Jump to content

McDowell scorches competition, Wins at Volunteer Speedway


Recommended Posts

McDowell Scorches Competition, Wins at Volunteer Speedway

BULLS GAP, TN (August 21, 2014) - Dale McDowell came home the winner in Thursday Night's 11th Annual Scorcher 50 - Presented by Reece Monument and O'Reilly Auto Parts at Volunteer Speedway. McDowell picked up the lead when Scott Bloomquist blew a right rear tire with two laps scored. McDowell then led the rest of the race for his sixth career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory, in front of an enormous crowd.

Mike Marlar wound up second at the finish, followed by John Blankenship. Bloomquist, who pitted twice, managed to rebound with a fourth place finish. Rounding out the top five finishers was 16th starting Jared Landers.

"Our night didn't start off so well, but we made some changes and the car was fast all night after that. I don't think we would have had anything for Scott [bloomquist] tonight, had he stayed out front. I don't know if he ran over something or what happened to him, but it started off of turn two and continued to the fourth corner. We were lucky to get through that. Then there was another wreck and I barely made it through that one too. It tore up the door on my car pretty good," said the 48-year-old, afterwards.

"I want to thank everyone with Team Dillon Racing, my brother Shane, and everybody else on the crew. This Warrior Race Car handled so well tonight. The track was in really good shape; fortunately we didn't encounter any lapped traffic tonight. It feels good to be back in Lucas Oil Victory Lane, it has been a while. I have to thank my sponsors: ECR Engines, Bad Boy Buggies, Big Dog Motorsports, Cometic Gasket, Ferris Mowers, Klotz Lubricants, National Boiler Services, and everyone else. Thank you to all these fans for coming out here tonight."

Bloomquist led the first two circuits, and then slowed in turn four, causing a multi-car wreck behind him. McDowell then inherited the top spot. Blankenship held onto the runner-up position until Marlar got around him on lap 29. Marlar and Blankenship then tried to track down McDowell, who was setting a blistering pace out front. With no caution flags and traffic not being a factor, McDowell went on to become the 15th different winner in LOLMDS competition in 2014. McDowell's win was his first LOLMDS win since September 4, 2010 at Portsmouth (OH) Raceway Park.

Marlar had a strong run in the Sunoco North South 100 a few weeks ago had his best series finish of the season taking home second place money. "We had a real good race for second there at the end. I wasn't going to rundown Dale, he had too good of a car. We've won here before in a Modified, but never in a Late Model, but we will be back and try to get one more spot next time," said the driver of the Ronnie Delk, Delk Equipment, Rocket Chassis-Chevrolet.

Blankenship, like McDowell and Marlar, was looking for his first LOLMDS win of the season was satisfied with his third place finish. "This is almost a home track for us, our race shop is just down the road, so it was good to run as well as we did. We will take third place with this field of cars here tonight. It feels good to be running up front again, maybe we can get a win at Lawrenceburg on Saturday Night," said the driver of the Coal World's Energy Rocket Chassis.

Completing the top ten were Don O'Neal, Billy Ogle Jr., Eric Jacobsen, Dennis Erb Jr., and Jason Papich.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time amongst the 27 entrants, with a lap of 12.242 seconds. Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, and Eddie Carrier, Jr. won their respective heat races. Jimmy Owens won the B-Main.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, log onto www.lucasdirt.com and follow the series on www.facebook.com/lucasdirt and www.twitter.com/lucasdirt.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Thursday Night, August 21st, 2014
11th Annual Scorcher 50-Presented by Reece Monument and O'Reilly Auto Parts
Volunteer Speedway - Bulls Gap, TN

Miller Welders Fast Time: Scott Bloomquist - 12.242 seconds

Fast Shafts Heat Race #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Eric Jacobsen, Steve Francis, Chad Ogle, Jared Landers, Jimmy Owens, Jason Papich, Ryan King

Eibach Springs Heat Race #2 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Dale McDowell, Chris Madden, Brad Neat, Billy Ogle Jr., Vic Hill, Jason Hughes, Mark Vineyard, Richard Leake, Travis Greer

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (10 Laps, Top 6 Transfer): Eddie Carrier, Jr., Earl Pearson, Jr., Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Welshan, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Brian Smith, Bryan Hendrix (DNS)

JRi Shocks B-Main (12 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jimmy Owens, Mark Vineyard, Jason Papich, Brian Smith, Ryan King, Richard Leake, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Travis Greer (DNS), Bryan Hendrix (DNS)


Feature Finish (50 Laps):

Finish, Start, Car #, Name, Hometown

Race Statistics
Entrants: 27
Lap Leaders: Scott Bloomquist (Laps 1 - 2); Dale McDowell (Laps 3 - 50)
Cautions: Debris (Lap 2); Eddie Carrier Jr., Eric Jacobsen, Brad Neat, Steve Francis, Jason Papich, Chad Ogle, Jason Welshan, Earl Pearson Jr. (Lap 2); Jason Welshan, Eddie Carrier Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Richard Leake (Lap 22)
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: n/a
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a
Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: Richard Leake, Jeff Wolfenbarger
Wrisco Feature Winner: Dale McDowell
Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Jared Landers (Started: 16th; Finished: 5th; Advanced 11 Positions)
Keyser Mfg Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Jimmy Owens
Allstar Performer of the Race: Jared Landers
Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Jared Landers
Dunn Benson Ford Rookie of the Race: Jason Papich
Midwest Sheet Metal Highest Finishing Rookie: Jason Papich
COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: ECR Engines
Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis
Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Shane McDowell (Dale McDowell)
HAWK Performance Fastest Lap of the Race: Dale McDowell (Lap # 3 - 12.774 seconds)
Time of Race: 29 minutes 9 seconds

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...