Jump to content

WoO Sprints at Devil's Bowl this weekend for Texas Outlaw National

Recommended Posts

World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars set for Texas Outlaw Nationals presented by American Racing Custom Wheels - A long-awaited return to Devil’s Bowl Speedway becomes reality this weekend

MESQUITE, Texas - April 16, 2014 - The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series last took to Devil's Bowl Speedway in 2003. This Friday and Saturday, the series returns to the unique half-mile where it all began in 1978.


In addition to all of the action on the track, the Texas Outlaw Nationals presented by American Racing Custom Wheels will feature a reunion of racers from throughout the history of the series. Many of the legends and hall-of-famers will be in attendance at this one-of-a-kind event, which pays $20,000-to-win and $1,000-to-start on Saturday night.


The race will also mark Steve Kinser's last event of 2014 in the Lone Star State during his "Salute to the King" tour as he makes a final run at a 21st World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series championship.



· Friday and Saturday, April 18-19, at the Devils Bowl Speedway. Racing begins at 7 p.m.


· To get to Devils Bowl Speedway take US 80 East of Mesquite to the Lawson Road Exit. The speedway is three miles south on Lawson Road or take Interstate 20 East of Mesquite to the Lawson Road exit (three miles east of the I-635 interchange). The speedway is three and one-half miles north on Lawson Road. Click on the link for a map (https://goo.gl/maps/ngjxY)



Devil's Bowl Speedway is a semi-banked, half-mile oval. The track record is 13.530 seconds established by Mark Kinser April 24, 1999.


Previous winners at Devils Bowl Speedway:

2003 - Tyler Walker on March 15

2002 - Joey Saldana on March 16

2001 - Craig Dollansky on March 10, Joey Saldana on October 27

2000 - Danny Lasoski on March 11, Sammy Swindell on October 28

1999 - Danny Lasoski on April 24, Sammy Swindell on April 24 (1998 Winter Nat'ls finale), Gary Wright on October 15

1998 - Steve Kinser on March 21

1997 - Mark Kinser on March 22, Mark Kinser on October 18

1996 - Steve Kinser on March 23, Mark Kinser on October 19

1995 - Gary Wright on March 18, Stevie Smith on July 29, Gary Wright on October 21

1994 - Andy Hillenburg on March 19, Steve Kinser on July 30, Sammy Swindell on October 23

1993 - Steve Kinser on March 20, Gary Wright on July 31, Dave Blaney on October 23

1992 - Stevie Smith on March 21, Sammy Swindell on June 13, Steve Kinser on October 24

1988 - Dave Blaney on March 19, Steve Kinser on June 18

1987 - Sammy Swindell on March 15, Bobby Davis, Jr., on June 20

1986 - Bobby Allen on March 9, Sammy Swindell on June 21

1985 - Steve Kinser on March 3, Sammy Swindell on June 21

1984 - Steve Kinser on March 4, Bobby Davis, Jr., on May 4, Jeff Swindell on June 22

1983 - Doug Wolfgang on April 22, Ron Shuman on June 24

1982 - Bobby Davis, Jr., on March 20, Steve Kinser on June 25

1981 - Danny Smith on March 14, Doug Wolfgang on March 21, Ron Shuman on June 26

1980 - Doug Wolfgang on March 15, Sammy Swindell on March 22, Sammy Swindell on June 27, Sammy Swindell on September 13

1979 - Steve Kinser on March 31, Sammy Swindell on September 8

1978 - Jimmy Boyd on March 18, Sammy Swindell on September 16


The following World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series drivers maintain websites:

Cody Darrah - CodyDarrah.com

Tim Kaeding - TKaedingRacing.com

Kraig Kinser - KraigKinser.com

Steve Kinser - SteveKinser.com

Kerry Madsen - KenericRacing.com

Paul McMahan - PaulMcMahanRacing.com

Daryn Pittman - DarynPittman.com

Joey Saldana - JoeySaldanaRacing.com

Logan Schuchart - Shark1s.com

Donny Schatz - DonnySchatz.com

Jason Sides - SidesMotorsports.com

Brad Sweet - Bradsweetracing.com

Sammy Swindell - SwindellMotorsports.citymaker.com

For more driver information, visit: WoOsprint.com

WINNERS: Brad Sweet - 3 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 14, Tucson International Raceway on March 8 and Calistoga Speedway on April 5), Daryn Pittman - 2 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 14 and Calistoga Speedway on April 6)Donny Schatz - 2 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 15, The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 6) Rico Abreu - 1 (Thunderbowl Raceway on March 15),Cody Darrah - 1 (Kings Speedway on April 11)David Gravel - 1 (Merced Speedway on March 28) Steve Kinser - 1 (Volusia Speedway Park on Feb. 16), Kerry Madsen - 2 (Stockton Dirt track on March 22 and El Paso Speedway Park on April 15), Paul McMahan - 1 (The Dirt Track at Las Vegas on March 5), Joey Saldana - 1 (Perris Auto Speedway on April 12)

LISTEN LIVE: Listen live as the Voice of the Outlaws, Johnny Gibson, calls the action at all World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series events on the DIRT Radio Network, with a number of events throughout the season being featured on the DIRTVision Cybercast. Visit DIRTVision.com for more information on all the features.

LIVE ONLINE UPDATES: Check out the Official World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series website at WoOsprint.com for live, interactive text updates of each race. It also includes driver biographies with statistics and pictures, race-by-race stats, detailed track information and race coverage, series news and team press releases.

UP NEXT: The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series races into the Salina High Banks in Salina, Okla. on Friday April 25.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...