 9. Brian Harris, Davenport, 364; 10. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 352; 11. Matt Ryan, Davenport, 351; 12. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, 332; 13. Jeremy Grady, Story City, 229; 14. Spencer Diercks, Davenport, 224; 15. Rob Moss, Iowa City, 217; 16. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, 203; 17. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, 200; 18. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 189; 19. Terry Neal, Ely, 173; 20. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, 172.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...