Jump to content

Sobbing tops IMCA Modified feature at Southern Iowa Frostbuster


Recommended Posts

Sobbing tops IMCA Modified feature at Southern Iowa Frostbuster

OSKALOOSA, Iowa (April 10) – Jesse Sobbing took home the most green following Thursday’s green to checkered feature for IMCA Xtreme Motor Sports Modifieds at Southern Iowa Speedway’s season-opening Frostbuster.

Sobbing, the defending Belleville Motorsports North Central Region champion, started third and caught Richie Gustin and then Cayden Carter for the lead before midway. He led to the $1,000 checkers while running with lapped traffic much of the way.
Carter, Richie Gustin, Jimmy Gustin and Jacob Murray rounded out the top five. Sobbing was already a 2014 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot candidate.

Also racing to victory lane were Cayden Carter in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Carter VanDenBerg in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and Shannon Anderson in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.

Cayden Carter pulled away following an early restart and went on to win ahead of Damon Murty, 11th starting Brad Pinkerton, Todd Reitzler, Donavon Nunnikhoven and Cody Agee.

Cautions erased Jenae Gustin’s lead twice in the Northern SportMod main. VanDenBerg and Jason McDaniel both sped by after that second yellow. VanDenBerg took the win, chased across the stripe by McDaniel, Gustin, Justin Medler and Clint Luellen.

Anderson denied challenges by Dustin Griffiths and then Eric Stanton for top honors in a Hobby Stock feature slowed just once by caution. Stanton, Griffiths, Danny Thrasher and John Watson finished second through fifth, respectively.

The special at Osky was sponsored by Musco Lighting and Supreme Lawn and Landscaping. Frostbuster week continues Friday at Marshalltown Speedway before traveling to Boone Speedway on Saturday and to Benton County Speedway in Vinton on Sunday.
First night for local track points at Southern Iowa Speedway is next Wednesday, April 16. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7:15 p.m.


Feature Results

Modifieds – 1. Jesse Sobbing; 2. Cayden Carter; 3. Richie Gustin; 4. Jimmy Gustin; 5. Jacob Murray; 6. Steve Stewart; 7. Adam Larson; 8. Andrew Schroeder; 9. Todd Shute; 10. Jared Siefert; 11. Mark Elliott; 12. Cole Ferguson; 13. Nick Roberts; 14. Casey Greubel; 15. Tony Wedelstadt; 16. Dakota Hayden; 17. Jim Lynch; 18. Jason Wolla; 19. Kyle Brown; 20. Racer Hulin; 21. Zach Less; 22. Johnny Whitman; 23. Luke Wanninger; 24. Scott Dickey.


Heat winners were Mark Elliott, Richie Gustin, Wanninger and Schroeder. Shute won the “B” feature.


Stock Cars – 1. Cayden Carter; 2. Damon Murty; 3. Brad Pinkerton; 4. Todd Reitzler; 5. Donavon Nunnikhoven; 6. Cody Agee; 7.

Derrick Agee; 8. Jay Schmidt; 9. Nathan Wood; 10. Les Blakley; 11. Kris Walker; 12. Trent Jeanes; 13. Brock Welch; 14. Sterling LaBatte; 15. Corey Stout; 16. Brendon LaBatte.


Heat winners were Pinkerton and Reitzler.


Northern SportMod – 1. Carter VanDenBerg; 2. Jason McDaniel; 3. Jenae Gustin; 4. Justin Medler; 5. Clint Luellen; 6. Brett Lowry; 7. Sam Wieben; 8. Tony Johnson; 9. Ty Luellen; 10. Logan Anderson; 11. Taylor Musselman; 12. Colby Heishman; 13. Dustin Morgan; 14. Darren Medler; 15. Colton Livezey; 16. Curtis Vander Wal; 17. Brandon Williams; 18. Ryan Fullenkamp; 19. Cody Olsen; 20. Brayton Carter; 21. Jason Hall; 22. Gatlin Leytham; 23. Todd Cooney.


Heat winners were Medler, VanDenBerg and Carter.


Hobby Stocks – 1. Shannon Anderson; 2. Eric Stanton; 3. Dustin Griffiths; 4. Danny Thrasher; 5. John Watson; 6. Craig Brown; 7. Mike Hughes; 8. Bill Bonnett; 9. Jamie Songer; 10. Justin Hook; 11. Brock Beeter; 12. Aaron Osweiler; 13. Bobby Greene; 14. Jason See; 15. Andrew Sebastian; 16. Travis Bunnell; 17. Gina Greubel; 18. Mike Leffler; 19. Brandon Cox; 20. Kevin Fee; 21. Andrew Burg; 22. Kenny Hay.


Heat winners were Thrasher, Brown and Songer.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...