Jump to content

Don O'Neal wins Whiskey City 50 at Lawrenceburg Speedway


Recommended Posts

Don O'Neal Wins Whiskey City 50 at Lawrenceburg Speedway

LAWRENCEBURG, IN (August 23, 2014) - Don O'Neal returned to his home-state of Indiana on Saturday Night and won the Whiskey City 50 at Lawrenceburg Speedway. It was O'Neal's sixth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season, and is continues to close the gap on current point leader, Jimmy Owens, who came home sixth.

O'Neal grabbed the lead on lap four from his Clint Bowyer Racing teammate, Steve Francis, and charged to his 39th career LOLMDS victory. Francis finished second followed by pole-sitter, Scott Bloomquist. Steve Casebolt drove by Earl Pearson Jr. on the final lap to take fourth, as Pearson Jr. would round out the top five.

"The car was on a rail tonight, no doubt," said O'Neal. "I have to thank Lance and Barry Wright, Jeremy Justice, and Tony Trent for all of the hard work they do. Clint's going to be real happy with this one-two finish here tonight. We started fifth and the bottom was working real well there early on. I had a few moments there in traffic, but everybody gave each other plenty of room. It's good to come back here and win, especially after missing last year's race. I didn't know how far Steve (Francis) was behind me, I was just concentrating on the traffic ahead."

"We had a pretty good car last week at Batesville, led a lot of laps, but finished fifth. Then Thursday Night, we wound up sixth. We took last night off and the crew went over everything on the car. It handled really well tonight from start to finish. I am real proud of everyone with the CBR Team. I have to thank Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil, Crawford Supply-Traeger Grills, Cometic Gasket, Ohlins, Georgia Boot, Toyota, Clements Racing Engines and of course, Barry Wright Race Cars."

Francis, who was victorious in this race a year ago, was extremely happy with his second place finish. "We had a really good car tonight. Our setup was not all that different from Don's. Congrats to him on the win, and he deserves it. He ran a really good race. We tried to stay with him and I thought I may have a shot at him in traffic, but he was able to get through it cleanly. I want to thank Georgia Boot, Peak Antifreeze, Crawford Supply, and everyone else on the CBR Team. We hope to finish up the season strong."

In victory lane, Bloomquist commented on his podium finish, "Another third place finish, what else can I say. The track was really good. Don always runs well here. I think I had something for Steve, but he got away from me in traffic and I lost sight of him. It was another strong finish for the Ole Smoky Moonshine, Sweet-Bloomquist car. We'll go home and get ready for next weekend."

Completing the top ten were Jimmy Owens, Jared Landers, Dennis Erb Jr., Scott James, and John Blankenship.


In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 28 entrants, with a lap of # seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, and Jared Landers won their respective heat races. Mike Marlar won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.


Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Saturday Night, August 23rd, 2014
Whiskey City 50
Lawrenceburg Speedway - Lawrenceburg, IN

Miller Welders Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist - 14.015 seconds


Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, Dan Schlieper, John Blankenship, Jason Hughes, Scott James , Brandon Overton, Mike Marlar, Jason Papich, Dustin Nobbe, Jeff Herbert

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Steve Casebolt , Jimmy Owens, Kent Robinson, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Dustin Linville, Zak Blackwood, Chris Shannon

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Jared Landers, Earl Pearson, Jr., Duane Chamberlain, Dennis Erb, Jr., Brandon Kinzer, Eric Jacobsen, Bill Blair, Jr., Ted Nobbe, Jeff Alsip


JRi Shocks B-Main (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Mike Marlar, Jason Papich, Dustin Linville, Zak Blackwood, Bill Blair, Jr., Ted Nobbe, Jeff Alsip, Dustin Nobbe, Chris Shannon, Jeff Herbert


Race Statistics
Entrants: 28
Lap Leaders: Steve Francis (1 - 3); Don O'Neal (4 - 50)
Cautions: Mike Marlar (Lap 3)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Bill Blair Jr., Ted Nobbe
Wrisco Feature Winner: Don O'Neal
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Eric Jacobsen (Started: 18th; Finished 12th; Advanced 6 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performer of the Race: Don O'Neal
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Don O'Neal
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Hughes
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Hughes
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Clements Race Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Barry Wright Race Cars
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jeremy Justice (Don O'Neal)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Scott Bloomquist (Lap 10 - 15.498 seconds)
Time of Race: 15 minutes 43 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...