Jump to content

Swindell Takes $5000 to win NCRA Sprint Opener


Recommended Posts

Swindell Takes $5000 to win NCRA Sprint Opener

Park City, Kansas – March 29, 2014 - The 25th season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products sprint car division kicked off this past Saturday night during the running of the 4th annual “Air Capital Shootout” at 81 Speedway in Park City and when it was all said and done it was third generation driver Kevin Swindell saving his tires and taking home the $5000 first place prize.

Danny Lasoski, driving the Whitehead Motorsports #8 owner sprinter, started on the pole for the thirty-five lap feature and got the jump on outside front row starter Swindell as the green flag fell. Lasoski would open a five car length lead while working the bottom of the three-eighths mile while Swindell kept his sights on the lead.

Only one lap would be completed before the first caution of the feature fell when Dustin Selvage spun in turns three and four.
The restart saw Lasoski get the jump on Swindell while behind them, Cole Wood, Jeremy Campbell and Danny Wood settled into positions three through five while the two front runners put distance between themselves and the rest of the field.

Lasoski entered lapped traffic on lap ten and worked it to his advantage, opening up a half stretch lead by lap twelve.
The second caution of the feature fell on lap thirteen when Sean McClelland spun exiting turn two.

With drivers running a car length from the bottom of the track, tire wear would appear to play a major factor as the laps clicked off and with just seven laps to go, a chain of events would eventually see a change for the lead.

It all started on lap twenty-eight when Justin Henderson lost the right rear aboard the Gary Swenson owned #24b. While Henderson was being towed to the pit area, Lasoski’s right rear began going flat. Once racing action resumed from Henderson caution, Lasoski would slow heading down the back stretch with his tire finally exploding entering turn three to bring out the caution and giving Swindell the lead. Lasoski would get his tire changed and restart at the tail of the field.

The lap twenty-eight restart saw Swindell out front, followed by Campbell, three-time and defending tour champion C.J. Johnson, Danny Wood and Cole Wood as the leader jumped out to a quick half straightaway advantage.

Swindell looked to be well on his way to victory when the final caution fell with just three laps to go when the right rear on Kevin Ramey’s sprinter exploded sending him pit side.

On the final restart there was no catching Swindell and he when the final three laps uncontested to take his first career NCRA victory.
Campbell settled for second while Johnson came home third. Sixteenth starting Jac Haudesnchild cross the line fourth but was disqualified when his sprinter was light at the scales giving Danny Wood a fourth place finish. Cole Wood rounded out the top five.
The four, ten lap heat races for the 39 car field were won by Cole Wood, Swindell, Danny Jennings and Lasoski while Jon Agan and J.D. Johnson took home the two, twelve lap “B” features.

The next scheduled event for the NCRA 360-ci sprint car division is scheduled to take place on Saturday night, April 19th at the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

NCRA Sprints - 1 Speedway/Park City, Kansas - March 29, 2014 - 39 Cars

1st Heat: 1) Cole Wood, 2) Kyle Bellm (Nixa, Mo), 3) CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 4) Jon Agan (Knoxville, Ia), 5) Justin Hinderson, 6) Brian Herbert (Dodge City, Ks), 7) Jordan Boston (Lincoln, Ne), 8) Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks), 9) Jason Danley (Lincoln, Ne), 10) Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks)

2nd Heat: 1) Kevin Swindell (Bartlett, Tn), 2) Koby Barksdale (Norman, Ok), 3) Wayne Johnson (Knoxville, Ia), 4) Dustin Morgan (Broken Arrow, Ok), 5) Billy Alley (Bennet, Ne), 6) Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 7) Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok), 8) Jake Greider (Haysville, Ks), 9) Rick Wright Jr (Ponca City, Ok), 10) Kaden Taylor (Forgan, Ok)

3rd Heat: 1) Danny Jennings (Norman, Ok), 2) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 3) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 4) Harli White (Lindsay, OK), 5) Sean McClelland (Tulsa, Ks), 6) Dustin Selvage (Indianola, Ia), 7) Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, Ok), 8) Jake Martens (Fairview, Ok), 9) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 10) Ty Williams (Liberal, Ks)

4th Heat: 1) Danny Lasoski (Higginsville, Mo), 2) Kevin Ramey, 3) Don Droud Jr. (Lincoln, Ne), 4) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 5) Jac Haudenschild (Wooster, OH), 6) Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 7) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 8) Zach Blurton (Great Bend, Ks), 9) Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok)

1st B Feature: 1) Jon Agan (Knoxville, Ia), 2) Dustin Selvage (Indianola, Ia), 3) Jake Martens (Fairview, Ok), 4) Jordan Weaver (Woodward, Ok), 5) Jason Danley (Lincoln, Ne), 6) Jeff Stasa (Kingman, Ks), 7) Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 8) Ty Williams (Liberal, Ks), 9) Harli White (Lindsay, OK), 10) Brian Herbert (Dodge City, Ks), 11) Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 12) Wyatt Burks (Topeka, Ks)

2nd B Feature: 1) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 2) Jordan Boston (Lincoln, Ne), 3) Justin Hinderson, 4) Luke Cranston (Ness City, Ks), 5) Michelle Decker (Guthrie, Ok), 6) Zach Blurton (Great Bend, Ks), 7) Taylor Velasquez (Turpin, Ok), 8) Jon Freeman (Salina, Ks), 9) Jake Greider (Haysville, Ks), 10) Kaden Taylor (Forgan, Ok), 11) Rick Wright Jr (Ponca City, Ok)

A Feature: 1) Kevin Swindell (Bartlett, Tn), 2) Jeremy Campbell (Wichita, Ks), 3) CJ Johnson (Quinter, Ks), 4) Danny Wood (Norman, Ok), 5) Cole Wood, 6) Kyle Bellm (Nixa, Mo), 7) Wayne Johnson (Knoxville, Ia), 8) Danny Jennings (Norman, Ok), 9) Billy Alley (Bennet, Ne), 10) Koby Barksdale (Norman, Ok), 11) Don Droud Jr. (Lincoln, Ne), 12) Danny Lasoski (Higginsville, Mo), 13) Dustin Morgan (Broken Arrow, Ok), 14) Jon Agan (Knoxville, Ia), 15) Jake Martens (Fairview, Ok), 16) Jordan Boston (Lincoln, Ne), 17) J.D. Johnson (Wichita, Ks), 18) Kevin Ramey, 19) Justin Hinderson, 20) Dustin Selvage (Indianola, Ia), 21) Sean McClelland (Tulsa, Ks), DQ) Jac Haudenschild

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...