Jump to content

Cassius Clark PASS North winner at Maine's Oxford Plains Speedway

Recommended Posts

Cassius Clark Oxford Plains Speedway (Maine) PASS North winner


Oxford, Maine (7/21/2012) - Cassius Clark nosed ahead of leader Kyle DeSouza on lap 130 of Saturday night's Dunkin Donuts 150 at Oxford Plains Speedway and raced home with his third Pro All Stars Series (PASS) North win of 2012. Trevor Sanborn came back through the field for second and Derek Ramstrom earned third.



(L to R) Trevor Sanborn, second, winner Cassius Clark, Derek Ramstrom third. Norm Marx photo.



PASS Oxford winner Cassius Clark. Norm Marx photo.


Clark's win was his first PASS checker at Oxford Plains Speedway and the sixteenth of his PASS North racing career.


Brian Hoar and Kyle DeSouza brought the thirty one car field to the initial green and Hoar got out front first . Glen Luce came up to challenge Hoar early and led for a dozen laps but Hoar quickly reclaimed the lead on lap twenty. Andy Shaw was next to challenge and he got the job done on a lap 39 restart.



Clark (outside in the #77) battles DeSouza (88) and Hoar (37). Norm Marx photo.



2011 PASS North Co-Rookie of the Year Kyle DeSouza had a bad-fast race car and he decided it was time to go. On lap 45 he raced under Shaw to the lead and immediately checked out. DeSouza's mount was hooked up and he opened up a big lead over Shaw, Travis Benjamin and Hoar. Shaw fell off the pace at lap 87 with engine woes, and now it was time for Cassius Clark to show his hand.


Clark started twelfth on the field and worked his way into the top five before the half way mark. The Hight 77 grabbed second from Travis Benjamin on lap 83, but DeSouza appeared to be long gone. But lap after lap Clark cut DeSouza's margin and it was clear that DeSouza's early dominance had come at a cost. His tires had given up the ghost and by lap 126 his rear view mirror was full of Clark. A minor caution sealed the deal and despite DeSouza's best efforts, Clark sailed by for the win over a closing Trevor Sanborn and Derek Ramstrom . DeSouza hung on for fourth and Brian Hoar managed fifth.


Clark's margin of victory was .477 seconds.


Six caution flags slowed the action. Fourteen cars completed all 150 laps; Travis Benjamin was the final driver to go the full distance. Hoar, DeSouza and Luce were the heat race winners.


PASS North invades Seekonk (MA) Speedway on Saturday August 4th to challenge the Seekonk regulars. After three events the scorecard reads Seekonk weekly racers two, PASS North one and the stars of the east's fastest full fender racing series will be out to even the score. Post time is 6:00 PM.


Check out the Oxford photo gallery and the latest point standings for all the Pro All Stars racing series at www.proallstarsseries.com.


Unofficial results - PASS North 150 presented by Dunkin Donuts - Oxford Plains Speedway Oxford, ME - 7/21/12


1 77 Cassius Clark Farmington ME

2 29 Trevor Sanborn E. Parsonsfield ME

3 35 Derek Ramstrom Worcester MA

4 88 Kyle DeSouza E.Providence RI

5 37VT Brian Hoar Georgia VT

6 84 Scott Mulkern Falmouth ME

7 7L Glen Luce Turner ME

8 60 DJ Shaw Center Conway NH

9 24 Mike Rowe Turner ME

10 06 Dan Colby Lyman NH

11 10 Scott Dragon Milton VT

12 75 Gary Smith Bangor ME

13 54 Johnny Clark Farmingdale ME

14 17 Travis Benjamin Morrill ME

15 73 Joey Doiron Berwick ME

16 48 Lonnie Sommerville Barnesville NB CA

17 7 Donnie Whitten Wells ME

18 55 Tony Ricci Gorham ME

19 15 X Joey Polewarcyk Hundson NH

20 53 Alan Wilson Hebron ME

21 2 Matt Matheson Geary NB CA

22 4 Ben Rowe Turner ME

23 87 Matt Harris Fredericton Jct NB CA

24 15 Scott Chubbuck Dresden ME

25 61 Andy Shaw Center Conway NH 26

26 John Donahue Graniteville VT

27 80 Dustin Hubbard Montville ME

28 00 Bryan Kruczek Newmarket NH

29 16 Kevin Roberge Quebec City QC

30 9 JT Thurlow Windham ME

31 28 Kirk Thibeau Fort Fairfield ME

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt
  • advertisement_alt

  • Create New...